BF2 Texture Corruption

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Tyl3n0L, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. Tyl3n0L

    Tyl3n0L Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 4870
    Texture Corruption in the BF2 Demo
    Details: I have some weird texture corruption with the Battlefield 2 Demo and Catalyst 5.6 Driver... The problem also occur with Half-Life 2 and Mods ONLY. (NOT in other games ex: Chaos Theory, World Of Warcraft, Sims2)

    I tested and re-tested my computer & game settings and look's like only have this problem with FSAA Enabled on both games... I don't have this problem with Catalyst 5.1. However I'm having BSOD errors with these driver (5.1) and the Battlefield 2 Demo...

    NOTHING is overclocked on my computer. I formated yesterday and I still have this same problem on both games. This is not a heat issue, my Video Card is running at 45 Celcius IDLE and about 60 Celcius when playing a game. I have 11 Fans on my computer case and the Arctic Silencer5 mounted on my X800XTPE. I've even downclocked my card to 500MHz/500MHz and I still have the problem. I'm not the only one with this problem. Take a look at my screenshots please:

    CS:Source http://img173.echo.cx/my.php?image=corruption29gb.jpg

    BF2 Demo: http://img126.echo.cx/my.php?image=bf29iz.jpg

    I've really tried everything to fix this frustrating problem. But now I really don't know what to do. PLEASE don't let me turn to the Darkside if you know what I mean...

    Athlon64 3200+,
    2x512MB Muskin PC 3200,
    Sapphire X800XT Platinum Edition,
    Asus K8V Deluxe Lastest Bios,
    80GB Western Digital,
    120GB Western Digital,
    Pioneer DVR-106D,
    Logitech MX 518,
    Viewsonic P95F+,
    Windows XP SP2,
    DirectX 9.0c,
    Audiy 2 Lastest Driver,

    ALL STOCK

    P.S: Look's like a pretty random problem, I've played about 1hour this morning without a single problem. Then I rebooted my PC and the problem is back...
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2005
  2. Feninski

    Feninski Master Guru

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 4870
    I just read an article that said: EA said that Ati video cards cna have graphics problem with cat 5.5 or 5.6.If so, use cat 5.1.
    That's because you don't have problems with the 5.1.
     
  3. Feninski

    Feninski Master Guru

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 4870
  4. DeathtrapX

    DeathtrapX Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x800 XT 256mb sapphire 500/500
    I am buying an x800 XT tomarrow for my 3200 amd 64 bit rig ... god I am scared. Hope it works out fine for me, all these horror stories have me scared like a little kid tho =/ I am so worried about over heating its not even funny.
     

  5. Corossion

    Corossion Master Guru

    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire X1900 xt/x800 pro
    Its your harddrive
     
  6. Slam

    Slam Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 XC
    I dont have any problems at all with any of the BF series...including BF2. Downloaded and played demo last night for the first time. Set at 1280x960, 2x AA, all settings in game on high...looks nice! I can tell though that these next gen games are really going to push current gen cards with maxed detail and AA/AF on...unless you have two in SLI/Crossfire mode. Dont have to worry about it for awhile. ;)

    However...its not totally optimized.

    And yes, a tad buggy.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2005
  7. Webwiper

    Webwiper Master Guru

    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus Extreme X850XT @ PE with Artic ATI Silencer 5
    BF 2 here @ 1280x1024, everything high, 4xAA, no shadows
    Cats 5.6 @ quality settings

    Fps stays between 36-50 ... pure eyecandy :p Still some bugs in it, reminding it's a demo ...

    Kind regards
    Web Wiper
     
  8. cornbreadbreath

    cornbreadbreath Master Guru

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA 8800GTX @ 615/1080
    Hmm...I've got 5.6, but no problems. Like webwiper I've got all eyecandy on - but I keep my res a little lower...

    Maybe it's just a bug between the ctalyst version and specific gpu's?
     
  9. Tyl3n0L

    Tyl3n0L Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 4870
    this is definitely a VIA AGP Driver problem... The only way to temporary fix it is by setting your AGP Mode at 4x in the BIOS. I've tried all the VIA Hyperion drivers. We should e-mail VIA about this problem since we're not the only one with this bug. I highly doubt they'll help us out... However we have nothing to loose.

    The next mobo I'll buy won't be a VIA Chipset that's for sure If you find a new "better" fix for it please let me know. Tyl3n0L@hotmail.com

    Happy Gaming!!!
     
  10. Opty

    Opty Master Guru

    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Gecube x1900xtx
    I had the exact same problem!!!

    Take out and then put your video card back in the AGP slot fixed mine completley.

    And i'm still running 8x AGP latest VIA drivers on CAT 5.6 1280 x 1024 high quality settings. :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2005

  11. Slam

    Slam Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,228
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 XC
    I just went over to ATI's website, and noticed they had an update to Cat5.6 for Win64. Released 6/9. I loaded this sucker up...and it smoothed out BF2 more than it was. Awesome.

    I have a badass rig if I dont say so myself. LOL!!! :p

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2005
  12. Darrin

    Darrin Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,738
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PX7800GTX @ 450/1250
    LOL, there are some crazy Ideas out there about the BF2 DEMO and issues.


    PEOPLE, its a demo ok. D.E.M.O

    Wait till the full version with patch 1.3 :D

    Demos for the most part are buggy.
     
  13. Feninski

    Feninski Master Guru

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 4870
    the fact this is a demo i't not important with this prolems.
    Battlefield series has the same problems on some kind of pc.
    I fixed this graphic issues installing cat 5.1 how ati said.
     
  14. Arklight

    Arklight Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 7800GTX OC

Share This Page