Battlefield V (2018)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by ShadowDuke, Dec 29, 2017.

  1. Mraz

    Mraz Master Guru

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    /
    Hi all,

    So I have this weird issue with Battlefield V, every once in a while the game decides to disconnect me, saying I lost connection to the game server. Sometimes it doesn't happen the entire match, sometimes it happens immediately after the match round starts (when we start moving).

    I don't have this issue in any other multiplayer game, neither in any other Battlefield title, including Battlefield 1.

    I assume it has to do something with the actual net code?

    Anyone else experiences something similar?

    I couldn't find anything on Battlefield forums about it.
     
  2. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,839
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Have you tried manually updating Punkbuster? for previous Battlefield games that would fix the issue for me.
     
  3. Mraz

    Mraz Master Guru

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    /
    Nope, I just fire up Origin and enter the game.

    You think Punkbuster is causing issues? I thought by now things would be working
     
  4. DesGaizu

    DesGaizu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,712
    Likes Received:
    74
    GPU:
    AORUS 3060TI
    BFV doesn't use punkbuster.
     

  5. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    1,736
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Sure it is nice, but i personally wouldn't even sacrifice 15% performance for those improved reflections, let alone freaking 70% !

    Now sacrificing some performance for added details and clarity is something i deffo wanna do !

    I find that even just increasing render res to 110% improves clarity quite a bit from that forced TAA.

    100% render res

    [​IMG]

    110% render res

    [​IMG]

    120% render res

    [​IMG]


    100% render res

    [​IMG]

    110% render res

    [​IMG]

    120% render res

    [​IMG]

    130% render res

    [​IMG]

    I don't know how well it comes across on the screenshots, but ingame i feel that even the 110% helps especially the distant clarity.
    Obviously the higher you go the better, and my system can just precisly pull 130% at a locked 58 fps, but during heavy combat i'd get fps drops, so i prefer not going above 110% to ensure a constant 58 fps.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
    BangTail likes this.
  6. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,839
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Ohh wow, is that a first? What is it using now?

     
  7. BangTail

    BangTail Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    1,099
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080 Ti XC
    Same, it's very nice but it's not like you have time to stop and admire the periphery when everyone is hellbent on killing you ;)

    @KissSh0t

    They use 'Fairplay' now.
     
  8. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,839
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Well, looks like the artificial aimers are still selling the hacks so I'm guessing it's about as effective as Punkbuster.

    Would be nice to see EA grow a spine and actually take them to court.
     
    BangTail likes this.
  9. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,072
    Likes Received:
    366
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    Not really, but devs seem to struggle to implement it.

    Ubisoft's implementation isn't fool proof, but I get 10-20 fps more in The Division with it. Potential performance gains are there, but there's a lot of issues devs need to solve.
     
    XenthorX likes this.
  10. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,998
    Likes Received:
    563
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    We will only disagree though. From playing the game it doesn't work better if you are trying to play the objectives. It's counter-intuitive to team work and team play. However, it does work better if all you do is lone wolf-camp in the same spot all round defending. I know this is true because I experienced this. Within the 1st 5 minutes of the match I can easily go 10-0 as assault player camp-defending and that's not even trying.

    And lets not forget with camping in combo with the most minimalist of work defending you get V1's stacked on the advancing attacking team to completely dominate the round.
    Tell me something how many V1's have you see from a defending team in a round? You haven't noticed well I've counted 4 maybe 5 towards the end of round on the attacking team.
    OutStanding!

    Of course this completely benefits campers. There is no if/ands/buts about it. I can stay in the same spot the entire round when defending. This will get old by new year IMO if you are always on the offense. People are already complaining about it. They even removed the ability to switch teams! This is a first in a traditional Battlefield game.

    As it stands right now BF1 is pretty much empty. But if Dice doesn't fix these imbalances I wouldn't be surprised to see people go back to BF1.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2018
    Solfaur likes this.

  11. BangTail

    BangTail Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,575
    Likes Received:
    1,099
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080 Ti XC
    Yah, EA does SFA to stop it which is really lame.

    I haven't seen it in BFV yet but there are guys in Battlefront 2 who openly brag that they are cheating in chat and I see them pretty much every day.

    EA is far too concerned with their bottom line to care about a level playing field.
     
  12. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    1,736
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Yeah, i doubt that is happening... there were more people playing bf4 on pc than bf1, while bf1 was the current battlefield.... i reckon if anything people will go back to bf4, as alot of players crave modern warfare.
     
    ramthegamer likes this.
  13. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,823
    Likes Received:
    1,806
    GPU:
    3090 Gaming X Trio
    If i have an option that allow my 3D experience to be closer to ground truth, i turn it on. Even if i have to lower my resolution :eek:
     
  14. ramthegamer

    ramthegamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    372
    GPU:
    ASUS STRYX RX 580
    I agree, it s very hard to advance with the current concept,many times i find myself get killed by some shmuck running on my side from far never to see him because the spotting is very hard, anw back to bf4
     
  15. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,761
    Likes Received:
    927
    GPU:
    Null
    Lets don't bash rtx use. I like and approve ultra setting. In real life everything has a reflection if the surface is capable. I can't see an error tbh.

    Performance is irrelevant now, it's like, sacrifice speed over a glimpse of reality. They don't force anything. They even gave you even an option on how to use rtx features. Imagine a forced ultra or even worse setting. There would be a ruckus.
     
    Kolt likes this.

  16. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,891
    Likes Received:
    1,736
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Reflections are hardly noticable in actual gameplay, unlike resolution. Personally i'd lower every setting before lowering resolution.
     
  17. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,469
    Likes Received:
    4,761
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Didn't they at some point run PB and their own anti cheat simultaneously, BF4 iirc, and maybe same with BF1? Can't remember it's name though, but I surely remember reading messages in the game chat that something besides PB banned or kicked players during the matches.
     
  18. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,839
    Likes Received:
    3,710
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Evenbalance if memory serves.. I remember it kicking people in BF3 when they were glitching the stairs on lockers, getting up above the map or in the wall, I could never figure out how they did that.... and I think there were some other glitch spots it kicked for too.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  19. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,579
    Likes Received:
    1,043
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    BF1 had FairFight iirc.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  20. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE RTX3090 OC
    Guys, I'm a little confused. If I want to play now do I still have to use origin access or can I just buy the deluxe edition?
     

Share This Page