Batman: Arkham Knight PC Has 12GB of RAM recommendation

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 29, 2015.

  1. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,955
    Likes Received:
    424
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    unless of coarse you have the problem I have which ever time your try to uppgrade to more ram you run in to the same problem of LOSING 1 of 3 ram stick at random. 5+ kits later is still happens which why I still using only 6 gb set to not randomly lose 1 of 3 stick.

    But yah 12gb is kind high im considering it wasnt 12 when it first launched bugged/broke or not
     
  2. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,439
    Likes Received:
    235
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    This game uses more system RAM than any other game I've ever played, on my 16GB system RAM usage sits at 60% - Batman Arkham Knight uses just over 6GB of RAM just by itself. This is only on a 900p screen, but with High Textures enabled (Shadows Low, No AA, Paper & Fog Off, NVidia Light Shafts & Rain On).

    Post patch performance is the same as after the last interim patch - a bit disappointed by that fact! Game does run smooth on my system without hitching, but could do with just say 5 extra fps when dive bombing in the city or when fighting thugs in the streets of the city in some areas (for a min fps of say 32fps - that would be on my wish list!).
     
  3. Batboy

    Batboy Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce Titan X Hyb.
    Some gamers as myself have to do video edition too with their rigs. Hence they have plenty of RAM. Yes, games don't even need 16 GB. You are right in this.
     
  4. RzrTrek

    RzrTrek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    640
    GPU:
    RX 580 ❤ MESA 19.2
    I call bull**** on those specs, it's the same freaking mess as it was prior to being removed from the Steam store.
     

  5. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,277
    Likes Received:
    3,327
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    12GB? Check.
     
  6. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,023
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    seems some people on other forums are not reading everything.
    they are assuming the 12gb memory requirement for all operating system.



    I can understand windows 10 needing 12gb of memory.

    the os loves to eat memory...

    and has nothing to do with unreal.

    its the memory management in windows 10 that making it high.

    it forces the game to use more memory.

    but hey it just like windows vista days.



    game requirement was different when comparing windows xp and vista.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  7. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,466
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Lucky, I 'just' meet requirements lol :D
     
  8. Batboy

    Batboy Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA Geforce Titan X Hyb.
    Should I buy this game on Steam? It is offered cheap, without that famous Pass. With the Pass, around the double. I cannot understand for what I need that Pass yet.
     
  9. kevnb

    kevnb Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  10. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,413
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I laughed.

    Unoptimized is as Unoptimized does.

    lol.... Not even a megabyte to spare!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,466
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,151
    Likes Received:
    77
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I just downloaded 16GB of RAM. Running much better now. Thanks!
     
  13. stereoman

    stereoman Master Guru

    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Seahawk EK
    Fact is the way it looks now I might as well upgrade to 16GB, ports aren't getting any better in fact I'd say they're only getting worse, I use my system for music production and game development as well so a bit more memory should help in those situations too and I can always throw my Ballistix Tracers up on ebay to recoup some of the cost, so looks like upgrade time again :)
     
  14. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,466
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    More than welcome :D
     
  15. Bleib

    Bleib Master Guru

    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX 480 8GB
    And this is the part where I go "told you so". A console running on 8GB on lower settings, it's not at all strange that you'd need more for PC.
     

  16. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,347
    Likes Received:
    174
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    A well coded game will take advantage of beefy systems by potentially using more RAM to look and perform better.
    This just isn't that game. So your argument falls on deaf ears.
     
  17. kevnb

    kevnb Master Guru

    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070
    Except it's complete bull****, every benchmark anywhere shows no benefit moving from 8 gb memory even in this game. Ram speed however is starting to matter now that processors actually need the bandwidth. I suspect some people upgrading to more ram and seeing improvement are actually seeing it because they are upgrading to faster ram.
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  18. Bansaku

    Bansaku Member Guru

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64
    Never understood what the initial issue were. With the original release with one of my HD7950 3GB the game ran at a (somewhat) smooth 60fps maxed settings. With CFX enabled I get a rocksteady 60fps with 60% GPU utilization each GPU.
     
  19. Monchis

    Monchis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,304
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    GTX 950
    Pfff, you are not playing this the way it´s meant to be played. i5 4.4ghz/gtx680:

    http://gfycat.com/CleverDearestArabianhorse
     
  20. bigfutus

    bigfutus Master Guru

    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Ti

Share This Page