Baffled efter installing new video card

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by sokahan, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    Hello everyone.

    I recently brought a new graphics card (670gtx from Evga)I had a 285 GTX from. I installed it the day it arrived and played some games, like Guild Wars 2 and Rage to try it out. It worked perfectly. I could see a huge jump in performance even at higher settings.
    My problem occurred after I booted the computer the day after. All my games seem to have trouble loading textures. In Rage they are complete without detail, all blurry until I have looked at them for a while. In Guild Wars 2 everything is just black and the colours come gradually as the time passes.

    Problem in short

    My computer has trouble loading texture at a reasonable speed. Loading time in general have in increased. It seems to me my computer is somehow reluctant to use the available ram. For example Guild Wars 2 only uses 400mb I see the same problem in every game now.

    What have I tried so far?

    I have run memtest86+ and allowed 4 passes to happen without it finding any errors

    I have run Prime95 blend test for 3 hours. Everything seemed fine

    I have replaced my new graphics card with my old one. The problem consists

    I have taken my ram modules out one by one and tested them. Again the problem consists.

    Tried to use another PSU to no avail.

    Installed windows on a different hard disk partition. Again nothing

    Checked msconfig.exe to see if the memory were limited. They were not

    Ran the Heaven benchmark test. Got a 45 fps average with everything on max.

    Specs
    PSU 1000 watt Xilence Gaming Series
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670
    ASUSTeK Computer INC. Rampage II Extreme (LGA1366)
    6,00 GB Triple-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz (8-8-8-20) (Kingston)
    Intel Core i7 920 @ 2.67GHz
    Western Digital WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0 ATA Device
    Western Digital WDC WD7500AYYS-01RCA0 ATA Device
    Western Digital WDC WD1500AHFD-00RAR1 ATA Device
    INTEL SSDSA2CW120G3 ATA Device (Main)
    Western Digital WDC WD20EADS-00S2B0 ATA Device
     
  2. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    289
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Have you tried a clean install of the most recent Nvidia drivers? (306.23)

    Maybe check temps while in game on the CPU and GPU?
     
  3. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    Yes I did that when I installed windows on another harddrive. I have also tried same of their older drivers.

    While running prime95 blend test to max my cpu usage and playing Rage.

    My cpu max temp was 58 °C
    And my gpu was 64 °C
     
  4. Yttersta

    Yttersta Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Some
    Your RAMs are very very outdated even for the first generation Core series and since they're 1066MHz ones, I'd expect they'll be very easy to upgrade as well, I'd suggest at least 1600MHz, this may cause an issue with the hardbody textures and hardbody physics, this type of physics have nothing to do with Physx and they're fully on the CPU.

    Try to run 3DMark 11 in extreme preset with the combined and physics tests in a loop.
    Those two should test everything in your system, games wise.

    See if it can run it in loop a few times without any issues.

    Because apart from your rams, I don't see anything in your system that might cause an issue, well your CPU may be holding the overall performance a little back, but that shouldn't be more than 5-10FPS at its most.
     

  5. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    I have run the test two times now without any problems
    My score was:

    Graphics Score 2989
    Physics Score 6131
    Combined Score 3534

    It is rather odd that i dont have the same blocky textures and long loading times when running the test.
     
  6. deByte

    deByte Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0
    Jesus christ, Graphics Score 2989...

    Problem in GPU, try to unplug and plug it again in ur PCI-E port.
    Delete your drivers and make a clean install.
     
  7. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    Is that low ? =P
    Well i checked and my card was in PCI-E port. So i moved the card to my second PCI-E port and deleted alle my Nvidia drivers. I have installed them again and the problem is still there
     
  8. deByte

    deByte Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 SC ACX 2.0
    Sure low :)
    I've got ref. Palit GTX 670 2048mb

    My graphics score without OC'ing = 4240
    My graphics score with OC'ing = 9584
     
  9. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    Oh god thats horribly low then =P Well something is differently wrong then
     
  10. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    is that a performance (p) score or x score?
     

  11. GPU

    GPU Guest

    "My problem occurred after I booted the computer the day after"
    I would try resetting the BIOS or updating it, same with the chipset drivers,
    -a clean install of nv drivers using ,driver sweeper and cc before hand.


    -also is the bios putting the gpu into pci-e 2.0 or 3.0
    -could you check with gpu-z [under load]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 16, 2012
  12. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    What I posted was my performance score. My X score is: X3202

    Okay i have tried resetting the BIOS and since my BIOS was already up to date I just reinstalled the newest driver.

    I have used revo uninstaller to delete my Nvidia drivers on this harddrisk. That didnt work. So I installed a fresh version of windows on another harddisk and installed everything from scratch still nothing.

    I have just download and run GPU-Z. Sorry for my lack of knowledge but I assume we are talking the Bus Interface? It says PCI-E 2.0 underload and when idle. I find that interesting although I am not sure what to make of it =P
     
  13. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    1366 is pcie2.0 afaik
     
  14. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    Well darn, I finally thought I was on to something
     
  15. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    289
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Try some more games. Rage is notorious for its texture popping.
     

  16. sokahan

    sokahan Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 670gtx 2 2048mb
    Okay so I have tried these games.

    Metro 2033.
    Blacklight Retribution.
    Sniper Elite.
    Guild Wars 2 (Unplayable regardless of video settings)
    Batman: Arkham City(Unplayable)
    Crysies Warhead( Has some weak symptoms)


    Sleeping dogs looks and plays better since I installed the new video card
     
  17. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,693
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
    1066 RAM isn't outdated, and is more than fast enough (and I mean WAY more) to load textures at a quick pace in a game. The storage medium will bottleneck way before even DDR2-800 RAM.
     
  18. Stress-Test the card for errors... sounds like something's wrong with it if it ran just fine originally then all of a sudden had issues the next day. I'd have rma'd it by now... Assuming your psu's not acting up etc... or I suppose you could update your vga bios to the latest copy, but imo I'd contact ur manu and try an rma.

    Also, any chance you've got access to another rig to test if the issues persist there as well?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 17, 2012
  19. mmm I don't know... I'm running a 670, and I'm not noticing anything like what op's describing, I think his card is possibly faulty...
     
  20. brendanvista

    brendanvista Master Guru

    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Ti
    I was just about to say that. I think after reseating your gpu and making sure the power plugs are all snug, and a reinstall of graphics drivers, your best bet might be to RMA the card. Waaait. Try putting the 285 back in and see what happens. Do you have the issues with the old gpu?
     

Share This Page