Battlefield 3 poor performance GTX 770 i7 2600

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Scarlettimmy, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. Scarlettimmy

    Scarlettimmy Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
    Hi,

    GPU usage is at 80%-95% in BF3 and I get about 45-60 fps maxed out. Lowering any settings except mesh makes no difference. Lowering MSAA to 0x makes no difference. GPU usage goes down to 50-60%. CPU usage is about 50% so its not being bottlenecked.

    Lowering mesh increases fps to 65-80 region.

    I get around 3600 in 3dmark 2013 Firestrike Extreme and around 40 fps in Heaven (1080p 8xAA ultra). Crysis 3 runs fine. I have tried 320.49, 326.01, and now on 326.41. No difference.

    GTX 770 Zotac
    Win7 64bit
    i7 2600
    DH67BL
    8 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 RAM
    Corsair 650W PSU
     
  2. HellSpawn2097

    HellSpawn2097 Member Guru

    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1060 Gaming X
    V-sync issue?
     
  3. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    If you are not capping the fps or using v-sync then the cpu is capping the whole thing.

    "GPU usage is at 80%-95%" this means cpu bottleneck.Is the cpu overclocked?

    "GPU usage goes down to 50-60%" this means that in certain areas of the game the bottleneck is even worse because the game does not ask for more power of your gpu or because the cpu has not much more to give.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013
  4. Scarlettimmy

    Scarlettimmy Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
    Vsync forced off. CPU usage at 50% all threads being used at 50%. If its CPU bottleneck how can I force it to use more CPU? Crysis warhead runs at 99% GPU load.
     

  5. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    Only by overclocking to ~4.5ghz if it's still on stock clocks.

    Crysis Warhead does not use the same engine of BF3 and it's more a gpu bound game.Are you playing BF3 on the multiplayer or single?

    edit:

    Other thing, if the game is only using 50% of the cpu it means that the game itself does not need all that power to run like it should, it means it could be more optimized.Then, in order to get more speed you need to clock that thing to 4.5-4.8 or try other settings and lower them.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2013
  6. Scarlettimmy

    Scarlettimmy Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
    The mesh setting is the only thing that makes any difference. At low I get 65-80 fps. Lowering MSAA, HBAO makes no difference.
     
  7. DesGaizu

    DesGaizu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    JetStream 980 Ti 1400MHz
    What is your cpu clocked at?
     
  8. Seb1

    Seb1 Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus ENGTX560 DC/2DI/1GD5
    BF3 has a nice performance monitor, open the console (press ~) and type Render.PerfOverlayVisible 1

    If the yellow graph is above the green, then it's a CPU bottleneck - I doubt it, but you didn't mentioned the resolution on which you playing at.

    You have a plain i5-2600 on a H67 mobo, so heavy OC is out of the question. :frown:
     
  9. Scarlettimmy

    Scarlettimmy Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
    Yellow and green are pretty much on top of each other. Neither is above the other.
     
  10. qgshadow

    qgshadow Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI 2560x1440
    You might want to install ParkControl Utility and see if you have some core that are parked
     

  11. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    single GTX770 bottlenecked by i7 2600 to crap out at 60FPS??!
    Not again guys, this is nonsense. :D
    I mean, really.
     
  12. Scarlettimmy

    Scarlettimmy Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
    All cores unparked a few days ago. Reduced stuttering but fps is still 45-60. Low fps occurs on the deployment screen, where a large area is shown.
     
  13. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    Check your HDD usage.
     
  14. Scarlettimmy

    Scarlettimmy Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 770 2 GB
    how?
     
  15. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Bf3 multi player like high clocked intel cpus. Single player is more gpu limited
     

  16. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    Yes, but it can utilize 4 cores regardless, I remember my Q6600 peaking at some 90%.
     
  17. NeoandGeo

    NeoandGeo Master Guru

    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 970 @1420
    Hopefully BF4 is more optimized on the CPU end. In intense 64-player matches, I can dip into the mid 50's during heavy destruction sequences with a 680SLI setup w/2600k@4.6ghz. Seeing some of the amazing destruction in BF4, I wonder how our systems will fare.

    Spending all this money on a PC only to be hindered by a top of the line CPU when it is sitting around 50% utilization overall. Devs need to spend some time evaluating how to properly hit our CPUs in the coming generation. The only time I expect framerate to drop below 60 is when the CPU/GPU are both pegged at 90%+.
     
  18. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,135
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    That high cpu usage indicates a cpu bottleneck
     
  19. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    If you play on 32 or 16 player maps, you could probably get away with playing BF3 on a stock CPU. if your on a 64 player map that's full, forget about it. Even I have dips to the low 50 FPS range on certain maps and I normally run with a very high overclock in BF3
     
  20. bishi

    bishi Master Guru

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI
    OP: Put mesh quality to low, ultra everything else
     

Share This Page