APEX files fault on any game due to too slow

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by ricardonuno1980, Jun 19, 2011.

  1. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    GPU fails to accelerate despite GPU physx enabled because APEX files on any game may be "bad coded" and fault but... and new CPU AMD x6 may be fault. after I investigated the games/samples/demos.

    GAMES:
    -Alice Madness Returns - http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346408
    -Dark Void - http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=346074

    DEMO: New GPU PhysX benchmark released for online shooter Mars - http://physxinfo.com/news/5837/new-gpu-physx-benchmark-released-for-online-shooter-mars/ - you look "nuninho" on 1st page.

    can you fix performance issue?

    NOTE: I got normal performance in games (mafia 2, batman AA), nvidia physx demos, samples (Star Tales, JX3 benchmark...) but I weird these games that have APEX files.
     
  2. fr33k

    fr33k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA XC3 Ultra 3080
    Did you try asking on nvidia's forums or actually emailing nvidia themselves. Sounds like a bug or something physically wrong with your hardware.
    Anyway, don't answer this but wtf are you still using DDR2? DDR3 is far cheaper by now and isn't slow.
     
  3. fr33k

    fr33k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA XC3 Ultra 3080
    OK i was wrong.
    Nothing is wrong on your end. Dark void just isn't coded well.
    Alice has a limit of 30fps because its on the unreal 3 engine.
    that mars game is really poorly coded.
    i get 26fps average with physx on and 60 without wtf lol.
     
  4. Janasbananas

    Janasbananas New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Gtx 1080
    But i will! Asus M4N82 Deluxe is the only motherboard thats support six core Amd and Sli and have no support for DDR3.
     

  5. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    yep Mars is a coding disaster..

    Darkvoid idk i dont own it, but looks like its another poorly coded physx title - since its based on old 2.8.1 code..

    Alice the same, that's why they capped it at 31fps..


    We really need that new physx 3.0.x to be able to see the diff if any.. I hope it will change a thing or two, otherwise nv can suck it lol
     
  6. fr33k

    fr33k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    EVGA XC3 Ultra 3080
    nevermind
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2011
  7. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    Alice Madness Returns - solution :) but not 100%... but soon 100%
    Mars benchmark - APEX legacy detected and removed - I can improve avg from 3 fps to 16 at 1680x1050@2xAA but I got not normal performance because review (link on physxinfo.com) gets avg 40 fps (i7 2600K and GTX 570).
     
  8. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,460
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Oooo, a new benchmark, how did i miss that.

    Tried it and the Mars Benchmark is quite a mess, and the fact it sits around the high 90s GPU usage wise even with PhysX disabled, means that adding PhysX is a big no no for a start.

    Turning everything down, which seems to turn everything off lol, shows a more accurate reading of how poorly implemented the PhysX effects are in it.

    Using the GTX570 GPU usage is all over the place, averaging about 50-60%, yet still dips down to 30fps alot of the time.
    Using the 2600k, CPU usage rarely goes over 25%, and the framerate sits in the teens and 20s.
    [​IMG]

    Considering FluidMark was doing 10,000 particles on the CPU at 360sps and hitting 100% usage on all 8 threads earlier, its a shame to see stuff still using outdated versions.

    [​IMG]

    So i wouldn't worry about it too much, these older versions just struggle to properly use both the GPU and the CPU.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  9. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    That Mars Benchmark won't even run on the gpu for me.
     
  10. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,460
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    You tried forcing the 460 to do it, rather than having the drivers set to Auto?
     

  11. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    I tried it on the 6950 + a GTS 250 for Physx. Everything else runs fine.

    If I select the gts 250 in cp it defaults to "all" again.
     
  12. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,460
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Maybe its blocking hybrid setups, though wouldn't know as never used one.

    Your not missing much anyway, performance is poor either way.
     
  13. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56
    I get 19 avg at 1920x1080 msaa x2 on the GTX 460 everything high.
     
  14. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    running your CPU Q9450 or AMD X6 1055T??
     
  15. teleguy

    teleguy Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    GTX 1070/Vega 56

  16. sinfatus

    sinfatus New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX 580 (stock)
    On alice there are 2 things that could be made to improve performance:

    1- On the Alice_engine.ini or Alice_game.ini (dont remember) search for Vsync and set ir to False.
    2- On same file, search for MaxFrammes that is marked with 31 and set it to 60

    then save and set the file to read only otherwise it will overright what you had changed, then force vsync by the nvidia driver if you want.

    This improves performance and makes the game run at 60 frames.

    Abot physx I didnt had any problem with slow downs, I was using the 275.33 driver and only noticed some loose on performance when I decided to break all the chessboard, but you dont need to do that on the game.

    Dark Void I dont remember if I played with Physx, cause my VGA on the time was really weak, so probably I played without physx.
     
  17. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    10000% solved!!!!!

    Problem found: BitDefender 2011 (any year probably and it's anti-virus program) affected heavily performances (not only PhysX).
    Running Win7 x64, I uninstalled this program and I can get improve much to normal performances!!!

    But that has ALERT!
     

Share This Page