Anyone with a q6600 stock+460?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by 3dPlayer, Jul 31, 2013.

  1. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    My friend bought a 560ti and after some minutes the system just boots.If he puts the 460 back in he does not have a single problem.The PSU is a Bequiet 600W with 5 years of usage.

    He also told me that the 3dmark11 Performance was ~1100P.Kinda low no?

    If anyone has this combo please give me the link without overclock in the cpu/gpu.

    Regards
    Dr.noob
     
  2. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,155
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    You test the gpu in your computer to make sure it works?
     
  3. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    i have q6600 2.4ghz and 550 ti.
     
  4. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    Same thing, please give me the link of 3dmark11 score.

    I did, no problems at all.He can't even run 3dmark11 without booting his computer.
     

  5. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    Not sure what's this topis is about, but my experience with Q66 is kinda interesting...

    I had HD7850 and felt like my CPU(same freq as now - 3.3Ghz) was bottlenecking it really bad as I couldn't find any other reasonable explanation for the the benchmark results which were totally off:
    [​IMG]



    Now recently I got an GTX560, and now the results are as follows (taken with stock gpu clocks):
    [​IMG]


    To this day I don't know what had caused HD7850 to underperform so badly (not drivers, not CPU, not PSU, not software... Plus judging from the monitoring data it didn't look faulty. The only games it worked OK with were BF3 and COD), but bottom line is that Q6600 with a overclock to at least 3Ghz should handle a decent GPU with no major problems. And if for some reason you just can not overclock Q6600 (doing it for no real reason is just plain stupid with this CPU), then at 2.4Ghz the GTX460 would be a pretty much the most powerful gpu it can go with without having a constant bottleneck.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  6. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    A q6600 @3ghz bottlenecks even a hd 6870 pretty bad. From my personal experience. In some games I gained 20fps + when I upgraded to 2500k.
     
  7. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    It depends on the game, but the majority of them with overclock above 3Ghz should do well, while some will load it only to some 40-60% with GTX560 being at 100% . Don't forget that your upgrade wasn't just simply CPU, it was MB and most probably DDR2--->DDR3 RAM as well. Even a new HDD could give a couple of FPS in certain games.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  8. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,114
    Likes Received:
    2,365
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Well back in the day i was using Q6600 3.2Ghz +GTX460 stock, didn't notice any bottleneck at all.
     
  9. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    You are right, but you don't prove him wrong as GTX460<HD6870 and you had it at 3.2Ghz, while he at 3Ghz. As I said, I think stock Q6600 could handle (barely, but still) GTX460.
     
  10. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    Hm that's interesting... Take some in-game benchmark with sli on and sli off and give us the results. As for the tutorials, just google it, there are plenty of them..
     

  11. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    So, it appears that my friend did another mistake, kinda.He bought an used i5 750 bundle thinking that his old system/cpu had some sort of problem.Guess what, the system that he bought is having the same issue with the 560ti and giving him bad performance on 3DMARK11.

    He finally listened me and ordered a brand new XFX 550W Core Edition.His old PSU(Bequiet 600(?) with 5 yrs of usage more or less) seems to be in it's final days.

    Another friend of mine bought a msi 7850 2GB, he said that the graphics card was having that well known issue, the coil whine.Then he bought a 7770 and bam, coil whine again...Another one that will buy a XFX 650W and return the 7770.His PSU is the Corsair CX500M.

    In resume, if you care for you system watch out for the PSU.
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  12. SmOgER

    SmOgER Active Member

    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    __
    Well, coil whine yes, but it would be unusual for PSU to cause performance issues, normally the system would be simply unstable.
     
  13. brazys

    brazys Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 660 oc
    ->big ROBOT bill

    U must OC CPU! those scores are realy low with that cpu... check my thread with e8200 and i get about p5k in demo 3dmark11. u should hit 1 k more with simple fsb adjustment. that dosnt even requires any skills in oc. hit 3.4Ghz and won't even notice temp increase.

    p.s i would chop my arm off if i could get hands on that baby
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2013
  14. 3dPlayer

    3dPlayer Banned

    Messages:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Have
    Hi, if you want to compare your performance with my single 460 1GB+i5 2400 3.2 here it is.

    driver: 314.22
    stock 700mhz
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6978191 P3573
    800mhz OCed stock voltage 0,987v
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6978245
    850mhz 1.087v
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6978266
    880mhz 1.100v
    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/6980886 P4345

    And i flashed the bios to unlock the minimum fan to 20% because 40% on idle is too much noise.I unlocked the voltage to the max which is 1.21v just for the sake of hacking it (lol) because on that point you will need WC or a good AC cooler.Well, i have the MK-13 standing somewhere...:)
    [​IMG]

    My ex. 6870 on this system stock 900mhz would give me 4400P, 4700P on 1000mhz, so with 880 on this 460 it's really good.

    I didn't Oced the memory, yet. :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2013

Share This Page