Battlefield 2042 will get DLSS and Nvidia Reflex support (but not raytracing?

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 30, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,488
    Likes Received:
    10,287
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Lily GFX and Maddness like this.
  2. BUDA20

    BUDA20 Member

    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    Aorus GTX 1080 ti
    I prefer baked lighting, screen space reflections and such for online shooters, Nvidia reflex is great for all of them, DLSS... is fine...I just want FSR or a classic render scale if input lag is paramount
     
    Undying and Dragam1337 like this.
  3. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Dice probably came to the same conclusion as everyone else, that barely anyone wants to waste fps on raytracing in an online shooter.
     
  4. kcajjones

    kcajjones Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 470 1.28GB
    I would prefer to have my cake and eat it too, but the current GPU's just aren't powerful enough to be bothering with ray shading when targeting high framerates.
    Also, I'm getting an acronym overload here. What's FSR?
     

  5. asturur

    asturur Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    374
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    how fast is the network data updated in those games online? do other players really get refreshed at 100+ fps? I don't do online shooters so i do not know which is the state of the art
     
  6. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Time will tell for bf2042, but bf5 had the servers running at 60 hz, while bf4 had the option for having servers run all the way up to 144 hz.
     
  7. Aztec2Step

    Aztec2Step Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    33
    GPU:
    Pulse RX 6800
    FSR = FidelityFX Super Resolution (AMD's answer to DLSS, sorta)
     
    BlindBison likes this.
  8. mbm

    mbm Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    3090 RTX
    fine by me if raytracing is not supported.
    Will not use it anyway.. I prefer more FPS.
    Raytracing is overrated imo.
     
    Silva likes this.
  9. Solfaur

    Solfaur Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,615
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    GPU:
    GB 3080Ti Gaming OC
    After trying out some online matches with RT on in BFV... let's just say it's nice to have in single player, but in multi - no way. And with maps and player count being so huge, nobody in their right mind could afford the performance loss. But who knows, I'm not convinced that there won't be at least some for of RT in the settings menu.
     
  10. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,556
    Likes Received:
    4,933
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    I doubt it won't get DXR at some point, but certainly, they should concentrate on improving gameplay, netcode, maps, gun play, before spending endless hours to force programmers to implement ray tracing for little to no gain.
    And yes, nobody needs ray tracing in an online multiplayer FPS environment, kind of shaking my head that COD Warzone offers it in the first place.
     
    Silva likes this.

  11. Lily GFX

    Lily GFX Member Guru

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    107
    GPU:
    AORUS 3090 Xtreme
    ;)
    https://www.ea.com/games/battlefield/battlefield-2042/media
    [​IMG]
    Could be a pre render but also could be in game screenshot.
    (This one is found under Screenshots, there are some
    others too with reflections visible on buildings.):)

    If in game RT hopefully there will be an option to turn
    it off for people that need or want more fps.
    I do not play multi-player games like this was just curious
    incase I wanted try single player if any available.:p
     
  12. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    3,119
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    Pretty sure they confirmed no single player for this game?

    That being said I also think it should be an option.
     
    Lily GFX and BlindBison like this.
  13. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Clearly screenspace reflections...
     
  14. bobnewels

    bobnewels Master Guru

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    228
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    First Battlefield game I will not be buying, no real single player. RTX is dead but it will be a big seller without me. I am ok with that.
     
    Silva likes this.
  15. warezme

    warezme Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Evga 970GTX Classified
    Why not bake in RT? I mean if you don't want ray tracing just turn the dang thing off in the menu. It's no different than dropping the resolution and disabling DLSS. It could be a choice if you want it.
     

  16. TimmyP

    TimmyP Master Guru

    Messages:
    753
    Likes Received:
    69
    GPU:
    RTX 3070
    Itll prolly have RT considering a 1660sti\1070 (*maybe 1080, 1660 is Turing) could run the last game with RT enabled and still get 60fps.
     
  17. Reddoguk

    Reddoguk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,220
    Likes Received:
    305
    GPU:
    RTX3090 GB GamingOC
    There is a single player part to it as long as they still give XP out for doing bot matches. You can set many different modes then just jump in and play vs bots. So OK there's no campaign but other options are there for single player persons. BF1942 was a fun game against bots too. Plus playing with bots usually means there's plenty of tanks/planes/heli's to jump in and no spammers to worry about. As long as they get the AI right that is but i've read since it's 128 player bots will be used in online games too so hopefully they aren't super dumb.
     
  18. Dazzzzm8

    Dazzzzm8 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080Ti
    But the hitreg a lot of the time was still questionable at best.

    In BF1 and onwards it's far more reliable.
     
  19. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,071
    Likes Received:
    1,886
    GPU:
    Rtx 3090 Strix OC
    Most bf4 servers were only running at 30 hz, as ea charged more for renting high hz servers, thus most opted not to. In other words you had to manually select a 60 hz (or 120 hz or 144 hz) server.
     
  20. Loobyluggs

    Loobyluggs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,447
    Likes Received:
    1,170
    GPU:
    1070
    Translation:

    -Frostbite sucks
    -MS wrote a big check to cover the 'continual improvement' that will be required to run Frostbite
    -Frostbite sucks
     

Share This Page