Battlefield 3 SGSSAA Nvdia Inspector Settings

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by qgshadow, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    Hi Guys, Just recently upgraded my setup to 780GTX SLI and was wondering how to setup SGSSAA in Battlefield 3 , i can't find a definite answer of how to set it up correctly. I am trying to get 4msaa and 4x SGSSAA

    Here i have a screenshot of both my Nvidia Inspector and Nvidia control panel.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    If you have any idea your help would be appreciated.

    Thank you.
     
  2. aufkrawall

    aufkrawall Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC 2-Way SLI
    You did it right, however you can let AA mode at app controlled when enhancing in-game MSAA to SGSSAA.
    But the MSAA of BF3 is very poor and so SGSSAA will be as well. Thus I'd recommend you to disable driver controlled LOD bias (= clamp), otherwise many textures and vegetation will be even more noisy than without AA.

    May I ask you to support our petition in the Geforce Forums regarding better AA with DirectX 11?
    https://forums.geforce.com/default/...or-directx-11-anti-aliasing-driver-profiles/1

    Games like BF3 would profit a lot by it.
     
  3. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    Where do i disable the LOD Bias?, in Nv inspector or Nv CP?

    edit : nvm i think i found it in nv inspector


    Any other advice for BF3?
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013
  4. Iruwen

    Iruwen Master Guru

    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 670 FTW
    Disable FXAA ingame and throw in an SMAA injector because FXAA blurs and (enhanced) MSAA works so badly that you won't be satisfied. Downsampling also helps.
     

  5. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    I did alot of playing around with AA and BF3 year or so back.

    Iirc SGSSAA did work, but not dramtically effective, fps hit was severe aswell.
    Imo for best mix of AA in BF3

    4x MSAA In game.
    Post Processing Off.


    Transparency SS On (via inspector)

    SMAA on ultra (via SMAA injector)

    You can also try downsampling but I found it made the mini map and hud to small
     
  6. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,438
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    This, btw ingame FXAA is postAA


    And by that nvinspector profile you forgot to disable main AA flag.
    [​IMG]

    Set it to treat as enhance or none.
     
  7. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    When you say you "Transparency SS On" you mean set at SuperSampling ? not 2x super sampling, not 4x... ?

    and this is the injector you are talking about? http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=368880

    [​IMG]

    and this is the sweetfx config ?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2013
  8. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Hi there,

    Yes thats right. I really need to have a play around with this again now I've got my 780, as my testing was done with a 680 over a year ago now, but this is what I found then.

    Set TrSS to "Supersample", I found it has the same IQ to "Supersample x2" but maybe with a slight fps benefit.
    (Note you can only set this with inspector, nV contol panel wil then show "custom" for this setting)

    SGSSAA was too much performance hit for a 680 to justify its use.

    No I wasn't talking about Sweetfx, I meant to SMAA injector. Google it, its everywhere ;)

    However Sweetfx probably works just as good so give it a try, but I never used it personally.
     
  9. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    alright let me know what you find out, i am playing in 1440p now
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013
  10. The Janitor

    The Janitor Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Enhancing with supersampling does work, but trees start to flicker like this:

    [​IMG]

    I think it's cause of those black outlines you get with the MSAA, I wish Nvidia would fix it :/
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013

  11. aufkrawall

    aufkrawall Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC 2-Way SLI
    Have you tried 326.41 driver?
     
  12. The Janitor

    The Janitor Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Nope haven't tried it yet, does that driver fix it?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,438
    Likes Received:
    1,506
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    yes it could, it fixed normal black AA lines
     
  14. aufkrawall

    aufkrawall Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 OC 2-Way SLI
    It definitely should.
     
  15. The Janitor

    The Janitor Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,225
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Well after trying them I can confirm those drivers did indeed fix it. No more black lines or flickering :thumbup:
     

Share This Page