Batman: Arkham Knight

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, Mar 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RecluSe

    RecluSe Master Guru

    Messages:
    885
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC/ACX 2.0
  2. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,859
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    GPU:
    .
    Hot damn ... what a trailer!

    WANT!

    Ivy looks like Kerrigan from HOTS in this game...
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2015
  3. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Nvidia are Rocksteady's hardware partner for this game, once again. It's safe to say it's going to be heavily optimized for Nvidia hardware on the PC side.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,859
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    GPU:
    .
    Turbulence ... meaning his cape going haywire when gliding or blur or both? I'd like to see goons and Bats himself slip up occasionally thanks to the rain and not have the rain as a mere effect.
     

  5. vejn

    vejn Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,002
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7870 TF3
    Does ATI plans to make an answer to this new PhysX effects?
    TressFX is hair only addition.
     
  6. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Apex clothing takes care of the cape. Turbulence is for volumetric and deformable smoke.
     
  7. Damien_Azreal

    Damien_Azreal Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,647
    Likes Received:
    1,630
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1070 Ti
    Considering Nvidia has been the hardware partner on every game in the series, were people expecting something else this time around?
     
  8. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    With both consoles being GCN based it's not unreasonable to expect more developpers could partner with AMD for the PC versions. I don't really care if the green team or the red team is working with developpers to enhance PC versions : we gain something.

    I think all the Gameworks effects planned for AK will work on AMD hardware except GPU Physx.
     
  9. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
    all the batman games are on nvidia side, bu the game runs fine on amd hardware except physics
     
  10. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    I remember issues with Radeon 6000 series of cards in Batman AC when tessellation was enabled.
     

  11. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,859
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    GPU:
    .
    Any one know whether this game will use physx 3, the one which is supposed to have minimal performance penalty?
     
  12. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    Physx 3.0 is not more optimized on the GPU side AFAIK. It just plays more nicely with CPUs.

    I can only imagine the game uses the latest version of Physx. We are talking about a June 2015 release after all.

    Still, I expect GPU Physx effects to be very taxing. No chance of ever maxing it out at 60fps on my 970, not even at 1080p. The baseline seems demanding enough as it is, if you add all the Gameworks stuff on top I could see a big ass die Maxwell to be what's needed for 60fps.

    That's great of course, more power to everyone.
     
  13. zer0_c0ol

    zer0_c0ol Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryX cf
    tes was broken in batman ac, the entire dx11 code path was borked
     
  14. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,529
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Yeah, it was abit of a mess when it arrived.

    As for PhysX 3, i hope it's more optimised on the GPU side, Arkham City (the last Batman game i have played) still has the same low GPU usage and framerate dips as my 570 did.
     
  15. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    I know. I was not happy at all, having bought a 570 partly for this game. I could only play the DX11 mode + Physx at 30fps. DX9 + Physx was 60fps easily though.

    I trust Rocksteady to deliver. They only have DX11 to worry about now.
     

  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,032
    Likes Received:
    1,861
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    No it is optimized for gpu too, no more stalling, stutter and low gpu usage/fps drops.


    And extra or abnormal physx effects usage won't cripple it like by Physx2.8, it will run fine.
    I've played quite a few physx 3.x games now and I can safely confirm that.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2015
  17. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    That's good to hear.
     
  18. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,059
    Likes Received:
    155
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    Lords of the Fallen is a great example imo.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2015
  19. Kezen

    Kezen Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    To be fair it only uses a small subset of the Physx spectrum. We need more Physx heavy games to further confirm.

    Turbulence in LOTF caused crashes on my system near launch. Was fixed afterwards.
     
  20. Stone Gargoyle

    Stone Gargoyle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,806
    Likes Received:
    451
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 G1
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page