Auzentech Prelude Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by davaid, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,241
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    22" LCD on GTX260 C216
    Discrete opamps are opamps built from discrete components. Instead of a small chip they are larger; built of higher grade transistors, Caps and resistors.
    There are units avilable from Audio-GD and a unit avialable from Burson.

    I was wondering if anybody else has done any testing with these on the Prelude?
     
  2. Coolchris

    Coolchris Master Guru

    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 512mb GForce 8800GT
    Not me mate. Im waiting for the HD card to come out, so not spending/doing owt with the Prelude.
     
  3. Uzito

    Uzito Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 290 Black DD
    Prelude sounds great with original opamps, why bother?
     
  4. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,241
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    22" LCD on GTX260 C216
    ..because a better opamp can provide better sound quality. This is why the stock opamps are in sockets.
     

  5. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,155
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    And also why we change them with other op-amps.
     
  6. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    75
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 TI FTW
    I already stated in another thread my adventures in attaining an OPA637SM. It sounds great, but I wish I had other opamps aside from the original to compare it to.
     
  7. terranaut

    terranaut Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    580gtx
    opamps from prelude to hd model

    i upgraded my opamps on my prelude, and so im wondering when i get the new HD hometheatre model, can i use those opamps on the HD model and put the original opamps back on the prelude?

    and was there going to be some type of trade-up offer from prelude to HD? i thought i saw that back at the end of 08.....

    thanks,
    gg
     
  8. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,241
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    22" LCD on GTX260 C216
    Yes, you will be able to use the opamps on the new card also.
    Nobody has the HTHD yet to test and compare against a Prelude or Forte 7.1. I would think the HTHD will have superior sound quality though. Have to wait and see...or rather hear.
     
  9. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    that's something we're all waiting for. :)
     
  10. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Master Guru

    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
    I'd be surprised if it was equal or better.
     

  11. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,241
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    22" LCD on GTX260 C216
    Why? This is their next flagship sound card. I would think the sound quality will be better then the Prelude 7.1.
     
  12. nam

    nam Master Guru

    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW ICX
    there is mate the Prelude 10.1 :)
     
  13. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Master Guru

    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
    It's seems as though the primary focus of that card is the HDMI audio and video. I expect the analog output to be the same as the Forte.
     
  14. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,241
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    22" LCD on GTX260 C216
    This card is also capable of passing all the high definition "HDMI" audio formats over analog also.
    I guess I will know very soon.
     
  15. umeng2002

    umeng2002 Master Guru

    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 970 SC ACX 2.0
    True, this is a plus.
     

  16. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    yeah, we'll know soon how great it will be. but as good as it could be, it won't make me switch from my prelude for at least a few more years. I don't see the need, at least in my case.
     
  17. Tinuva

    Tinuva Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GeForceā„¢ 8800 GTS Fat
    I agree. My HTPC case can only take low profile cards. Thus I ended up using a Icedyle motherboard which have HDMI onboard. Thus I will probably stay with the Prelude in my gaming pc. Why change if it is not needed?
     
  18. Pyr0

    Pyr0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    *wonders if they can make a working microphone on the next card...
     
  19. bigb792001

    bigb792001 Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 285 GTX (SLI)
    That would be something! However I don't think Auzentech is to blame.
    Creative still writes the drivers for the Prelude if I'm not mistaken, and I think that says it all....
     
  20. nam

    nam Master Guru

    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW ICX
    Mic works fine for me now even with 1.1 drivers , just need to enable 20+ boost bye swapping between game, entertainment mode and back to game , this is only bug even after clean reinstall with new Hd and 1.1 drivers added ,

    pitty Auzentech and there tech guys realise there is this problem. they say not, there wrong indeed ..
     

Share This Page