ATi Catalyst 10.9a Hotfix Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Sep 15, 2010.

Tags:
  1. pjokerxp

    pjokerxp Banned

    Messages:
    652
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GeForce GTX 680 2GB
    this is POWERPLAY by windows

    but in real life... the #2 gpu is back to normal!

    even if you see it stuck... it is not.
    but this is powersaving future and not a big issue as its not an issue!
     
  2. MISMCSA

    MISMCSA Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 6870 1GB
    How do you do this?
     
  3. MISMCSA

    MISMCSA Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 6870 1GB
    Has anyone notice a decrease in temperatures with the 10.9a drivers?
     
  4. sanel

    sanel Member Guru

    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6850 Cycl 1gb @ 940, 1200
    i just installed the drivers, and am really suprised i read so many complaints about them..

    i just tested a few games, and these drivers are fantastic.. and the youtube videos are looking like 5x better with all the default driver settings..
    and it even fixed some bugs i had from 10.5

    thumbs up great performance
     

  5. SashaX

    SashaX Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX TITAN @ 1150 MHz
    I agree, 10.9a Hotfix are great drivers.
    Everything works flawlessly.
     
  6. Eastcoasthandle

    Eastcoasthandle Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,081
    Likes Received:
    601
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    It pays to not believe everything you read in situations like this and try it for yourself.
     
  7. Psychlone

    Psychlone Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon HD5970 Engineering
    Sorry for coming across that way, Mitzi...it's not really always the case that it's user error, but nonetheless, still accounts for most of the problems that people have.

    I've been keeping up on these threads, even though they pretty much all end up the same; people with problems and people without.

    I've been trying to establish some sort of common denominator in all the systems with problems and can't put my finger on it... Really, the only thing that is in common between us all (w/ problems, w/o problems), is US, the users.

    Now, there's no way that means that you've done anything incorrectly...
    How have you installed the last 10 driver sets? Has it always been done the same way? Or did one of them screw up and forced you to uninstall/DriverCleaner/DriverSweeper or ??
    How old is your Windows install? Is there a chance you've got a spare HDD that you can install Windows on from a format and try the Cats just to test? That would rule out OS problems and user error all in one shot.

    The only way to get to the bottom of most of these problems is to troubleshoot them. Rolling back to an earlier release isn't really good troubleshooting for these kinds of things...but having a fresh, clean OS with no previous drivers *is* good troubleshooting, and can certainly rule out more than a couple things all at once.


    Anyway, again, sorry for coming across as "It's all user error" - there's certainly more to it than that.

    Psychlone
     
  8. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,070
    Likes Received:
    583
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Can anyone with Star Wars: The Force Unleashed see if they can force AA in this game with these drivers please?

    Prior to 10.8 I could use RadeonPro's Brothers in Arms: Hell's Highway AA compatibility setting to force AA via a profile or, alternatively, renaming SWTFU.exe to BiAHH.exe and forcing AA through the CCC had the same effect.

    With the 10.8 and 10.9 drivers though I am unable to do it. All I get is a silhouette and some surreal, smeary visuals which renders the game completely unplayable. Disable AA and the game works fine again. I am unable to force AA not even with any of the other AA profiles in RadeonPro. Why would ATI change that?
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  9. nick0323

    nick0323 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,004
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Asus DUAL RTX2060S
    I feel for you x2 guys.

    I hope they don't do this silly hotfix all the time just for the x2 cards...they done that for the people who used the AGP cards...primarily the HD3850PRO.
     
  10. FDisk

    FDisk Master Guru

    Messages:
    766
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX970 OC 4GB
    Anyone else having trouble with 10.9a and overclocking?
    I used to run my Sapphire HD5770 with Asus BIOS at 1005Mhz Core, 1445Mhz memory with 1.250v
    Furmark test was running with no problems.

    Now with 10.9a Furmark suddenly freezes with those configurations.
    At first I thought it might be the memory so I set it to default 1200Mhz and left the Core at 1005Mhz, ran Furmark and it still failed. :bang:

    Then I set the memory clock back to 1445Mhz and dropped the Core clock to the default value. 850Mhz. Furmark passed with no problems.

    I then increased the core clock until Furmark crashed again. The best I can now get is 985Mhz Core and 1445Mhz Memory.

    What the hell happened? I lost 20Mhz on Core with 10.9a.
    From what I understand Furmark is all OpenGL, did they change something drastic with OpenGL in 10.9a that could cause this? :3eyes:
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010

  11. phobus666

    phobus666 Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5870 @ SM P2450h
    When I installed them (10.9a) My BFBC2 crashed like 3 time in row , them I installed application profile 10.9 and since then didn't crash. Don't know if application profile is included in drivers itself but after I install it it runs nice. The loading time its same for me as it was with 10.5a.
    I am happy with them and they are keepers for me.

    Win 7 64bit , ATI 5870 , Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.7 Ghz.
     
  12. Indeo

    Indeo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 5970@950\1200 + GT240
    I've chosen to keep 10.9 WHQL instead of this one. It did some weird stuff to clocks - they randomly hanged either in 2D or 3D mode, sometimes on startup, sometimes just on a monitoring graphs, sometimes for real... With WHQL AB still says that my second GPU is in 3D mode on system boot, but that is not true, according to temps and power usage.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  13. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,070
    Likes Received:
    583
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    1. Go the folder the drivers are extracted to
    2. Open the Config folder
    3. Double-click on the InstallManager.cfg file
    4. Change the line that read:
    ShowUpdate=false
    to
    ShowUpdate=true
    5. Save file and exit

    Now when you run the installer you'll be given an extra option Update.
     
  14. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Tried these and they also cause a hard system freeze when trying to launch RUSE. Back to 10.5a again :( Come on ATI I actually would like to use 10.9 as they run well in other games but I'm addicted to RUSE.

    Btw all there is a benchmark in RUSE, the game is uber hard on the system on max settings luckily I can force crossfire on with Radeon pro using the AFR friendly profile.
     
  15. mangaroo

    mangaroo Master Guru

    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    780 GTX Ti SC
    so can i put in my +1 for a new twitter request or something? trying to claw our way back to mainstream until 28nm :)
     

  16. mitzi76

    mitzi76 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    MSI 970 (Gaming)
    well what i do is run driver cleaner when changing drivers (it cleans registry as well). perhaps that could be the issue.

    i usually save the driver to my main drive in say the x86 folder. when i let a few auto-install the screen would go black and then i would have to switch off manually. when i choose the folder and destination the driver installs fine.

    in regards to your ideas though that spare hd and doing a os install might be a good idea. didnt think of that :)

    am tempted to try windows 7 but vista ultimate cost me an arm and a leg so want to keep it for the mo.

    might pick it up though with a relatively cheap hd and give it a go. would actually be a good test to see if 10.9 runs the games i play atm fine...

    also i might need to stop using driver cleaner and do an install over previous and see what happens.

    i always thought it best to use driver cleaner after say installing 10.9 and then going back to 10.5

    however am actually very busy and the games i want work fine on 10.5. still havent completed dragons age and finished the mass effect 2 content and also stuck on assasins creed 2. hehe.

    p.s after doing the above method i tried res evil 5 benchmark with 10.9 and it worked fine. average of around 155fps maxed. (1920x1200)
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2010
  17. slayer305

    slayer305 Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 SLI
    Crossfire stops working in Dirt2 when I use the in-cockpit view, my GPUs usage drops to ~50% (indicating that CF died) and FPS take a dive. If I switch to any other view CF works again and FPS go back to 60.

    There's also significant texture shimmering, meh.
     
  18. Despoiler

    Despoiler Master Guru

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire TRI-X R9 Fury
    I have no problems with these drivers so far. They seem to run really well. I've tested in League of Legends, Global Agenda (DX10 enabled), LOTRO (DX11 features enabled), and Company of Heroes Online. I have yet to test in TF2, BFBC2, or DoW 2.
     
  19. Psychlone

    Psychlone Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,688
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon HD5970 Engineering
    Interesting. I know that there are a lot of people that say they *have* to run DriverCleaner or DriverSweeper to get rid of all old registry entries, and I used to do the same back in the 8.xxxx days... but I haven't run DC or DS since 10.1, and then, it was only because I couldn't figure out what was going on - before I figured out my card was an Engineering Sample that uses a different memory controller than the retail cards.

    So perhaps after getting a good install of 10.5, try installing the newest over the top and testing your games (funny, I'm stuck on all of those same games, but in my defense, I don't get much time to actually play anything while running my computer repair business)


    And, if you're really thinking seriously about upgrading to Win7, 1TB drives are at a killer price point right now... $59 to $69 through Tigerdirect and Newegg both (pay attention that you don't get one of the "Green" lables that are 5400RPM drives!)
    Installing Win7 fresh then installing the graphics drivers will definitely tell you right then and there if it's the driver's fault, or something else.


    Good luck,
    Psychlone
     
  20. lenne

    lenne Master Guru

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 GTX Gainward
    Hmm everyone keeps saying that drivers are **** I only noticed that every game i tried since buying the x2 is ran smooth ( beside problems when the games are brand new, but i higly doubt thats much different on team green ) I had some annoying moments with my x2 too, but i got them solved after installing the arctic aftermarket cooler, and again i highly doubt that the green stock coolers perform much better. ( i skipped the driver sets from 10.5 to this one though )

    So generally speaking im quite happy with atis driver support.
     

Share This Page