ATI Catalyst 6.5 Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, May 24, 2006.


  1. Im not sure. I have never used it before and I use ATI TOOL because you can adjust the voltages and such.

    Its a wierd problem as you can still overclock but as soon as a video file plays then your screwed because the clocks go right back down again. Its really frustrating to say the least.
     
  2. tommcd64

    tommcd64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadfire 2 4870 X2's
    I can confirm this downclocking problem. I never noticed but was this an issue in 6.3?
     

  3. Nope not at all. I am back on 6.3's and all is well. There is also a thread on this problem at Overclockers.com
     
  4. I hope there is a fix soon because I would really love to use the 6.5's.
     

  5. Jimi-101

    Jimi-101 Member Guru

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor X1900 CF Edition
    I was using ATITool with the 6.5 betas and it worked fine, see if you get the downclocking problem with the 6.5 betas.
     

  6. It does it with both the official 6.5's and the beta's. Even with the 6.5 chuckpatch.

    Leave ATI TOOL up and then go run a MPG or AVI video file and see if you dont get the downclock. Its annoying because any game that uses a video file causes the downclocking.
     
  7. Jimi-101

    Jimi-101 Member Guru

    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Powercolor X1900 CF Edition
    You must be doing something wrong then 'cause ATITool worked fine for me with the 6.5 betas.
     
  8. glutto

    glutto Master Guru

    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    None of my overclock settings stick with ATT.
    I'll just sweat it out.
     
  9. Infested Nexus

    Infested Nexus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,782
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon™ HD 8850M
    Mobility Catalyst 6.5
     
  10. liquid2004

    liquid2004 Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire x1900xt (710/780)
    HDR+AA isn't working in oblivion with catalyst 6.5 although they said it would be possible,can i install the chuck patch above 6.5 or that way i'm switching back to 6.3's.
     


  11. Im not doing anything wrong and like I said I am not the only person to have this to happen too. And im not stating that ATI Tool does not work with the 6.5's, sure you can overclock but as soon as any video file MPG, or AVI loads up and plays its right back down to default settings again and bye bye overclock.

    Try opening up ATI TOOL and overclocking, leave the utility up and go play a MPG or AVI video and watch it drop.


    With the 6.3's everything is just fine again.
     
  12. dogan

    dogan Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 6800

  13. There is a new chuck patch for the 6.5's.
     
  14. liquid2004

    liquid2004 Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire x1900xt (710/780)
    whats the direct link for the chuck patch for the 6.5's,i cannot find it
     

  15. liquid2004

    liquid2004 Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire x1900xt (710/780)
    geez thanx,you're really fast here
     

  16. No prob bud.:)
     
  17. tommcd64

    tommcd64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadfire 2 4870 X2's
    I tried it with the 6.5 beta chuck patch and I get the same problem. Went back to 6.3 and the problem went away.
     

  18. See what I mean now? its crazy isnt it?! dang I hope this gets fixed!
     
  19. ROBSCIX

    ROBSCIX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,241
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    22" LCD on GTX260 C216
    So are alot of guys having issue with games? is that what I am to understand? Does anybody notice increase in gaming performance? do they seem to work better for anybody?
     

Share This Page