Arma 2

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by masterchiefx2, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. connos

    connos Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT
    New beta is available.

    http://www.arma2.com/beta-patch.php

    Code:
    Please note that some fixes seems not be listed in the changelog
     (we are currently investigating why and will fix it).
    
    There are two important areas this beta patch should address:
    
    * fixed: Stuttering of the PMC campaign videos on some systems
    * improved: New implementation of MP ChangeOwner. Previous owner 
    of object must confirm the change before the new server is chosen.
     
  2. ])rStrangelove

    ])rStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX780 SC ACX 3GB
    Got my PALIT GTX 570 1280 MB now, running at default speeds (nvidia original values).

    ArmA2 OA Benchmark with MSI GTX460 768MB: 66

    ArmA2 OA Benchmark with Palit GTX570 1280MB: 76


    ArmA2 settings:
    Visibility: 2000
    Both resolutions 1920 x 1200
    Texture detail: NORMAL Terrain detail: LOW Postprocess effects: DISABLED
    Video memory: HIGH Objects detail: NORMAL Interface size: VERY SMALL
    Anisotropic filter: DISABLED Shadow detail: HIGH Aspect Ratio: 16:10
    Antialiasing: DISABLED HDR Quality: NORMAL VSync: DISABLED




    System:

    Core2Quad 9550 OC @ 3.6 (air)
    Palit GTX570 1280MB / SamsungT240
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3
    2 x 2 GB OCZ 8500
    X-Fi ExtremeGamer
    BeQuiet! 700W
    Thermaltake Armor VA8000
    WinXP 32bit SP3
    ArmA2 installed on Kingston 120GB SSD
     
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,558
    Likes Received:
    2,951
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Ref"
    Nice, though with a 570 and with what you've turned down and disabled it seems a bit odd as the card's quite a powerhouse or how it's called but at that resolution and how the game handles stuff it also does get very demanding so it's understandable. :)
    (Unfortunately the game is amongst the most demanding ever albeit recent updates have made major efforts to smoothen things out and further refine the engine.)

    There's a updated beta as well fixing some further stuff and adding some new functionality, probably not all that much in terms of performance gains compared to 1.56 but still something.
    (That PMC map is pretty effective at testing stuff on, though far smaller than the others it's very demanding and can be tuned pretty well such as seen here - http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=12881 - of course for a full overview AI and more would be necessary to accurately test performance in a more common situation like say these missions - http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=11927 - http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=12783&highlight=BATTLEFIELD+3 .)
     
  4. proliferazor

    proliferazor Master Guru

    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    AMD 7950
    Arma 2 OA is on sale with steam for 19.99 , very much worth its cost for the multiplayer alone.

    Stop bye one of the life servers (zargabad life) and learn to play it, one of the best gaming experiences you can find. Its sorta cops and criminals role playing game.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010

  5. Mkilbride

    Mkilbride Banned

    Messages:
    8,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
    Anyone willing to gift me Operation Arrowhead? I can offer a GameStop Giftcard for 10$ + a Red Orchestra key if I can find it.

    $15.99
    according to Steam.

    Please someone?

    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2010
  6. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    is Operation Arrowhead better than the original? and its stand alone right? many people play online? i know, lots of questions but i might buy this game ...
     
  7. connos

    connos Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT
    I loved the original and Operation Arrowhead but OA is a better game. Note that its in the same engine with a lot of improvements (multicore support, 64 bit support etc...). I don't play online only single player missions and campaign.
     
  8. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    k, thx for that. i'm downloading the OA demo now. not sure if i'll like this or not, might be to much sim for my liking, i like sim's but i dont get off on having to use more than a few keys ;)
     
  9. connos

    connos Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    GPU:
    AMD 5700XT
    Oh you want like it then. You have to use a lot of key for sure. Its not hard if you get use to it. Also don't judge the game from the demo (no multicore support or 64bit) . They improved it a lot with patches. You have more GF options to tweak your game in the full game.
     
  10. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    played the demo, and your right i don't care for it. way to many keys ;)
     

  11. Halli

    Halli Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX465 Bios 470
    For those fans that really liked GhostRecon one of our members LightSpeed has Made a mod for ArmA2 and It is Awesome also this mod was just featured in PCgamer Magazine.

    Here is a Link to One of the missions, It looks much better if you click 1080p and let it load
    and watch full screen.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=foDJsKrP3dA

    http://www.pcgamer.com/2011/03/08/arma-2-gets-awesome-ghost-recon-mod-war-movie/

    Wish i knew how to embed on this site as this is really worth it.

    Regards, Halli~SPARTA~
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
  12. Halli

    Halli Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX465 Bios 470
    The demo is nothing like the real game and it is a Tactical simulator not a Run & Gunner. :nerd:
     
  13. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    ya thats the problem, i'm more of a run n gun kinda guy ...
     
  14. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,217
    Likes Received:
    173
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    The gameplay itself would be just fine for me. Slow, tactical, teamplay -> great. But the vast number of keys is a problem for me too, just like the strange performance and movement.
     
  15. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    i really wanted to like it, but i just can't get into it. i do like a tactical game once in a while, but just soo many keys ...
     

  16. Halli

    Halli Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX465 Bios 470
    Yep it has many keys but much less than say Crysis and most of the key usage is just scrolling the mouse wheel to select a differnt weapon....sorry for bad spelling.
     
  17. ])rStrangelove

    ])rStrangelove Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX780 SC ACX 3GB
    I agree with the sheer number of keys, but

    1. you dont need half of them

    2. you can start by deleting most of the stuff and then add them back when trying to do stuff in the training missions

    The training missions are designed to teach you movement, shooting and navigation stuff, one step by the time. While playing a training mission it will halt and tells you what you need to do. Then you hop into options menu, set up your key and try it. If you got wrong key, just repeat until you have everything up&running.

    Key configfile can be edited btw, so you could get the file from somebody which uses the same keys as you. In my case i just copied them over from ArmA1, big time saver.
     
  18. Halli

    Halli Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX465 Bios 470
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2011
  19. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    im thinking of getting this,is it wort getting arma 2 or the standalone arrowhead instead?
    Whats the difference,which is better?
    Cheers
     
  20. Mkilbride

    Mkilbride Banned

    Messages:
    8,058
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX470 1.2GB
    Get Arrowhead if you can only get one. Most people play it, it runs better, is updated, and most mods are designed for it.

    I only have the original, which leaves me kinda high and dry, very few original servers left online.

    I recommend ACE2 mod for it, which itself is a giant batch of mods that greatly enhance the game.

    Until Project Reality comes out for it.
     

Share This Page