Asynchronous Compute

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Carfax, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,996
    Likes Received:
    5,579
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    Because on average it doesn't bring a worthy performance gain, but get's slowed down due to a different architecture than AMD's chips.
     
  2. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I thought async was disabled completely for all Nvidia cards.... is that not what the devs stated?
     
  3. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    The real question is - do Pascal cards show the same behavior as Maxwell when switching async there? If yes then it means that it in fact doesn't work no matter what the settings say. As for why there's a performance gain when it's off - usually because the CPU load without async is lower as submitting to one queue is simpler than to several. But it's hard to say exactly as we don't know what happens to the rendering when switching this option - there may be more changes than just submitting to one direct queue.
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2016
  4. ViperXtreme

    ViperXtreme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,125
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2016

  5. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    It's not Nvidia who should make use of Nv's shader intrinsics.

    Funny, they basically do the same what Time Spy does (plus some other stuff in addition).
     
  6. ViperXtreme

    ViperXtreme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,125
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
    my bad I mean when will devs use it.
     
  7. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    422
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    I've ordered a 1070 (have to send it back, I'm not satisfied with MSI 1070's fans over my 390's fans, I guess it's PWM noise) and Tomb raider still loses 1fps, even though it is supposed to use Async Compute now on Pascal.
    Hitman also loses 1fps over DX11.
    Since I was so dissatisfied with the fans, I unfortunately forgot to test Ashes before repacking it. :(
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,429
    Likes Received:
    2,096
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ^
    Because those two games are also cpu bound. I think with newer i7 it would be a little different.
     
  9. PowerK

    PowerK Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    2xRTX3090HoF OC Lab
    This is rather confusing. So, do we have Async Compute support with the latest driver or not ?
     
  10. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Yes for Pascal, no for Maxwell (as least not in the general case; it may be enabled in games which can benefit from it on Maxwell).
     

  11. hexaae

    hexaae Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nVidia GTX980M 4GB G-Sync
    Exactly. CUDA and other software tricks are not sufficient.
     
  12. PowerK

    PowerK Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    2xRTX3090HoF OC Lab
    Thanks.
     
  13. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
  14. SavagePotato

    SavagePotato Banned

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Quadro M6000
    https://www.reddit.com/r/nvidia/comments/50dqd5/demystifying_asynchronous_compute/

    i believe this is a repost from here

    https://hardforum.com/threads/demystifying-asynchronous-compute-v1-0.1909504/

    Some people were saying 'wait for X', that sounds oddly familiar...

    BF1 is running pretty well here though :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2016
  15. ViperXtreme

    ViperXtreme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,125
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
    (edit)
    nvm
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2016

  16. Glottiz

    Glottiz Master Guru

    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    210
    GPU:
    TUF 3080 OC
    indeed. DX12 seems like a big flop to me. you know DX12 is in trouble even when AAA developer like DICE who always go for latest tech can't extract more performance from it, then who can? for now they hide under "DX12 is heavily in development" excuse, and they have a long way to go to even match DX11 performance, let alone surpass it.

    DX:MD is another recent game with negative DX12 performance, and also DX12 "under development" etc etc.

    looks like all the people who said DX12 is just a placebo API to make Win10 sell better weren't that crazy after all.

    will be fun to see when quantum break steam dx11 comes out, anyone wanna bet it will have better performance in dx11? :D
     
  17. pittiez

    pittiez Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    680x2
    i think forza is the only good performing dx12 title lol
     
  18. aufkrawall2

    aufkrawall2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    422
    GPU:
    3060 TUF
    Forza stutters with high fps and doesn't use more than three CPU cores, not very impressive.
    Ashes of the Singularity works just fine on NV DX12 when you turn off AC in its config file. If it just wouldn't have graphics like an ugly mid-2000 game...
     
  19. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,984
    Likes Received:
    837
    GPU:
    Inno3D RTX 3090
    The only "bad" DX12 game seems to be Quantum Break. Also there is nothing "placebo" about an api that is using all the CPU cores to submit work to the GPU.
     
  20. dr_rus

    dr_rus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    567
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    DX11 can do that as well.
     

Share This Page