ATI Graphic card overclocking.....All info you need.

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by funkymonkey, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. LuxZg

    LuxZg Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon HD4890
    Guys, I presume you'd be interested in this bit of info about HD4870 cards, so just a pointer to it.. didn't know where to post so better here than opening new thread..

    It seems that it's possible to force 2D clocks for GDDR5 memory in BIOS after all, and AVOID the flickering issue (which is well known to everyone by now, I believe).
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?p=1191319#post1191319

    So far only one user reported it so it needs further confirmation, but he says that keeping 2D clocks for memory at 450MHz while 3D clocks are at 900MHz - there is no flickering, and temperatures/consumption in 2D is lowered.
    I'm thinking that it's maybe 2:1 ratio so for those overclocking it could be that it's not 450 2D/1000 3D but 500MHz 2D/1000MHz 3D (I'm only talking about memory clocks here).

    I'm just sending out the word for now, as I'm selling my card in 2 days and don't want to bother (or risk) with flashing just before buyer arrives, but I'll probably test these once I get new card later next week (I hope).

    Cya!
     
  2. Alkerion

    Alkerion Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 6970 DCII
    Hi,

    Does anyone already change the thermal compound on a 5870 ?

    Do you think it's worth it ?

    I've used OCZ Freeze Extreme for my CPU and obtained better results than with other pastes.

    BR
     
  3. Alkerion

    Alkerion Member Guru

    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 6970 DCII
    Hi,

    Finally I've changed the thermal coumpound of my 5870 for OCZ Freeze, the result is just great :)

    The gain is around 3-5°C and that with fan running 6% slower, see below :
    [​IMG]

    At idle it's now 40°C instead of 49°C :p

    My card run at 1000/1270 @ 1.274V, with these settings it's rock stable and pretty silent (higher is OK but a bit noisy to me), now it's even quitter :)

    BR
     
  4. bhokuto

    bhokuto Master Guru

    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R5670 HD 1GB DDR5

    Time For A New Version Don't You think? This dated 2004,

    We Are Now in 2010 What a difference in time and hardware.

    Good article. Need replacing

    Have A Good WeekEnd
     

  5. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    Overclocking ati cards - 5xx0 series

    Open MSIafterburner.cfg in the afterburner directory.
    change enableofficialoverclocking = 0 to =1 then save and open after burner. you can now oc.
     
  6. serbicu

    serbicu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    318
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    that's a nice imput...did that ..works fine for me:D
     
  7. Haz-RT

    Haz-RT Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070Ti SC
    whatever happen to this funkymonkey person, just suddenly leaves in 2005, with over 5000 posts? i mean i dont see how you can just quit going to a website, its not like a online game with a subscription. Also it's not like video cards went out of style?
     
  8. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    he went to jail for possession of a controlled substance with intent to distribute within 1000 feet of a school
     
  9. ndude555

    ndude555 Member Guru

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x MSI 5770 @ 910
    Does this help with the driver constantly crashing when I OC?
     
  10. Bloodduty

    Bloodduty Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA OC Titan X
    Bloodduty

    just wondering am just using cat drivers to over clock the 5870 on auto it will go to 890/1290 rock solid but put it to 900/1300 and you get a Gray Brown screen for a second with lines then a freeze with a black purple screen the stock on this with a stress test with furmark is this

    Core Max 86oC

    VDDC 75/76/75
    VDDCI 79

    just wondering if some of them are locked not to go over the 900 1300 limit
     

  11. d2k

    d2k Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX260 BE
    these cards are absolutely IMMENSE!! :banana:

    [​IMG]

    validation
     
  12. 1boolet

    1boolet Active Member

    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970+5850GPU+gf460gtx PPU
    why i cant use redline tweaker with 5970 oc edition from sapphire? Im using win 7 64 ultimate.

    when i run the application i get the hardware error later i changed compatibility to win vista and i get this tool is not supported on your graphic cad
     
  13. hallryu

    hallryu Don Altobello

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x HD7970
    Unless this causes instant BSOD. Like it does with some cards.:D
     
  14. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    someone needs to take permissions of this thread and update the OP
     
  15. Atlas

    Atlas Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290 x2, Saphire reference
    We still have to include overclocking trough CCC. But we also can make people aware of other tools around. The basic principles still stand though.

    I vote for a new guide with CCC and a branch for other tools :)
     

  16. Funky Doodle

    Funky Doodle Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
    what is the best software to test oc?
     
  17. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    Kombuster with msi afterburner.
     
  18. Funky Doodle

    Funky Doodle Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
    thx and how long i need to do stability test to be sure?
     
  19. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    few hours.
     
  20. Funky Doodle

    Funky Doodle Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
    and it's no matter what i test, dx 9,10,11 etc?
     

Share This Page