ATT & CrossFire support

Discussion in 'ATI Tray Tools Public Beta Section' started by Ray Adams, Jan 22, 2007.

  1. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    INVALIDACTIVECONTROLLERDISPLAY
    You have a problem with your CF setup. Check your boards and dongles. There are must be no such error.
     
  2. Chprof

    Chprof New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x (Sapphire 4850 512)
    well, i know that i can enable cf in CCC, so i presume there is no problem.
    BUT gpu-z always answers disabled, but available.
    I dont know what's wrong, the 2 bridges are connected (shall i connect one or two ?), my 2 graphic cards are alimented, fan is running.

    by the way, something's weird :
    one graphic card runs at 160/250 in 2d. the other one at 500/993.
    i changed the slots, but it's the same : one board runs at 160/250, the other one at 500/993, and it doesnt depend on which slot it is.

    I succeeded once to reach 13941 with 3dmark2006, but sometimes i make lower with a great difference, around 11k or 12, it depends, on what i dont know.

    i ran twice 3dmark2006 and got same result with the card 1 or 2, around 10750.

    i ran 3dmark2006 in crossfire, and got 13188.

    i can give you the infos for cg1 alone or cg2 alone if you want


    Thx for your advice :)

    edit : i bought 2 x 4850 from gainward and will test them as soon as i receive them.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2008
  3. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    I don't know . May be you have that error because your board has 16x - 4x PCI-E in CrossFire?
    But about clocks. Are you sure you don't overclock it using CCC or any other utils? :)
     
  4. Chprof

    Chprof New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x (Sapphire 4850 512)
    yes i am ; i even unistalled CCC to reinstall it and didnt unlock the clock controls.
    maybe two boards with different bios ?
     

  5. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    I don't think so. I also have 2x 4850 from Sapphire but with different versions of BIOS. No problems on my system, but I have also X38 chipset with full 16x + 16x PCI-E slots.
     
  6. Chprof

    Chprof New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x (Sapphire 4850 512)
    Me again.

    I changed my windy sapphire double slot for 2 more silent gainward, here are the system informations you require on ATT :

    CROSSFIRE DISABLED

    ______________________________
    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 1
    ulAvailableAdapters 65538
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 31
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 18874368
    State Bits
    INVALIDACTIVECONTROLLERDISPLAY






    CROSSFIRE ENABLED

    ______________________________
    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 1
    ulAvailableAdapters 65538
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 31
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 19136512
    State Bits
    INVALIDACTIVECONTROLLERDISPLAY
    MVPUACTIVE




    About frequencies, my 2 boards run at 500/1100 according to gpu-z in 2d mode, and 700/1100 in 3d mode. I cant see the frequencies of my 2 boards with ATT, or maybe i can but i dont know where. Same for temps.

    About fan speed control : when set manually both fans follow my indication : i set to 35%, both fans run at 35% (i can see that with gpu-z). When set on automatic (depending on temp) only the fan of the first graphic board follows the (automatic) indications. the second one runs at 50% (in my case), as it run when att is not launched. I didnt touch anything to overclocking or speed fan controls in CCC.

    Have a good day !
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2008
  7. baduk

    baduk New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x HIS IceQ HD4850
    Hello.
    I also have 4850 crossfire on a mobo with one pcie16x and another pcie4x

    Crossfire enabled in CCC:

    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 1
    ulAvailableAdapters 65538
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 31
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 19136512
    State Bits
    INVALIDACTIVECONTROLLERDISPLAY
    MVPUACTIVE

    Disabled in CCC:

    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 1
    ulAvailableAdapters 65538
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 31
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 18874368
    State Bits
    INVALIDACTIVECONTROLLERDISPLAY


    My os is windows xp 32 also. sp3 tho.
     
  8. Cheerpipe

    Cheerpipe Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2X HD48702 1GB CF
    My little help.

    With CrossFire disable from CCC

    Code:
    Multi VPU State               
    ulActiveAdapters              1
    ulAvailableAdapters           196611
    ulCurrentAdapter              0
    ulDongleCapabilities          0
    ulDongleConnection            0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex          0
    ulPrimaryIndex                0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize               0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes                0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize            0
    ulMVPUState                   16777224
    State Bits                     
    REVERSERECOMMENDED   
    
    With CrossFire enabled from CCC

    Code:
    Multi VPU State               
    ulActiveAdapters              2
    ulAvailableAdapters           196608
    ulCurrentAdapter              0
    ulDongleCapabilities          0
    ulDongleConnection            0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex          0
    ulPrimaryIndex                0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize               0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes                0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize            0
    ulMVPUState                   17039368
    State Bits                     
    MVPUACTIVE                     
    REVERSERECOMMENDED    
    
    I use two 4850 with two donglets and two PCI-E at 16X (X38 chipset), catalyst 8.12 and Vista 64.

    One problem i have:

    When i enable or disable CrossFire from ATT, my screen go blank, when it come back, my two vga adapters are completly disabled.

    ATT can only detect CCC crossfire option, but not apply a new setting.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2008
  9. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    I know about this problem. I also have two 4850 on X38 chipset. Still looking for solution.
     
  10. mitzi76

    mitzi76 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,660
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    MSI 970 (Gaming)
    u still need help? can test with 5870's in xfire perhaps. however last time i had xfire (a 5870 and a 5850) i turned off xfire in ccc and then got a black screen.

    it disabled it all right but i couldnt see anything on the screen. very wierd. so forgive me if i want the same thing happening again and having to install drivers/take out a gpu n boot up with one etc shananigans.

    so i take it att trays isnt supported for xfire users yet?
     

  11. bray8102

    bray8102 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Gigabyte hd5750 (1Gb)
    when i go into the crossfire section its all greyed out... is it ment to be?

    crossfire type: no crossfire support


    do i have the wrong att 1.6.9.1486 ??
     
  12. bray8102

    bray8102 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Gigabyte hd5750 (1Gb)
    crossfire on;

    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 2
    ulAvailableAdapters 196608
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 0
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 17039360
    State Bits
    MVPUACTIVE

    ----------------------------------


    crossfire off;
    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 1
    ulAvailableAdapters 65538
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 0
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 16777216
    State Bits
     
  13. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Thanks. I will check it
     
  14. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    What OS do you have? I just checked code and found nothing wrong with CF support detection.
     
  15. bray8102

    bray8102 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Gigabyte hd5750 (1Gb)
    im using win 7 64bit (screenshot attached)


    just another quick thing about the crossfire bridge as its the first time ive set one up, with the bridge link, do i need to use 2 (i currently have 2 on) or is it better to juse use 1 or it wont make a difference


    ps; i havent been on the site long so im still trying to find where everything is, as im sure there is some where i ahvent seen yet saying what i need to know.

    thanks in advance
     

  16. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Use 2 links.
    And please paste full sysinfo from ATT
     
  17. bray8102

    bray8102 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Gigabyte hd5750 (1Gb)
    okay cool, 2 links


    ATT Version 1.6.9.1486
    Display adapter ATI display adapter (0x68BE)
    Core Name EG JUNIPER
    SubVendor GigaByte (1458)
    SubDevice 21D6
    BUS 1
    Device 0
    Function 0
    Base Address 0 C000000C
    Base Address 1 00000000
    Base Address 2 FDCC0004
    Base Address 3 00000000

    Bus Type Supported PCI Express 2.x
    PCI-E Link Width 8
    Max PCI-E Link Width 16
    SMARTGART Installed No

    Driver Version 10.6
    Release Version 8.741-100527a-100948C-ATI
    QuadBuffer Stereo Support No
    Catalyst Registry Path
    System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{C56A34ED-0258-4118-B494-C03918A1A467}\0000

    ______________________________
    Clock Information
    BIOS VPU 700.00
    Current VPU 700.00
    BIOS MEM 1150.00
    Current MEM 1150.00

    ______________________________
    Overdrive
    Adapter 0
    Supported Yes
    Type PowerPlay
    Level 0 : GPU/MEM/VDDC 700.00/1150.00/1.100
    Level 1 : GPU/MEM/VDDC 700.00/1150.00/1.100
    Level 2 : GPU/MEM/VDDC 700.00/1150.00/1.100

    Adapter 1
    Supported Yes
    Type PowerPlay
    Level 0 : GPU/MEM/VDDC 400.00/1150.00/1.100
    Level 1 : GPU/MEM/VDDC 500.00/1150.00/1.100
    Level 2 : GPU/MEM/VDDC 700.00/1150.00/1.100

    ______________________________
    Radeon PCI configuration space
    00 01 02 03 04 05 06 07 08 09 0A 0B 0C 0D 0E 0F
    00 02 10 BE 68 07 04 10 00 00 00 00 03 01 00 80 00
    10 0C 00 00 C0 00 00 00 00 04 00 CC FD 00 00 00 00
    20 01 CE 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 58 14 D6 21
    30 00 00 00 00 50 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 01 00 00
    40 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 58 14 D6 21
    50 01 58 03 06 00 00 00 00 10 A0 12 00 A1 8F 00 00
    60 10 29 09 00 02 0D 00 00 40 00 81 10 00 00 00 00
    70 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    80 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 02 00 01 00 00 00 00 00
    90 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    A0 05 00 81 00 0C F0 E0 FE 00 00 00 00 A0 49 00 00
    B0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    C0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    D0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    E0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    F0 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Hardware Information ASIC (Software) Method
    Family 90
    Emulated Revision 21
    Gfx Engine ID 8
    VRam Bit Width 128
    Installed memory 1024

    OverDrive 5 Limits Adapter 0
    Core clocks Min 350.00 - Max 870.00
    Memory clocks Min 575.00 - Max 1430.00
    VDDC Min 0.950v - Max 1.100v

    OverDrive 5 Limits Adapter 1
    Core clocks Min 200.00 - Max 870.00
    Memory clocks Min 575.00 - Max 1430.00
    VDDC Min 0.950v - Max 1.100v
    ______________________________
    FAN
    1 01815E31
    2 001E2887
    3 50DB0C00
    4 5A50463C
    5 64615F5D
    6 51433628
    7 87796C5E

    Video BIOS Information Adapter0
    Version 012.013.000.000
    Part Number 113-C01201-019
    Date 2009/10/12 08:14
    Vram Type GDDR5

    Video BIOS Information Adapter1
    Version 012.013.000.000
    Part Number 113-C01201-019
    Date 2009/10/21 01:40
    Vram Type GDDR5
    ______________________________
    Multi VPU Caps
    ______________________________
    No additional information
    ______________________________
    Multi VPU State
    ulActiveAdapters 2
    ulAvailableAdapters 196608
    ulCurrentAdapter 0
    ulDongleCapabilities 0
    ulDongleConnection 0
    ulDongleDisplayIndex 0
    ulPrimaryIndex 0
    ulMVPUMaxFBSize 0
    ulMVPUMaxPipes 0
    ulMVPUMaxVisFBSize 0
    ulMVPUState 17039360
    State Bits
    MVPUACTIVE
     
  18. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    And still no CF support in CF configuration windows? That sounds strange for me. In SysInfo ATT shows 2 available adapters so it definitely must allows to turn CF on or off
     
  19. bray8102

    bray8102 Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x Gigabyte hd5750 (1Gb)
    it is just greyed out, i guess its not a big deal as i have ccc and can turn it on/off there.

    but as it says no cross fire support, it would still be working right?
     
  20. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Should work because ATT sees two adapters in SysInfo.
    Check overclocking window for check box with label "Apply to both cores\adapters". If you see no such checkbox, ATT will not be able to apply overclocking parameters to both adapters.
     

Share This Page