ATT beta with HD 3xxx (and may be 2xxx) support

Discussion in 'ATI Tray Tools Public Beta Section' started by Ray Adams, Mar 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clozak

    clozak Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    After loading a map in UT3, before pressing fire, you can fly around the map. The stuttering is like a 1/4 second pause while moving and happens about once a second.

    Like I said, it happens the most in all UT3 based games. If you have UT3, you try flying around a map. This way you will be able to examine without getting blasted by flak and rockets. Also happens after the battle starts, while walking. Same kind of stuttering.
     
  2. inklimited

    inklimited Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6850 900MHz
    LOL. I've never evn bothered to check that out before. I used to have a 9550 until about a week ago.
     
  3. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    I don't have UT3, but I have a few games on UE3 engine. No such problems in Fuel of war. I also have Bioshock and I will check this game too.
     
  4. Linkintones

    Linkintones Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor HD 3850 AGP 837/1035MHz
    clozak: Actually, I believe that this is a common problem that is unique for UT3. At first I had a X1950XT 256MB. UT3 was unplayable with this card because of all the stuttering. But now with my HD 3850 512MB, the stuttering is almost gone, except for when you load a map any fly around or when you come across some places in the game that lowers the fps a lot. Try playing the killer-map: Shangri La (Deathmatch) and go across the rounded bridge in the open space where you start. Almost everyone gets very low FPS in that specific area. I truly hope that it will be fixed, cause this happens very often in many of the maps in the game.

    Bioshock did on the other hand run smooth as silk on my X1950XT, and it runs even better on my HD 3850 now. It's a shame that UT3 was developed by Epic as they did not optimize this game enough for ATI/AMD (sarcasm).
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2008

  5. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
  6. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Any other Ue3 based games has this stuttering?
     
  7. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    (just copy from prev. page)

    Okay. Uploaded new beta version.

    - First attemtp to use overclocking on both cards in CrossFire mode. Will work I think only on RV630 boards (HD3xxx, HD2600Pro?). Needs to be checked.
    - Added temperature monitoring for HD 2xxx boards, and may be fan control. Please check it.

    http://cid-a50350ea7a969f0c.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Public/attsetup.exe
     
  8. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    About CF Overclocking.
    At this moment it is impossible in ATT to check clocks for second board. I'm goind to write Monitoring graphs plugins to monitor CF cards.
    So you need other utils to check is clocks actually applied or not.
     
  9. Bgrdn0

    Bgrdn0 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    His Hd3870 (885\2400)
    Hi Ray,
    been watchin this thread for a bit for the cf overclocking,
    so just tested it on 2 HIS HD3870's and used ccc and GPU-Z to check the overclock on the second card and it was still at std clock....I disabled ccc before attempting the overclock...
    when i check the "Apply to both cores/adapters" and click apply and ok to close overclock setting box when re-opening the overclock settings box the "Apply to both cores/adapters" box is unchecked weather i have used std or overclocked settings...
    Also when i first installed the basic driver no ccc ATT didn't detect my second card so i couldn't enable CF but when i installed .net and ccc ATT detected them fine!
    I have upgraded the bios of both cards to 010.071.000.000 from 010.069.000.000 to remove the 865 core overclock limit just incase this makes a difference...

    here is my Informer report...


    PHP:

    No crossfire

    --------- CF report -----------------
    ----- 
    Device enum --------
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY1
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY2
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY3
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY4
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    ----- 
    End Device enum --------
    -- 
    ShowOverdriveInfo --
    ---- 
    PowerPay information index 1-------
    Level 1
    GPU 300.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.241
    Level 2
    GPU 300.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.241
    Level 3
    GPU 777.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.327
    ---- End PowerPay information -------
    PMGetOD5CurrentOrDefaultPerformanceLevels failed00000000 index 2
    Get PowerPay information failed 
    00000000
    PMGetOD5CurrentOrDefaultPerformanceLevels failed00000000 index 3
    Get PowerPay information failed 
    00000000
    PMGetOD5CurrentOrDefaultPerformanceLevels failed00000000 index 4
    Get PowerPay information failed 
    00000000
    -- end ShowOverdriveInfo --
    -- 
    GetPTTable --
    ----------
    C08003 result index:----------
    300:1126-1241
    300
    :1126-1241
    777
    :1126-1327
    300
    :1126-1241
    300
    :1126-1241
    777
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    ----------end C08003 result----------
    C08003 failed 00000000
    C08003 failed 00000000
    C08003 failed 00000000
    -- End GetPTTable --
    --------- 
    CF report -----------------

    With crossfire enabled

    --------- CF report -----------------
    ----- 
    Device enum --------
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY1
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY2
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY3
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY4
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    ----- 
    End Device enum --------
    -- 
    ShowOverdriveInfo --
    ---- 
    PowerPay information index 1-------
    Level 1
    GPU 300.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.241
    Level 2
    GPU 300.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.241
    Level 3
    GPU 777.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.327
    ---- End PowerPay information -------
    PMGetOD5CurrentOrDefaultPerformanceLevels failed00000000 index 2
    Get PowerPay information failed 
    00000000
    PMGetOD5CurrentOrDefaultPerformanceLevels failed00000000 index 3
    Get PowerPay information failed 
    00000000
    PMGetOD5CurrentOrDefaultPerformanceLevels failed00000000 index 4
    Get PowerPay information failed 
    00000000
    -- end ShowOverdriveInfo --
    -- 
    GetPTTable --
    ----------
    C08003 result index:----------
    300:1126-1241
    300
    :1126-1241
    777
    :1126-1327
    300
    :1126-1241
    300
    :1126-1241
    777
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    ----------end C08003 result----------
    C08003 failed 00000000
    C08003 failed 00000000
    C08003 failed 00000000
    -- End GetPTTable --
    --------- 
    CF report -----------------

    Std Clock cf enable

    --------- HD 2xxx report -----------------
    ----- 
    Device enum --------
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY1
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY2
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY3
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY4
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    ----- 
    End Device enum --------
    OverDrive 5
    Core clocksMin 270.00 
    Max 885.00
    Memory clocksMin 1015.00 
    Max 1387.00
    VDDCMin 1.03v 
    Max 1.33v
    ---- PowerPay information index 1-------
    Level 1
    GPU 300.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.241
    Level 2
    GPU 300.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.241
    Level 3
    GPU 777.00
    MEM 1126.00
    VDDC 1.327
    ---- End PowerPay information -------
    ----------
    C08003 result index:----------
    300:1126-1241
    300
    :1126-1241
    777
    :1126-1327
    300
    :1126-1241
    300
    :1126-1241
    777
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    700
    :1126-1327
    ----------end C08003 result----------
    --------- 
    End of report ------------------

    Overclock cf enabled

    --------- HD 2xxx report -----------------
    ----- 
    Device enum --------
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY1
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY2
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0000
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY3
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{8B19AE7D-EB79-44C1-961C-FED461DD217B}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    Device name - \\.\DISPLAY4
    Device string 
    ATI Radeon HD 3870
    Device key 
    - \Registry\Machine\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{1FC52186-303C-40CF-85D2-67C68C9B90A6}\0001
    Device id 
    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9501&SUBSYS_25421002&REV_00
    -
    ----- 
    End Device enum --------
    OverDrive 5
    Core clocksMin 765.00 
    Max 885.00
    Memory clocksMin 1085.00 
    Max 1387.00
    VDDCMin 1.03v 
    Max 1.33v
    ---- PowerPay information index 1-------
    Level 1
    GPU 845.00
    MEM 1201.50
    VDDC 1.327
    Level 2
    GPU 845.00
    MEM 1201.50
    VDDC 1.327
    Level 3
    GPU 845.00
    MEM 1201.50
    VDDC 1.327
    ---- End PowerPay information -------
    ----------
    C08003 result index:----------
    845:1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    845
    :1201-1327
    ----------end C08003 result----------
    --------- 
    End of report ------------------
    If there is any more information you need let me know be happy to help...

    P.s good job so far...
     
  10. Soulbringer

    Soulbringer Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon HD2900XT
    I tried this new beta with my HD2900XT 512MB but both monitoring and overclocking don't work...Perhaps can I use a new informer to give you additional information?
     

  11. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    No. It must work! Can you please check RivaTuner? What kind of monitoring you have in RT? GPU /Env temperatures ?

    2 Bgrdn0 - As I can see from report it will not work for your configuration. Look in CF Report there are must be two reports like this one
    ----------C08003 result index:1 ---------- for first adapter
    and
    ----------C08003 result index:3 ---------- for second one.
    Without it it will not work. Ther strange thing is here
    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=2635047&postcount=260
    as you can see. Same 3870 in crossfire and he has two lines! Lets wait outo to test last beta version.
     
  12. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    btw. Are you sure you didn't disable Overclocking and I2C functions in atitray.ini??? Could you please look inside that file?
     
  13. supjeje

    supjeje Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire hd 2900xt/512
    Hi Ray, i have the same problem, no overclocking (can't appy my clocks) and no overdrive (unsuported) with my hd2900xt 512 mo on vista 32 with att 1136.

    in my atitray.ini :
    opt_disable_ovr=0
    opt_old_i2c=0
    opt_disable_i2c=0
    opt_no_overdrive=0
    opt_allow_llo=0
    opt_allow_hv=0
     
  14. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
  15. Bgrdn0

    Bgrdn0 New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    His Hd3870 (885\2400)
    Yes I see, same cards but different mboard chipset mine intel, outo's is ati (I think), maybe this makes a difference...
     

  16. outo

    outo Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Asus HD 3870
    1136 didnt overclock both my 3870.

    Gonna test the new version now.
     
  17. outo

    outo Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Asus HD 3870
    Didnt work with the new one either.

    :) thats my feedback.

    So the overclocking wont work with ati 3870 cards. I mean the "apply to both".
     
  18. Soulbringer

    Soulbringer Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon HD2900XT
  19. clozak

    clozak Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, all's it know is it does what it does with my experience. So if I feel a game is not running up to par, then I turn on the OSD to see where I'm at. But one thing I want to point out, thanks for caring Ray and everyone else who were concerned with my problem. It means A LOT.
     
  20. Ray Adams

    Ray Adams Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD6950
    Thats good! What else you can monitor? And can you operate with FAN? For overclocking. I will look into it. As you can see this is not so easy without hardware :) When I received HD 3870 it took about two days to make first working beta version, just because I can test it rather than waiting for report from beta testers :)


    2 outo -Thats bad . Can you run informer right after you applied clocks in ATT? I want to see is PowerPlay table actually was changed in second board or not.
    Also what software is able to overclock your two boards in CF mode?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page