ATI FireGL/FireProSoftmod - Discussion Thread for new members

Discussion in 'Rivatuner Statistics Server (RTSS) Forum' started by schoko, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. CADCAT

    CADCAT Master Guru

    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Mobility HD5870 1GB GDDR5
    @eniac

    I cannot write pm to you as you blocked it..??

    @terrablader

    I'm talking about using patched atikmdag.sys from 8.723 driver with newer drivers.. It works with my Mobility HD5870 and the scores in ViewPerf are good.. And I assume, if it works with HD5xxx series then it works with HD6xxx series too..

    FirePro cards:

    AMD FirePro V5900 (Cayman, 512 SPs, 128-Bit-Interface, 2 GB GDDR5-Speicher mit 2000 MHz, 2 DisplayPort)
    AMD FirePro V7900 (Cayman, 1280 SPs, 256-Bit-Interface, 2 GB GDDR5-Speicher mit 2500 MHz, 4 DisplayPort)
     
  2. juodvarnis

    juodvarnis Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    mobility radeon hd 5650
    @cadcat, i can make You a donation of one beer ;)

    can you send me your files you are using: modded ati2mtag.sys and .inf file? as i have 5650 mobile radeon, or just share the script and tell which line to edit for 5xxx card
    i am using drivers form my notebooks webpage its 8.771, as i used 8.930 and 8.95 and its performance is slower and has some annoying bugs

    p.s. i work with 3dsmax and hope it will help to increase wireframe performance
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012
  3. Chapa75

    Chapa75 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 460
    Please tell me whether the following modes can be obtained 10 bit displayport or DualDVI connection? (Dell 3011). If possible, please tell me on what models it is possible?
    It is for this reason I am interested in Firepro.

    BTW, Is it possible to convert 7970 into any modification Firepro?

    Thanks in advance for lyuye answers!
     
  4. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    messaging was turned off don't know why, its on now. thanks
     

  5. SimpleCAD

    SimpleCAD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 2GB HD4870
    Hope someone can help!!
    I have "successfully" modded a HD4870 using 8.72 drivers and also got slightly better performance again using 8.83 drivers and 8.72 ati2mtag.sys. (I have tested with Specviewperf 11)
    When I install drivers and reboot only one monitor is active. (Everything works fine!)
    However, if I select the second monitor (or reboot) then the performance improvements are gone.
    I use driver sweeper (in safe mode) to delete all old ATI 'junk' before installing drivers. I have then gone into registry and found more references to ATI and deleted them too!
    The modded performance is great! Viewperf 11.0 results, (1920x1080, snx-01) goes from about 10 to 22.89!
    How do I keep this great performance?
    (I am still using XP64. The graphics card is a 2GB version of HD4870. CPU is Xeon W3520)
    Thanks in advance!
     
  6. SimpleCAD

    SimpleCAD Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Saphire 2GB HD4870
    Just to add to my last post. I have realised that FirePro performance on the HD4870 is maintained as long as I only have one monitor switched on.
    As soon as I attach the second monitor the performance drops back. All I have to do is unattach the 2nd monitor and the performance returns?
    I am using the DVI and DSUB outputs on the graphics card. (It doesn't matter which monitor I have on as long as it is only one.)
    Any suggestions appreciated.
     
  7. PeterB

    PeterB New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit HD4870x2
    Hi, how are you?

    I´m trying make the soft mod to my HD 4870 X2 to firepro, but my SO (xp64 o W7 x64) not recognized it.

    the single core HD 4870 have a chipset name RV770 the same from firepro v8700, but my HD 4870 X2 have this name R700.

    I do not know if it really does not work for this, can anyone help?

    thanks
     
  8. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    hi Cadcat, did you ever send me your PM? i will PM you.
     
  9. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    can anyone confirm that a Sapphire Radeon HD 5870 will mod correctly 100%?
    how about 6XXX?

    Thanks
     
  10. NumNut

    NumNut New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6950 2GB
    @terrablader
    The 6*** series seems to be a pipe dream, along with the 5870.
    Now we have the 7*** series cards out.
    Seems to be a never ending upgrade (i.e. 'catchup') as usual.

    I am still waiting to finally turn my (now ancient) 6950 card into a 7900 FirePro via Bios Flash. Unfortunately, I am no Patch-Maestro.

    However, having said that; the HD7970 Radeon card has fantastic scores. Even the new W FirePros struggle to stay on top.
     

  11. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    thanks i purchased probably my last HD4870, this one has the 2TB version, X1not X2, $100, I know thats probably x3 what it should cost but needed to get another 1GB of ram for large assemblies in SWX.

    so even the 5XXX have problems moddding? CADCAT you modded up right? or is it kind of a half mod like allot of poeple post about Quadro mods..

    Yea I am afraid to to pull the trigger on anything newer than 4870 untill our mod Saints come up with a dedicated script for a newer card.. Its been years now, has it been difficult to mod the cards now or is there just nobody that has the time to work on it?
     
  12. CAD

    CAD New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon HD 7770 1GB
    I am looking into softmodding my Radeon HD 7770 but I am having trouble finding which is the equivalent FirePro/fireGL to the 7770. does anyone have any ideas?
     
  13. vegeta098

    vegeta098 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Toxic HD4850
    Hello!

    I softmodded my HD4850. I followed all the steps listed in the first page of this topic. The card showed up as FirePro v8700 and everything seemed to be just fine. The problem is that in SolidWorks I can't switch to RealView feature. What's more - Viewport fps rate is now worse than stock hd4850 :O Also, when I'm trying to start OpenGL test in Cinebench 11.5, it says that my card "does not support the required features for this test". What is wrong? Please help me ;/

    Sorry for my bad English.
     
  14. verlovero

    verlovero New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD ATI RADEON 5970 2gb
    Hi, I´m new in softmod, I have a Radeon 5970 with 2gb, and i´ve got problems with render performance in after effects and maya. which is the driver that i need to convert to one fire pro and the way to do it. Thanks and forgive my bad english please.
     
  15. fliscas

    fliscas New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    shapire hd 4890
    hd4890 to fireprov8700 ?

    hi.
    can anyone say if hd4890 can be softmoded to fireprov8700 (or anything else that solidworks can use) and how ?

    device id 9460 pachscript ?

    Driver Packaging Version: 8.97.100.3-120703a-145534C-ATI (8.970.100.3000)
     

  16. raptop

    raptop New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 5670
    Hey sorry for noobing it up, but i have a question about softmodding am i am just learning how it works.

    I am confused about the many models of cards that utilise the same gpu.
    For instance, from information ive gotten from http://www.techarp.com/showarticle.aspx?artno=88&pgno=1 i can see that Radeon HD 7970 and HD 8970 both utilise the Tahiti XT GPU, and am wondering if a similar process would work to upgrade a HD 7970 to a 8970.
    (this is hypothetical, i dont own a HD7970).
    If so, and i have a HD 7970 and used the softmod process to softmod to the firepro equivalent (W9000), using the W9000 driver, would the firepro driver be updated to unlock the potential of the Tahiti XT, thus giving me gaming performance similar to the HD 8970? or am i thinking about this all wrong?
    Thanks in advance
     
  17. fliscas

    fliscas New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    shapire hd 4890
    hd 4890 softmod

    could you please be more specific?! i really wanted to try that on mine and i cant find the files nor the method (getting really confused).
    is it really working ?! can you please describe all the steps in general?! :)
    thank you.
     
  18. Odiriuss

    Odiriuss New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 6990
    Hi guys,

    i was searching through the thread and i saw in one place that a Radeon 6990 can't be softmoded,but since CADCAT says here that it can be i was wondering if someone was able to do it?

    Thx in advance!
     
  19. Odiriuss

    Odiriuss New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 6990
    Radeon 6990 softmod

    Hello guys,

    just want to know has anything changed regarding this?I have a radeon 6990 and wondered if it could be softmoded?

    Thx in advance
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2013
  20. terrablader

    terrablader Master Guru

    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870,HD2900XT,HD4350
    Yes! any news? The 4870 is something like 5 years old now. We are wayyyy behind the curve now. Is there any hope in modding something up to date. Is it over?? !??!? :(
     

Share This Page