Battlefield 4 - Part 5

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by morbias, Nov 28, 2014.

  1. AndreasGuido

    AndreasGuido Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,986
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Agree with you there, have to make them "heavier". I dont know, shorter sprint? slower running pace? big bullet spread if not mounted?Dont have problem with LMG, but those that just makes sense.
     
  2. The Janitor

    The Janitor Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,260
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    GTX 3080 Ti
    I think the problem is the new perk system. It was much better in BF3, where you could just select your perk and spawn with it. If you need ammo, or extra rockets just choose one and spawn with it.

    But in BF4 you need to slowly gather points to unlock perks, so you can't spawn with extra ammo in BF4. Which makes any class but support almost useless because no one drops ammo in BF4, so you're gonna run out of ammo way too fast.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015
  3. pbvider

    pbvider Master Guru

    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX
  4. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,803
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3050 Ti
    I thought LMG's already felt pretty heavy?

    I've always had that feeling running bit slower using a LMG.
     

  5. AndreasGuido

    AndreasGuido Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,986
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970
    Not heavy enough :D they need to give them heavier look or make support look big and muscly!
     
  6. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,803
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3050 Ti
    Yeah give them Tom Hardy look! :D

    Maybe too much, else they need to give dual-wielding LMG's!
     
  7. Ouzo

    Ouzo Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    Slower pace, limit continue jumping, slower to raise for ads if been mobile
     
  8. snip3r_3

    snip3r_3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070
    Nope, same speed. Only reason is because most Assaults run Offensive perk which has Sprint unlocked right off the bat.
     
  9. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,170
    Likes Received:
    3,993
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    The weapons in BC2 "felt" good to use... they "felt" like they had weight.. it's hard to explain.

    It is not the same in BF3 or 4.. that was actually my first impression after playing the BF3 Beta.. just a weird feeling the weapons gave while using them.

    I'm guessing those that don't understand wont understand xD

    I do think "Weight" should be a game mechanic.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2015
  10. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,803
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3050 Ti
    I just gave BF3 a go, now i know why i didn't played it as much as BF4.

    Some guns have INSANE recoil it's horrible, and some that feel okay.

    And i gotta agree with other people, the gun sounds are waaay better, the M249 sounds so sexy.
     

  11. snip3r_3

    snip3r_3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,983
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070
    Actually the recoil is about the same, its just that some weapons require learning their patterns. Also BF3 you pretty much just put HB on everything.
     
  12. Ouzo

    Ouzo Master Guru

    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    Recoil on DMRs was better in BF3. Now I can spam them a lot more in BF4. Also the bullet drop and speed were different. I could actually see where I shot them in BF3, now in BF4 I cannot see bullet trails.
     
  13. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,081
    Likes Received:
    373
    GPU:
    Geforce RTX 3090 FE
    Yup.

    Look at symthic, you get a damage advantage at certain distances. Pretty much forces you to use HBAR on everything.

    Tbh I wish BF4 NEVER had the angled grip/muzzle brake. Would've made the game way more skill full.

    Few kills with AEK heavy barrel & stubby/potato:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4v-mtaV0YDw&feature=youtu.be&t=8m50s

    It's perfectly possible to use, yet it would add alot of balance to the guns in the game simply not having these 2 recoil reducing attachments. You'd get more "types" of players instead of "allrounders".

    Vanguards attacking the frontlines with AEK's and other high ROF weapons with greater recoil and defenders/sneaky/ranged players using more ranged, precise weapons such as the M16/M416/SAR/...

    In BF3 after it got buffed, you could actually match AEK's up close with the M416, provided you were a headshot machine.

    Both games have their strong suits:

    • BF4: Requires more aim
    • BF3: Required more control

    DICE would do well to revise their attachment system and COMBINE these 2 elements.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2015
  14. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,558
    Likes Received:
    4,944
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Loved it :p
     
  15. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,019
    Likes Received:
    1,202
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Ok, so, went ahead and bought BF4 since it was on sale on Origin for $14.99. Since my 660SC's are effectively gone, I'm using my 7950 again. Decided since it was available I'd give Mantle a go. It was quite entertaining to say the least. Lots of texture corruption, lots of texture flickering. So, is this normal? An issue with the game, an issue with the driver, an issue with my hardware? Basically, is this something I can fix without going back to DX11? I'll be switching back to DX11 when my 970 arrives, but I'd like to play with Mantle a bit until then.

    Specs are to the left. Playing at 1920x1080.... Anything else you need to know, just ask. Don't be a douche about it. If it can be fixed, a solution would be appreciated. If it can't be fixed, I'll just go back to DX11.
     

  16. signex

    signex Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,803
    Likes Received:
    159
    GPU:
    NVIDIA RTX 3050 Ti
    I don't have any flicker issues on mine with Mantle.

    Tho my performance isn't as good with crossfire as others get, my FPS still drops to 40's.
    Even with 4x MSAA off the FPS doesn't change at all so i leave 4x MSAA on for now.

    My CPU sits at 80% on all cores, not sure if it's bottlenecking or not.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2015
  17. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,170
    Likes Received:
    3,993
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I use mantle and I do not get any texture flickering at all...

    Obviously it is not an issue with Mantle itself.

    What OS.. and what Driver?
     
  18. WildAce

    WildAce Master Guru

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3x 4GB AMD 290's
    i don't notice any flickering with mantle.

    only issue i have is with raptr replay stuff doesnt work properly with mantle yet, its plagued with screen tearing, and no crossfire support with mantle so still can't use it with bf4 and mantle but it works fine in dx11 which is a shame because mantle is so much smoother and a better experience.
     
  19. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,019
    Likes Received:
    1,202
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Win8.1 and 14.12...
     
  20. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,170
    Likes Received:
    3,993
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Strange... same as me.

    This installation of Windows, was it fresh for this card or is it the same installation that you had for your previous cards?

    If so, perhaps a fresh installation of Windows might fix the problem?

    Do you use a user.cfg for BF4?

    *edit*

    you are overclocking your card? if so, does the texture flickering persist at stock clocks?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2015

Share This Page