ATI Catalyst 9.2 XP|Vista Driver Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by v4npro, Feb 20, 2009.

  1. vurt

    vurt Master Guru

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    What a joke of a driver. The temperature stays at 75c which is like 30c more than i usualy have, it probably stays in 3D-mode (entering and exiting a 3D-game doesnt put it back into 2D, i've checked twice). STALKER Clear Sky runs @ 1-2 FPS, totaly unplayable and even though the setting is 1680x1050 on both my desktop and in the game i can tell it's not running at that res, it doesnt look like the native res because it's way too "smeary" or washed out, that look a game gets when its not in native resolution. ATI can never do anything right :puke2:
     
  2. Cobrass2

    Cobrass2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Suprim X
    I have noticed one thing,

    With 8.12 Gta 4 hotfix 1( no multi core support )

    I had a benchmark score of 59 FPS avarage

    With 8.12 hotfix 2 ( multi core support )
    I had 48 fps Avarage... So i rolled back to hotfix 1

    Now 9.1 i had 59 fps averege same fps as 8.12 HF 1 etc..

    With 9.2 and again with multi core support my fps decreased to 48

    HMmmm, any solutions?
     
  3. pekka

    pekka Master Guru

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
    this is my latest FC2 bench with 9.2

    Run 1
    Settings: Demo(Ranch Small), 1360x768 (60Hz), D3D10, Fixed Time Step(No), Disable Artificial Intelligence(No), Full Screen, Anti-Aliasing(None), VSync(No), Overall Quality(Optimal), Vegetation(Very High), Shading(Very High), Terrain(Very High), Geometry(Very High), Post FX(High), Texture(Very High), Shadow(Very High), Ambient(High), Hdr(Yes), Bloom(Yes), Fire(Very High), Physics(Very High), RealTrees(Very High)
    Loop 1

    * Total Frames: 2915, Total Time: 51,00s
    * Average Framerate: 57,16
    * Max. Framerate: 90,02 (Frame:469, 6,73s)
    * Min. Framerate: 37,08 (Frame:1936, 34,35s)

    SVG not loaded!
    View larger version
    Loop 2

    * Total Frames: 2572, Total Time: 51,01s
    * Average Framerate: 50,42
    * Max. Framerate: 88,51 (Frame:480, 6,93s)
    * Min. Framerate: 28,67 (Frame:1811, 33,96s)

    SVG not loaded!
    View larger version
    Loop 3

    * Total Frames: 2206, Total Time: 51,00s
    * Average Framerate: 43,25
    * Max. Framerate: 87,80 (Frame:429, 6,39s)
    * Min. Framerate: 26,22 (Frame:1541, 33,09s)

    SVG not loaded!
    View larger version
    Average Results

    * Average Framerate: 50,27
    * Max. Framerate: 87,78
    * Min. Framerate: 31,37

    ...........................................................

    Run 2
    Settings: Demo(Ranch Small), 1360x768 (60Hz), D3D10, Fixed Time Step(No), Disable Artificial Intelligence(No), Full Screen, Anti-Aliasing(None), VSync(No), Overall Quality(Optimal), Vegetation(Very High), Shading(Very High), Terrain(Very High), Geometry(Very High), Post FX(High), Texture(Very High), Shadow(Very High), Ambient(High), Hdr(Yes), Bloom(Yes), Fire(Very High), Physics(Very High), RealTrees(Very High)
    Loop 1

    * Total Frames: 2064, Total Time: 51,02s
    * Average Framerate: 40,46
    * Max. Framerate: 67,15 (Frame:382, 7,08s)
    * Min. Framerate: 26,49 (Frame:1440, 34,27s)

    SVG not loaded!
    View larger version
    Loop 2

    * Total Frames: 1944, Total Time: 51,05s
    * Average Framerate: 38,08
    * Max. Framerate: 65,07 (Frame:364, 6,73s)
    * Min. Framerate: 22,65 (Frame:1362, 34,48s)

    SVG not loaded!
    View larger version
    Loop 3

    * Total Frames: 1900, Total Time: 51,02s
    * Average Framerate: 37,24
    * Max. Framerate: 60,44 (Frame:312, 6,13s)
    * Min. Framerate: 21,84 (Frame:1332, 35,49s)

    SVG not loaded!
    View larger version
    Average Results

    * Average Framerate: 38,59
    * Max. Framerate: 63,27
    * Min. Framerate: 24,14


    well it is better than 9.1´s

    GTA IV and others still to come

    FEAR 2 i have to fraps to get some results
     
  4. cl0k

    cl0k Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 6970
    someone can help :S:wanker::wanker:
     

  5. X7007

    X7007 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,725
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    Sapphire 6900XT
    Ye, Manual Fan Control doesn't work, just leave it on Auto unselected. Or use Rivatuner thats the only possible way.
     
  6. pekka

    pekka Master Guru

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
    manual fan control works for me vista 64 and 9.2´s
     
  7. nilo

    nilo Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 Ti
    Between 8.11 and 8.12/9.1/9.2, do u think is it worth to try a fresh install of Vista x64?

    Is there any real and notice improvements to install for instance 8.12/9.1/9.2 driver sets ? In games like Crysis, Grid, Fracry2 or COD4/5, and so on...?

    I've been reading a lot that 9.1/9.2 gives a lot of trouble in installation and in some games!!!!!

    Dunno known what to do sincerely...it will give a lot of work...to install everything again!!!!

    Aaaaaarrrgghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  8. rflair

    rflair Don Coleus Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    795
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Drivers work great here.

    I have not run a Crossfire/SLI system in years, thank God, to many inherent problems with them, but people saying I'm leaving ATI (Crossfire) to go back to Nvidia (single card), don't you think single card ATI would resolve your problem also? Just saying this cause if you visit the Nvidia forums, here and elsewhere you would see the GTX295 (SLI) is having way more issues.
     
  9. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,778
    Likes Received:
    1,138
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 ULTR/HYBR
    I used Driver Sweepe 2.0b when I installed 9.2 and haven't had any problems. Here are the steps I use:

    1. Select 'ATI Catalyst Install Manager' from 'Programs and Features' and uninstall all ATI features, including Install Manager.

    2. Delete one ATI folder off of C:\, two ATI folders from C:\Program Files and one ATI folder from C:\Program Files (x86).

    3. Run DS 2.0b

    4. Reboot into Safe Mode and run Wise Registry Cleaner and CCleaner or something similar. I run DS again for no particular reason.

    5. Reboot and install 9.2. Works for me with zero problems. Just like loading ATI CCC drivers for the first time after a clean install. I know other people will say it's not necessary, but it's the way I've always done it and if it ain't broke don't fix it.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  10. TDurden

    TDurden Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390 Nitro
    So can anyone else confirm or den Crysis Warhead DX10 is not working with Vista64/HD3870???
    It crashes when loading, computer stops responding, have to manually press reset button.
    I WAS WAITING for warhead drivers with promised multicore optimizations for a few months and now THIS.
     

  11. Pyr0

    Pyr0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    no problems at all running 2560x1600 *shrug*

    nope, running just fine here in dx10 64bit mode

    apart from the powerplay bug (which is easily worked around), these do seem like quite nice drivers so far
     
  12. densou

    densou Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070 Ti Mini
    :3eyes: does Mobility Modder work with 9.2 ? I already tried (as I do every month since I bought my laptop - cat 7.12 for noticing) but ATI's setup didn't install Display Driver. That's odd, it's the FIRST time who happened that to me. I re-downloaded 9.2 after thinking "maybe it was a corrupted file" or whatsoever ....

    Why do people continue to use Driver Sweeper when ATI provided us a good package manager ? :nerd: of course I mean when switching between official releases not between official and 3rd party drivers (dna, etc) or viceversa :)

    are there any Mobility Users ? :p :banana: (HD 2300 + Vista hp 32)
     
  13. Funky Doodle

    Funky Doodle Master Guru

    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte ATI HD 5830 1GB
    have no problems with 9.2 so far, some games runs stable like gta 4, mirror's edge, mby faster, dunno! I'm curious about crysis warhead, but need crack for 1.1 ver.(vista 64)
     
  14. PuddingWagon

    PuddingWagon Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 670
    Installed directly over 9.1's and it worked just fine. Everything is still running without glitches and fast as always. Rivatuner's fan control still works without having to reset anything too.
     
  15. nilo

    nilo Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 Ti
    tried to install again 9.0's

    I have done this:

    1. Select 'ATI Catalyst Install Manager' from 'Programs and Features' and uninstall all ATI features, including Install Manager.

    2. Delete one ATI folder off of C:\, two ATI folders from C:\Program Files and one ATI folder from C:\Program Files (x86).

    3. Run DS 2.0b

    4. Reboot into Safe Mode and run Wise Registry Cleaner and CCleaner or something similar. Run DS again.

    5. Reboot and install 9.2.

    After rebooting, my monitor keeps annoyingly flashing.

    Why???? Aaaaarrrrghhhhh!!!

    Had to roll back to 8.11's. Everything is fine.

    I don't know what to do more to solve this stupid thing!!!!
     

  16. IM0001

    IM0001 Master Guru

    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY 780 GTX

    Is it flashing while also doing a Hardware Detected/Removed sound? I got the same problem installing the 9.1's in Quad Crossfire. Try this while you on the 8.11's..

    Install the 8.12's... Right on top of the 11's Reboot.
    Then install 9.1's.. Reboot.
    Then try the 9.2's
    Reboot..

    Do not run driver sweeper and delete your known working driver when Updating drivers. Only do that when rolling back.

    Also whats with the reg cleaner? I have never needed to use one nor have I seen one that actually works right anyway. (Reg errors on a fresh install of Windows... Hmm.)
     
  17. kapo

    kapo Master Guru

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
    I did a format a couple weeks ago and it fixed the problem. This is probably the only solution that is going to work for you sorry to say. If they haven't fixed it by now it might be safe to assume that they never will, or it isn't a specific driver problem to begin with. Yeah i know 8.11 and all the drivers before it work fine I can't explain it. I don't know what causes it I'm just glad to be rid of it.

    As for this new driver I have not tried it yet. I'm not seeing an overwhelming amount of praise for it though so I think i'll stick with the 8.12 hotfix which has turned out to be a very solid driver, 9.1 crashed way too much for me.
     
  18. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    Jesus, all that to update a driver.....
     
  19. pekka

    pekka Master Guru

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX580twin frozr PE
    well i have the wierd Crysis warhead problem it doesn't´t load to menu it starts level1 and it is like it´s benchmarking it buts till not!


    so why come every time i start the game it loads a level and then i fly i can´t control the character but i can fire and that is that W.I.E.R.D project ****up
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2009
  20. nilo

    nilo Member Guru

    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 Ti
    i cannot even get 8.12, 9.1 or 9.2. drivers installed successfully.

    after rebooting, my monitor SAMSUNG 2493HM keeps always flashing,
    but i'll try ur suggestion.
    to 8.12's, do u mean the hotfix, no?

    thanks.
     

Share This Page