ATI Catalyst 9.4 driver Download and Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Decane, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. tommcd64

    tommcd64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadfire 2 4870 X2's
    I had to manually install with windows 7 as well. I used the 303 one and it worked fine after that.
     
  2. rogue221979

    rogue221979 Master Guru

    Messages:
    643
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 3090 GTX
    It does work you just have to create a profile before you edit the xml file. Just create one, but dont modify it at all and. Aslong as you see a profile folder in users/yourname/local/ati/ace

    Then you edit the profile.xml in the ace folder and restart. Then you can delete the profile and the cores will run at whatever you set them too default. Mine are 300 core and ram, temps at a nice 29c at idle.

    Its a pain the ass of course but atleased you dont have to run a game everytime you fire up your computer, and can feel safe if someone else in your house is using your pc and your GPU isnt frying while they use microsoft word.

    Again, manually edit the xml file dont even bother with the profile.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2009
  3. drouge

    drouge Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x HIS HD5970
    Same problem for me, Win7 x64 build 7077, 2 4870x2's. Manual install doesn't work with 9.4 with this setup. Please fill in your system specs under your avatar.

    Are you using win7 x64 build 7077? And which driver did you choose, the digital signed driver or the authentication certificate driver?
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2009
  4. tamzid

    tamzid Master Guru

    Messages:
    776
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    His iceq4 turbo 4850 512
    my temps are like 10` higher.... anyone else had the same issue????????????//
     

  5. Aost

    Aost New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4830
    Just installed on two computers with the same GPU (4830)

    Temps rose slightly on idle (2-4'C higher). Idle on one comp is 37-39'C, other 41-42'C.

    Installed drivers only. Is there a setting in Catalyst Control Center that might lower them back?
     
  6. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,926
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    Im getting weird smoke effects in CODWAW with these drivers... at first I thought it was because I had not patched the game but I installed all patches right up to the new 1.4 patch and still I am getting weird smoke effects in the game, such as fire, and when shooting the shotguns instead of their being a blast at the end of the gun their is a large black circle that flashes... anyone else getting this or do I have to reinstall WAW? or revert back to the horrid 9.3 drivers.
     
  7. PaulvH

    PaulvH Member Guru

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x XFX HD5870 H²O-EK CF
    I can't even START CoD5-WaW. It crashes if I try to start it. It did work with 9.3. Going to try to re-install ... (have little hope of succes though, ... I have lost every bit of believe in ATI that they will EVER provide a bug-free driver for the X2.)
    (this is with Xp-32)
    <update>
    Ok, re-installing helped. I can run WaW again, but the smoke looks odd indeed.
     
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2009
  8. madlax

    madlax Master Guru

    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX GX-295N-HWFC
    Bad drivers for me. CCC wont start up in Windows 7 (running the latest 7077 RC Escrow build) and I wasnt able to overclock on RivaTuner 2.24 at all. Back to 9.3...
     
  9. Paulo Narciso

    Paulo Narciso Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    Too bad it won't fix the flickering when advanced shadows are set in dx10 options.
     
  10. buddyfriendo

    buddyfriendo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,402
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Drivers seem good here, except for the crappy new overdrive that takes twice as long and has the same outcome for me (790/990). Though with my new rig in Windows 7 I did lose a few FPS on source, but gained a bit in FC2 compared to Vista (minium was 52, average 78, now the minimum is 58 and the average 80).

    Oddly enough 9.4 on Vista the drivers aren't WHQL'd, but on Windows 7 they are. Very strange. I also had to use the device manager to install the new display drivers as the installer didn't even show them. :confused:

    Running the same build you are, 7077 x64.
     

  11. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    Thats a known problem though, was the same thing before they got dx9 tweaked out..same thing on Nvidia I'm told ( the wierd following of shadows that is :x )

    Anyway I went back to 9.2.. 9.4 was a quite bad driver all in all.
     
  12. p1rategx

    p1rategx Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD4850 512MB
  13. BattleStar

    BattleStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus EAH4870 DK/HTDI/512
    I tried the new autotune in cat 9.4 and i almost fell of the chair when it suggested i should run my 4870 at 890/1190 (default is 750/900). I don't think it is possible to run with those high clocks so this is probably a bug.
     
  14. BattleStar

    BattleStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus EAH4870 DK/HTDI/512
    Did some testing and 810/1000 is stable. At 820 i get artifacts and at 840 it freezes when running 3dmark. So much for autotune.
     
  15. rflair

    rflair Don Commisso Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,176
    Likes Received:
    492
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Ati's autotune has never been any good.

    Use ATITool, it has a built in artifact tester that works very good. Let the cube spin for a couple of minutes to warm up the card and then hit 'scan for artifacts', 20 minutes of scanning is usually enough.
     

  16. ForgedReality

    ForgedReality Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
    I went back to 9.3. For whatever reason, 9.4 runs a little hotter, even at idle (after fixing the powerplay bug on reboot). It was causing issues with GRID, but I didn't test it with too much other stuff. I really just wish they'd ****ing fix the powerplay bug because it's a giant pain in the ass.

    edit - rflair: I just tried ATITool and it doesn't seem to work for me. It loads up, and puts the icon in the systray, but I can't get a gui or even right-click menu to show up. It is doing something though, because it slows my system response way down, and when I look at the task manager, I see it's bogging down my third cpu core, which is ridiculous. I have to end-task it to get it to stfu. Here's what it looks like:
    [​IMG]

    Dunno. Sorry for the off-topicness.

    XP Pro SP3
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2009
  17. MrBozack

    MrBozack Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7850OC Windforce
    Windows 7 x64 7077 here.

    Everything running nicely. No video problems, no graphics corruption. Performance is great.


    If anyone want's a quick fix for World of Warcraft's shadows: Uninstall and install GW.exe
     
  18. MetalFlake

    MetalFlake Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus HD4870 512mb
    Cant install 9.4 driver on win7 x64 7077 fresh install, only ccc installs? tried to install just driver alone but it didnt install.
     
  19. dabooga

    dabooga Master Guru

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X
    so these arent compatible with AGP?!?!?!?!
     
  20. El3ctro

    El3ctro Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SapphireHD4890@960\4675
    where are some moded drivers ?? are they wating for 9.5 ?? or what ??????
     

Share This Page