Bethesda, most embarassing CPU optimization of the decade [Gaming]

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by wafu88, Dec 23, 2011.

  1. wafu88

    wafu88 Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    DDR3
    Skyrim was coded in x87 code.

    It does not have SSE optimization which has been standard for both AMD and Intel for nearly a decade now. Never-mind the new advanced vector extensions now available. They should have optimized for SSE 4 and AVX... not x87.

    This is just a total blunder on Bethesda's part and absolute embarrassment. Unbelievable, I just can't believe they did this. Confounds me.

    This is probably among the top reasons why Skyrim only runs on two threads.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X87

    What a f*cking joke. Last time anyone cared about x87 was when the i486 was still being used.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  2. ipredator

    ipredator Master Guru

    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro K5000M
    That explains the poor performance and leaves me speechless.
    Do they have any reasoning for this at all? I mean firstly they did not even bother about DX11 and now this?

    Lets just hope they are going to give their game the promised overhaul which they promised before thanksgiving. I'd love to see a DX11 patch like Crytek buffed Crysis 2 afterwards.
    I'm not so daring as to hope they would code their whole game again in the common standards, though.
     
  3. Xzibit

    Xzibit Banned

    Messages:
    4,383
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970 Windforce
    And what do you expect from Bethesda. They focus more on the consoles than on PC :(
    That's why first DLC for Skyrim will be 1 month exclusive for XBOX.
    And that's why XBOX "gamers" had first DLC for a month early than others for great Fallout New Vegas



    Here is a "tweak". Not much, but it helps in some cases people get 40% more fps :)
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4200832&postcount=688
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  4. Reacon

    Reacon New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Visiontek 5850
    Indeed it is. Skyrim is essentially a 6 year old engine, tweaked. I hate the fact that my Core2Quad Q8200 overclocked to 2.8 GHz is such a bottleneck that I run at 10 FPS in Markarth. It's not the most up to date processor, but it is a quad core, and part of the Penryn family so it's not terrible.

    There's not really an excuse to be had when my 5850 is only being used to a fraction of its potential. Nor is there an excuse for disallowing modification of the exe to handle 4 GB address space for 2 months until they finally update the game with it.
     

  5. AlxFitz

    AlxFitz Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970GTX
    Insane!
     
  6. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,362
    Likes Received:
    898
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Wow, what a bunch of idiots. This must be the same problem for oblivion
     
  7. adrock311

    adrock311 Master Guru

    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC 8gb
    I agree 100% with the topic of this thread.
     
  8. AlxFitz

    AlxFitz Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 970GTX
  9. TheGuuH

    TheGuuH Master Guru

    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX 470 XFX
    I will pirate that game _|_ besheda
     
  10. Reacon

    Reacon New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Visiontek 5850
    Xzibit posted that up above. Confirmed to be working splendidly. I loaded a save of mine with the worst frames I could find in Markarth, and it was almost smooth! Too busy playing to load up fraps and check the framerate.
     

  11. Reacon

    Reacon New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Visiontek 5850
  12. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,371
    Likes Received:
    1,348
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Another way would be adding some of the graphical improvement mods at Skyrim Nexus (in particular the FXAA mod) and running the game @ High settings. Works well for me at mostly 60fps (Vsync on) which is where I want to be. Oh, OCing my CPU helped a lot too.

    Edit - The recent patch which adds 4GB LAA removed much of the stuttering and the crème de la crème was running a program called Dxtory to eliminate the last of the stuttering that I noticed in caves and while looking at corners, walls or the floor.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  13. zhengzhoudave

    zhengzhoudave Master Guru

    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4GB EVGA GTX680 FTW 2xSLI
    Skyrim stutters all the time for me, even on the very lowest settings! look at my Specs FFS!
    I'm glad sb started this thread, it needed to be done!
    I can get the game to run well but only at cpu killing (i52400) speeds.
    This is literally the game I have been most looking forward to since the release on Oblivion all those years ago!
    To say I feel let down would be a colossal understatement!
    OK - done bitching now! :)

    EDIT: Have tried SKSE - but haven't updated it for a few weeks
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2011
  14. Del_Boy

    Del_Boy Banned

    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 290 (2560x1600)
    lol, be careful guys i got a ban for "ranting" about skyrim and crossfire.
     
  15. racofer

    racofer Master Guru

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD6950 2GB Twin Frozr III
    This is specially hilarious because Bethesda's PR kept on saying how they worry about PC gamers.

    :giggle2:
     

  16. mentalpeace

    mentalpeace Active Member

    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 670 Oc edition
    The guy who don´t know:
    oooh its laggy and uncomfortable to play, gonna need a new processor.
    After getting the new processor: oohh it wasnt the CPU gotta get more ram like 8gb in dual channel.
    After getting the ram: OOh it wasnt the fuc*** ram gotta be the videocard.
    After getting the videocard: ohh.... it was the game.

    The objective of the agreement between hardware and software companies is fulfilled.
     
  17. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz
    Weird i didnt see any boost, or maybe i activated it wrong.. But it started fine so i guess i set it right :D


    I tested in Whiterun at night, looking across the city.

    No patch 37.8fps

    with patch 37.8fps
     
  18. diogo_cme

    diogo_cme Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Cyclone 6850 OC
    Worst than GTA IV? A contender appears: Rockstar Games.
     
  19. Corbus

    Corbus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,403
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    1080 Ti FTW3
    It is worse than GTA4 . GTA 4 knows at least how to count to 4. Skyrim knows how to count to 2 only ...2 cores that is.
     
  20. diogo_cme

    diogo_cme Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI Cyclone 6850 OC
    LOL.

    I'm glad I don't play either of those games.
     

Share This Page