ATT Error Black Screen?!?!

Discussion in 'ATI Tray Tools Public Beta Section' started by ValeRO, Mar 30, 2007.

  1. cocute

    cocute Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, thanks, works fine
     
  2. Mantene

    Mantene New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    x600 Pro
    Yep! Disable I2C access did the trick!
     
  3. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Guyz, can anyone spend a few minutes (or hours? :) ) to find which I2C method is broken?
    When you install ATT and didn't click "Use old I2C" - new method will be used. I think only one of two methods are broken.
     
  4. rjc862003

    rjc862003 Banned

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5750@855/1337
    i fixed it i edited the regstriy and enabled reset on supend and Wa la
    it was disabled :p

    Note all Ic2 access mode options are uncheacked when i insalled



    No more black screen yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

    i dont think ist the Ic2 accsess mode that cauess it
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007

  5. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    I don't think this is reason. This option intended for restoring clocks after sleep/suspend mode. But black screen occurs at start up! :(
     
  6. Bounce

    Bounce Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GB GTX 660 oc
    not sure if i understand...
    does it make a difference if i use 'old' or 'new' when i have 'disabled' checked anyway?

    currently i'm installing(updating) with 'new'(old method NOT checked) and 'disabled' (this method works)
     
  7. trevtrev19

    trevtrev19 Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    i didnt see this thread before i posted sorry! wonder how is this gonna be fixed hehee
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  8. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    No. I just want to find which method broken when you enable I2C
     
  9. Bounce

    Bounce Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GB GTX 660 oc
    hmm ok i did some testing under win.xP sP2 and my F900P CRT-Monitor and CAT 7.3
    (completely uninstalled ATT and then used 1.3.6 b1024)

    when i don't disable 'I2C-access' i'm getting the blackscreen-problem
    with and without 'old method', so it seems both are broken..
    with 'I2C-access' disabled it's no difference if i check or uncheck 'old'

    hope that helps a little

    thanks for looking into this :)
     
  10. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Ok. Thanks. This is very strange because I have changed I2C procedures only for X1xxx Video board, not for old ones! And now I can not understand what can be wrong! :(
     

  11. berni2k

    berni2k Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1800XT 256 + HD4850 512
    First:
    Yes this error is / was live (i will not beta test that .. it takes to long to fix the result)

    Second:
    a Walkthrough _how to reproduce it_
    1 Install Vista 32, Catalyst 7.2 and ATT 1.3.6.1009
    2 click _default single display_
    3 watch your creen turning black (aka your screen will go to sleep mode forever -> if you reboot your screen will turn black right before the vista icon would normally animate)

    Third:
    a Walkthrough _how to fix it_
    1 find a way to reboot your sys (e.g. Alt-F4, enter or windows key, right arrow, enter)
    2 while booting up hit F8 after the BIOS initialiastion
    3 in the menu select boot windows in save mode with networking (so you can download some software you will need to fix this)
    4 now windows will not load the catalyst 7.2 dispay drivers and therefor you will finally see vista again
    -> 4.1 unistalling ATT will not be enough to fix this error because ATT changed some setting inside the display drivers itself
    -> 4.2 now you say ok so lets just uninstall catalyst then .. well sorry catalyst drivers are such a **** they wont unisall inside windows safe mode because the install/uninstall setup routine bundeled together with catalyst wont let you
    5 download driver cleaner pro 1.5, a new version of catalyst maybe 7.3, and a new version of ATT beta maybe 018 or newer
    6 unistall ATT
    7 install and run driver cleaner pro 1.5 (select the ATI settings and clean)
    8 restart

    please no more such errors in beta uploads please !
    berni2k
     
  12. rjc862003

    rjc862003 Banned

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5750@855/1337
    i unchecked auto start So i coulde trouble shoot it
     
  13. berni2k

    berni2k Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1800XT 256 + HD4850 512
    didnt he say he soft modded from 9800 pro to 9800 xt?
    because i know 9800 pro has no temp sensors

    btw: the _monitor sleep mode error_ must be grafic card independent because as you know i got the same PC as you ;)
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  14. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Error with loading Default Single Display profile is not related to this error. I will check today loading profile issue, but I can not check problem with I2C subsystem
     
  15. berni2k

    berni2k Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1800XT 256 + HD4850 512
    maybe it helps you: so far i always installed ATT with default settings
     

  16. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    It will not help :) I need an old video board and system with AGP to test. System with AGP I have, but without video board.
     
  17. berni2k

    berni2k Member

    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1800XT 256 + HD4850 512
    what a pitty i sold my 9800pro some months ago (i would have sent it to you otherwise now)
    damn
     
  18. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    I will have it on next week
     
  19. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Ok guyz. I just received an old 9500 AGP.
    I have tested last beta version and found no black screens with I2C enabled. Only one bug - when you try to add monitoring graphs plugin "X1xxx Voltages" you will get same black screen! I have fixed it. But at start up ATT never load any Monitoring plugins!
    Any way. I just uploaded updated beta version build 1026 which works on my system with 9500. Please check it.
     
  20. cocute

    cocute Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, i tested beta 1028 in my ati 9600 card and without disable I2C in install, and works perfect, no black screen. :ying:
     

Share This Page