1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[Application] Color Sustainer - ICC Profile Enforcer

Discussion in 'Computer Monitor Forum' started by yasamoka, Feb 3, 2014.

?

Do you use Color Sustainer in Global mode or in Mode-specific mode (v1.03.1+) ?

  1. Global mode

    31 vote(s)
    63.3%
  2. Mode-specific mode

    9 vote(s)
    18.4%
  3. A mix of the two

    9 vote(s)
    18.4%
  1. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Hey there, post #48 will do the job.

    BTW guys, can anyone help the user above with some snapshots? I'm literally overwhelmed with work now.
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2014
  2. Bhudda

    Bhudda Master Guru

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080ti
    how do you install this, where are the files please?

    It messes up and doesn't load my calibrated .icc profile
     
  3. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Can you please be a bit clearer as to what's exactly happening?
     
  4. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Ok, seems like there's a lot of confusion about how to correctly use Color Sustainer. It's really simple, Yasa asked if someone could do a little guide so here it is.

    [​IMG]

    Obviously check OP for download links, once downloaded, simply unzip to your desired location.
    Run the .exe

    1. Click on Detect. This will detect your monitors
    2. Choose the monitor you want to work with
    3. Choose the desired resolution
    4. Choose the desired refresh rate for that resolution
    5. Check "Associate"
    6. Choose either "Color Profile" or "Pre-defined". Color Profile if you have downloaded the profiles you want to use, Pre-defined is handy for loading various curves to check if the profiles work in games. Then just click on "Browse" and navigate to the profile you want to use for that resolution and refresh rate.

    Rinse and repeat for other refresh rates. Once you have all the profiles associated, click on "File>Start". This will start Color Sustainer, you should see the colors/gamma change if you're using one of the resolutions that you just associated a color profile with.







    [​IMG]

    1. Choose "Global" or "Mode-Specific" association mode. Global if you want to apply one profile across multiple resolutions/refresh rates, Mode-Specific if you have found the best profiles for each and every refresh rate
    2. Check "Start Automatically" and "Minimize to tray" for obvious reasons, this will start Color Sustainer on every boot and apply all the correct profiles without having to worry about a thing
    3. Check "Enable tray icon". It's handy

    Hope I got most of it covered, it should be sufficient to be able to load profiles etc, which is at the core what Color Sustainer is about.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2014

  5. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Thanks a lot for the help man.
     
  6. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Feel free to add it to op and let me know if you want me to add to it. You're welcome dude.
     
  7. Bhudda

    Bhudda Master Guru

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080ti
    sorry I meant un-install and un-associate the programme with my profile, as when I start Windows it always remains active in the task bar.
     
  8. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Click file, then stop. That will stop color sustainer. Or just go to settings and uncheck "start automatically".
     
  9. Bhudda

    Bhudda Master Guru

    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080ti
    Thank you.

    I found it works now if I enable mode-specific and select my resolution and mode.


    What would previously happen with Global was I'd select my monitor (resolution and mode cannot be selected for some reason when using Global) and I'd associate my profile.

    After a restart I'd see my profile activate but then it would revert back to windows default.
     
  10. xDinho

    xDinho New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8GB
    First thanks for the tutorial :)
    Now I did all the above procedure and is working pefeitamente, but the mods option I have only 2 options and the images have 4? why not have other options? would be the video card?
     

  11. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    You mean refresh rates?
     
  12. xDinho

    xDinho New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8GB
    Yes

    [​IMG]
     
  13. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    yeah, you have a 60hz monitor by the looks of it. What monitor is it exactly? you can try overclocking it using CRU, you might get some luck, but unless it's one of the koreans, don't expect anything anywhere near 100hz
     
  14. velocityx

    velocityx Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FE - EK FCB
    chrome flags the file as dangerous. any ideas?
     
  15. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    So do Norton and AVG, whenever I allow checking for updates or when I used to change resolution straight from the application (a feature now removed to be included later in a separate application). It's probably because the application uses some display-related windows functions.

    Don't take my word for it, if you feel uneasy I can show you the source code and you can compile it yourself. But yeah, nothing dangerous whatsoever.
     

  16. velocityx

    velocityx Master Guru

    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FE - EK FCB

    oh ok, no no worries I thought some virus infected the server and you didn't know the file was bad but in this case, thx for explanation.
     
  17. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Feel safe downloading it, it gets flagged as dangerous here too. I've been using color sustainer since its pre GUI days, never caused me any issues.
     
  18. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Mmmmmh, finally done with my finals. Going to edit the OP and link to the screenshots by eclap, thanks again. I used to assume that the README.docx file provided with every version of Color Sustainer so far would be enough to cover the simpler questions, but it isn't :)
     
  19. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,886
    Likes Received:
    4,519
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    So you are a young specialist with diploma now?
     
  20. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,723
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Haha I wish, I'm still a second year engineering student.
     

Share This Page