AS SSD Benchmark Result

Discussion in 'SSD and HDD storage' started by Rich_Guy, Jul 28, 2013.

  1. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    Just ran this to see how my new SSD is, and doesn't look to good compared to others, as you can see here :-

    [​IMG]

    Notice it also says pciide - BAD for some reason.

    Now, i thought i was already running my HDD (which i just cloned across to save me reinstalling everything) in AHCI mode, so no need to change, but ive checked my BIOS, and nope, its in IDE mode, so would i benefit from switching it to AHCI as per the sticky ?

    Sticky :-

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=313676

    My WEI rates it as a 7.0 (HDD was 5.9), and my Windows only takes 30 seconds to load up with everything, instead of over a minute via the HDD, and it does seem faster compared to my HDD, but im probably missing out on a lot more speed.

    Thanks.


    EDIT: Actually, i remember now, a few months ago i had crashing problems (which are all sorted now), and after one crash, my BIOS had reset, so i had to set it all back up, but obviously, i forgot to redo the IDE to ACHI :rolleyes:

    If i did the switch to AHCI via the sticky, would i hose it all, as a couple of people in there have said they've done it, but now can't boot either way ?
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013
  2. XBEAST

    XBEAST Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 770 Gaming
    If you used AHCI before on your current Windows installation, just enable it in BIOS. Otherwise, enable MS AHCI drivers and then enable AHCI in BIOS.
     
  3. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    I tried switching it to AHCI in the BIOS, but on the Starting Windows screen (with the Windows balls coming on to form the logo), it just restarts.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013
  4. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Follow Hilbert's sticky instructions on editing the registry. That should take care of it.

    After that u can install proper AHCI drivers instead of MS ones.
     

  5. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    I would see some extra speed then ?
     
  6. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah most likely.
     
  7. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    May as well gie it a go, thanks :)

    Just have to find the drivers to replace the MS ones :p
     
  8. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013
  9. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    Thanks Pill, will grab those in a bit :)

    Just swapped it over to AHCI and gave it a quick test (on the default MS drivers that got installed).

    [​IMG]

    No more pciide - BAD :D

    Has increased, but shouldn't the Seq be around the 500mb mark, or is it about right for SATA2 (if that makes a difference) ?

    This is my very first SSD, so no clues to if its all running normal or not :p
     
  10. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Nah mate SATA II tops out at 300mb/s. SATA III limit is 600mb/s.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013

  11. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,563
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Tri-X OC x2
    Ahh right, as when reading a review of this SSD, i noticed it had the AS Benchmark Seq Read score @ about 487mb, so that must have been SATA III, guess mines about right for SATA 2.

    Cheers Pill :)


    EDIT: Just re-ran the WEI, and Drive scores gone from 7.0, to 7.8 :p
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2013
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    All good. :)
     
  13. ruiner13

    ruiner13 Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 1080
    Is this good? Samsung 840 SSDs in RAID 0

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2013
  14. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    [​IMG]
    just posting mine as comparision...keep in mind mine IS using rapid mode
     
  15. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    SATA2 3.0Gbps on that X58 board is a huge bottleneck for any modern SATA3 6.0Gbps SSD. Buy some PCEIx SATA3 controller card and you'll notice a nice SSD R/W speed increase. And as others suggested AHCI is a must for SSD.

    I also have X58 paired with Intel 520 series 120GB SATA3 SSD conected trough Transcend TS-PDC3 card (PCIEx 2.0 x1 card with 2x SATA3 + 2x USB 3.0) and that SSD is flying. Cards like that are quite cheap now, you won´t regret buying something like that.
     

  16. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    I'm not sure if i agree with you, I'm using an x58 board, same brand (asus) as well...And I have absolutely no bottle neck.....i think he needs a fresh install with the proper bios settings and hooked to the correct ports and all should be ok......maybe he get better performance not using raid and be able to use rapid mode?
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2013
  17. dk_lightning

    dk_lightning Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,354
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970 4GB
    How do i change from msahci driver to the intel one?

    I have tried but just fails to boot.
     
  18. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    Believe it or not every SATA3 SSD will have some benefits from SATA3 capable motherboard or PCIEx SATA3 6.0Gbps controller card, some SSD's more, some less, with some of them (depends on controller build in SSD) difference is insane when they are connected to SATA2 compared to SATA3. For example SandForce controller based SSD's will nothing more than suffer if you conect them to the SATA2. I'm telling you from my experience not just with my rig but with hundreds of other rigs that had passed through my hands in past few years.

    Just google for some SSD SATA2 vs SATA3 benchmark results and real-life experience of SSD owners jumping from SATA2 to SATA3. Look here
     
  19. CrazY_Milojko

    CrazY_Milojko Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,750
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    GTX760 270X GTX970
    ^^^ More details please

    First things first, just to be sure download and install latest Intel Chipset Drivers 9.4.0.1026 from here

    Then download and install latest Intel Rapid Storage Technology driver 12.8.0.1016 from here

    Then check/tune all Windows options on link here
     
  20. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,234
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Check in BIOS to see if boot order hasn't changed......
     

Share This Page