1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ATI FireGL/FireProSoftmod - Discussion Thread for new members

Discussion in 'Rivatuner Statistics Server (RTSS) Forum' started by schoko, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. feconkar

    feconkar New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd
    amd 7950, 7870xt, 7870 which one for soft mod

    i will buy a new graphic card and i know 7950 has the same chipset (tahiti pro) with firepro w8000 and also i know 7870 has the same chipset with firepro w7000(PitCairn).

    the problem is i am eager to buy 7870xt and it has tahiti LE. if i buy this card, what is your suggestion ? must i softmod it to w7000 or w8000 ?
     
  2. vluo

    vluo New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4850
    try to upgrade script to support 8.911.3.4 version

    Hi everyone,it's first time to post a reply here.
    Thanks for schoko great job to show me how to do softmod. And following your work, I tried to decompile 8.911.3.4 driver to find how to patch, and I modified the patchscript, it looks worked.
    My card(ASUS HD4850) now work as v8700 with 8.911.3.4. But I need someone to help me to do testing,whether the performance is still improved. Because my card ,looks no performance improved even under 8.723 version, maybe ASUS card can not do soft mod.

    Here is the script.It's only for HD4850. You still need to modify script and .inf for your different cards as schoko's wrote.And you can install CCC and OpenCL64 in 8.911.3.4 driver packageThey all work.

    [Common]
    SrcFile = atikmdag.sys
    BakFile = atikmdag.old
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed = 1

    ; script for win7_x64 driver 8.911.3.4

    DstVar0 = force ATI FireGL V8700 capabilities

    Src0 = B8 94 00 00 00 E8 86 5B 00 00 3B C5 74 46
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00
    Dst0 = B8 94 00 00 00 E8 F2 6D 00 00 3B C5 EB 46
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 FF

    Src1 = B1 46 38 0B 75 B4 48
    Dst1 = B1 46 88 0B 90 90 48



    Src2 = BA 2E 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 26 C7 FF FF 85 C0 0F 84 90 00 00 00
    SCM2 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst2_0 = BA 2E 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 36 BA FF FF C7 03 42 94 00 00 90 90
    DCM2 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
     
  3. Minozheros

    Minozheros New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X / 4096 mb
    Hello,
    I am new to the whole driver modding thing...
    Could anyone please explain to me the reason for the first and second part of the changes in the script?

    I Understand that the third row is swapping the ID, but why do you need the other two?

    Thanxs Mino
     
  4. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    ATI MOBILITY RADEON HD 5850 mod to firepro

    Anyone got this 100% modded for SWX? CADCAT or anyone let me know please in process of looking for one.

    what is the equiv? thanks!
     

  5. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    I'll try with my Mobility HD5870 and let you know if it worked!

    @all

    Sorry I don't have very much time lately and there were no new insights for a very long time, so we switched to real Quadro Cards which give a much better CATIA V5 Performance, even much better than real FirePros.. With other CAD/CAM Software it might be the other way round, but CATIA V5 loves nVidia.. But I still got my Notebook with ATI Card and want to run CATIA on it again, so maybe I can try around a Little in the next days and share the results with you guys..

    Greetings
     
  6. kennymoody

    kennymoody New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    V7700
    I have tested with your script for my HD3850 -> V7700 @ 8.911.3.4 win7 x64
    work fine !!
    thx so much !!
     
  7. nafan08

    nafan08 Active Member

    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5870 + 260
    Hi guys is there a way to mod the latest FirePro drivers to work on a HD7950 in windows 8 x64?
     
  8. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Mod 5850 to ? V8800? need patchscript please

    I can confirm that laptop 5850 modded decently

    firsty I used this script:

    http://forum.notebookreview.com/asu...m/500390-g73-5870-softmod-firepro-8800-a.html

    [Common]
    SrcFile = atikmdag.sys
    BakFile = atikmdag.sy_
    MakeCRC = 1
    Packed = 1

    ; script for win7_x64 driver 8.723


    ;//////////////// edit and update ...............I changed the below from v8800 to v7800/////////////////

    DstVar0 = force ATI Mobility FireGL V7800 capabilities

    /
    Src0 = B8 94 00 00 00 E8 86 5B 00 00 3B C5 74 46
    SCM0 = FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF 00
    Dst0 = B8 94 00 00 00 E8 F2 6D 00 00 3B C5 EB 46
    DCM0 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 FF

    Src1 = B1 46 38 0B 75 B4 48
    Dst1 = B1 46 88 0B 90 90 48

    Src2 = BA 2E 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 36 BA FF FF 85 C0 0F 84 88 00 00 00
    SCM2 = FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF FF
    Dst2_0 = BA 2E 00 00 00 48 8B CB E8 36 BA FF FF C7 03 A1 68 00 00 90 90
    DCM2 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 FF FF 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    red is my edit for my card

    ok so results for SW01 specview 10
    [​IMG]
    and results for my I7 desktop with HD4870 @ 8750 for comparison
    [​IMG]
    just for a victory lap here is the results with no mod
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
  9. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Update here, I spoke too soon the mod went away after a few reboots (always in test mode) nothing seems to bring it back not un-installing the drivers and re-patching fresh nothing. Any ideas welcome

    I have all the steps done the xml file the patched .sy_ etc.

    ////////////////////// edit and update /////////////

    I think the mod is working again after complete re-install, 106 fps in sw01 test.

    I followed a few details a bit closer like pressing F8 and disabling signing before using DESEO for signing, no idea really why the mod stopped working before, but seems to be working now at least for now.

    also no CCC installed. running DSEO with admin, etc.

    So to confirm 5850 modded to V7800. All I did was change the text in red
    DstVar0 = force ATI FireGL Mobility V7800 capabilities. Not sure if that is the right thing to do. Maybe its really running as 8700 since that is the patchscript.

    just an update for anyone that has struggled for days like I have. keeping fingers crossed the mod does not drop out again. Holding breath.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2014
  10. bhbilbao

    bhbilbao New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd3870@v7700
    Hi guys,

    Using windows xp 64 with fx8320-8core- , 16GB RAM. ATI HD3870 512MB.@V7700
    with the firts patch script is working. But only for the drivers version FirePro_8.633.


    Using drivers version FirePro_8.633_XP64_85569
    -SPECViewperf10 Maya Test: WFM: 254
    -OPENGL V.3.0
    -139 of 184 opengl V7700 extensions.
    -Maya: viewport2 incompatible.
    -Vue 10: incorrect texture in terrain modeler.
    -Speedtree6: no shaders, all textures black.


    Using FirePro_8.723_XP64_98789
    -SPECViewperf10 Maya Test: WFM: 51
    -OPENGL V.3.2
    -163 of 184 opengl V7700 extensions.
    -Maya: viewport2 opens
    -Vue 10: correct texture in terrain modeler.
    -Speedtree6: crashes, error with shaders.


    Using FirePro_8.85.7.3_XP64_129441 (using ati2mtag.sys patched from 8.723)
    -SPECViewperf10 Maya Test: WFM: 31
    -OPENGL V.3.2
    -163 of 184 opengl V7700 extensions.
    -Crashes.. bad.

    I need the correct patchscript for version 8.723 and xp-64 for hd3870@v7700.
    With HD3870 only works the 8.633 version. I tried all with no effort.
    Using openGL viewer with 8.723 shows advantages as opengl3.2, increased extensions and more capabilities in programs as Vue10(full support of Opengl2.1).

    Need help.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014

  11. bhbilbao

    bhbilbao New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd3870@v7700
    I made a modification of atiogl.xml for v.7.23 including last profiles.
     
  12. bhbilbao

    bhbilbao New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd3870@v7700
    Forgot the script used(this doesnt work):

    :bang:

    And this works:
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2014
  13. bhbilbao

    bhbilbao New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd3870@v7700
    Trying to make a new patchscript i see that with last code there is no DMC1 line. Why??
    And Dst1_0 should be Dst1

     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2014
  14. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    update to 5850 to 7800 mod with 7.23 drivers

    Dam dam dam...
    .
    The modded drivers worked great for a week, i checked specvief test a couple times a day. laptop not conected to internet. Did not even really use it for anything just left it on booted it up and left it on.

    The mod still says 7800, but the frame rate dropped down in specview perf 10.00 test SW01 test 37 fps again..... no more 104 fps anymore.

    nothing I mean nothingg seams to be able to get the card to show the modded frame rates again.. I uninstalled drivers reboot, disable device sign, dseo program all of it nothing brings it back..

    what is causing this ? Is windows doing some kind of check? Maybe a SR2 security update of some type? again I have done nothing on this computer,no updates etc recently, very clean install just boots without the mod working suddenly

    Shocko, Gellmar, CADCAT anyone got an idea?

    I have the drive cloned so I just over write the hard drive with a cloned version and its back to before the drivers un-modded themselves. but its not the best way to fix it, considering it might do this quite frequently.

    Thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2014
  15. bhbilbao

    bhbilbao New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd3870@v7700
    Is this thread dead??

    I bought a HD4890 1GB DDR5 OVERCLOCKED for softmod to FIREGL 8750.
    The HD4890 uses RV790XT and the FIREPRO8750 RV770XT, the other diference is the 2GB vram of firepro, but the HD4890 is superior.

    Trying a script for FireGL driver 8.723 _ win xp_x64(no windows seven)

    Results:
    Using FirePro_8.723_XP64_98789
    -SPECViewperf10 Maya Test: WFM: 55
    -OPENGL V.3.2
    -Shader model vs_3, ps_3 ¿?
    -165 of 184 opengl V8750 extensions.(the v8700 uses 185 extensions)
    -Maya: viewport2 opens
    -Vue 10: correct texture in terrain modeler.(Opengl.2.1+ shader model 4)
    -Speedtree7 trial: not opens ¿?.

    I see that there are 2 options for XP 64.
    -Drivers 8.633, gain up to 250frames and loose opengl and shader model extensions.
    -Drivers 8.723, loose down to 50frames but gain opengl features in programs.

    Is that, or use Windows7.

    PLEASE SOMEONE WITH A PATCH FOR WINDOWS XP64.
     

  16. bhbilbao

    bhbilbao New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd3870@v7700
    SPECViewperf10.0 x64 Multithread (1280x1024)
    Viewset=Composite=4 thread
    3dsmax-04- 52.44
    catia-02 - 54.19
    maya-02 - 76.63
    proe-04 - 35.61
    sw-01 - 75.88
    tcvis-01 - 20.09
     
  17. SimpleCAD

    SimpleCAD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 2GB HD4870
    Just wondering if you connected an additional monitor after your original tests?
    I have found that I get great SpecView results with 1 monitor connected. When I add a second monitor the performance drops back to a standard HD4870.
     
  18. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    thanks not using a second monitor. But I think I am making progress turning off any power management on the laptop seems to help, all setting when on battery set to maximum performance and ATI power management turned off .

    and another thing when rebooting to the other partition that does not have modded drivers I am doing a full shutdown and battery removal, then boot up which might be clearing RAM on the video card,? prior to reboot.

    Occasionally I get 75 frames per sec versus 105 on specviewperf 10 after reboot but I completely power down and remove battery then the results return to 105.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2014
  19. alex87alex

    alex87alex New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati 4870 512mb
    Hi all, this thread is very useful! Thank you all!

    I want to mod my Ati Mobility Radeon HD 3430. I saw it has VR620 chip, corresponds to FirePro v3700. I have a problem with patchscript.. I cannot find it for Win7 64bit, only for WinXp 64bit. Someone can help me?
     
  20. ilhan805

    ilhan805 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    hd5850
    Hi,
    I will directly go into my primary concern. I don not want you to read long sentences for all day here.

    (((For soft modding, the main trick is "patch script" as I understand right? But as far as I know, only a few people can make it work. I followed topics up to 2003, scaned a lot of threads, fllowed all the links given. Search the issue from extarnal sources like [.u.r.l.].h.t.t.p.:././.w.w.w...r.a.g.e.3.d...c.o.m.[./.u.r.l.]. .(.2.0.0.3.). and finally stoped at .[.u.r.l.].h.t.t.p.:././.n.v.w.o.r.l.d...r.u./.f.i.l.e.s./.o.l.d./.d.o.c.s./.s.f.g.l...h.t.m.l.[./.u.r.l.]. which is Unwinder's article. I stoped because there is no information about how to make patch scripts even at this article.)))

    Would you give some clue, tip, tool, link or tutorial about how to make it work? I think there would be a good reason that you did not explain it up to now. But I want it for myself so all the responsiblty will be mine. I am an avarage pc user but I have time for this stuff. I think may be I can learn it with hard working

    Thank you for your time.
     

Share This Page