1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ASUS GPU Tweak II Injects Ads Into Your Games?

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 4, 2019.

  1. Irenicus

    Irenicus Master Guru

    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    Zotac AMP! 1060 6Gb

    Umm I think you mean DO use 3rd party software. Afterburner is 3rd party. Asus make the card and GPU tweak, so that's 1st party software lol

    So did you buy the tinfoil hat?
     
  2. Kaotik

    Kaotik Member Guru

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1060 6G
    In case no-one else tested it already, I did, the news is hoax.
    Yes, GPU Tweak II has that overlay feature. Yes, it has that particular advert as default picture. However the option is not enabled by default.
     
  3. Enticles

    Enticles Master Guru

    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1060 6GB
    Thanks for clarifying for us non-asus users.

    I do wonder how people would feel if there was some kind of financial reward for letting the adverts come up? almost like monetizing your gaming sessions?

    would be a nice side-avenue for full-time streamers and such.
     
  4. vestibule

    vestibule Member Guru

    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    GTX1070 Zotac mini
    Its time that we all started to wake up surveillance capitalism.
     

  5. Kaotik

    Kaotik Member Guru

    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1060 6G
    Actually I'm not Asus user either, GPU Tweak II runs on any card, just like pretty much all(?) the other similar pieces of software today
     
  6. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,039
    Likes Received:
    537
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    Republic of Ads
     
    fantaskarsef and rl66 like this.
  7. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,076
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    Ads placement... I Will Not Bow to Any Sponsor (1992)
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  8. Thunk_It

    Thunk_It Member Guru

    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Asus 2080ti Turbo
    "Also, I've seen just this one single report, it looks to be valid but I'll reserve a disclaimer in the hope this isn't a hoax."

    It is true. After my recent upgrade to a new Asus GPU, the ad overlay was right there on the screen. And yes, I was pretty annoyed by it.
     
  9. RooiKreef

    RooiKreef Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    RX 580 Red Devil 8GB
    I still don’t know how long it will take before manufacturers realize that adding adds is just damaging for their reputation
     
  10. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,495
    Likes Received:
    2,089
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    That's pretty cool. If games allow this... No need to hack game, just hack overlay to display info.

    They probably put themselves with their software on every blacklist for competitive gaming.
     

  11. Huggi

    Huggi Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX Vega 64
    Never used their overclocking app even though I have the Strix Vega 64. I just use the Radeon Wattman tool that's built into the Radeon drivers...
     
  12. Silent Scone

    Silent Scone New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    TITAN X
  13. Deckard

    Deckard Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GeForce 980Ti 6GB SLI
    As if there are not enough reasons to not buy ASUS now they are giving us reason to not buy ASUS, "The fish is rotten from the head down"
     
  14. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
    The reason this is valuable software is because it is able to change the GPU voltage for my card (7790 2GB OC) unlike anything else I've ever tested, and this includes trying to apply any/all tweaks able to be found, etc... So I would imagine I am not the only person this would be true for, out there. I have AB installed too, which I use sometimes for the overlay reporting. I like that. I also like AMD's solution when I tried it out the few times. But ya, what I usually do is apply overlclock with ASUS app, close it, then open AB.

    Edit: It has been some time, so I am now thinking it might be because of the memory speed limitation (unable to change) in all others I have tested. In any case, it is certainly either of the two and necessary.

    This is how I typically run it for any gaming unless Halo CE since it doesn't even come close to needing any sort of speed boost, with OpenSauce maxed too (still like 800-900 mhz tops ever used - CPU barely used much.) I play modern games too. GPU fan is on custom curve in SpeedFan :) :

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
  15. AMDfan

    AMDfan Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    280X
    Asus is only doing as they prommiced to do, they have signed NVIDIA's GPP and NDA contract. NVIDIA is verry happy with that agressive adding.

    This is what NVIDIA fans were cheering for, and the "tech press" did as if GPP was a lie, and the NDA contract kept silent. This is what you get with boycotting AMD/Radeon, cheers NVIDIA fanschills win.....
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019

  16. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
  17. anticupidon

    anticupidon Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,778
    Likes Received:
    603
    GPU:
    integrated
    Have anyone really tested that, in a measurable way, real hard data ?
     
  18. AMDfan

    AMDfan Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    280X
  19. sapo_joe

    sapo_joe Master Guru

    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Gainward RTX 2080
    I bought a Gainward videocard and it came with this Expertool... I'm quite liking it, very small and works as expected.

    My other VGA is from EVGA, so I use Evga's tool on it.
     

Share This Page