Anyone here have a 6870 crossfire setup?

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by LostHH, Dec 10, 2010.

1. LostHH

LostHH Active Member

GPU:
    XFX HD6950
    I'm thinking of upgrading to a 6870 as a little xmas treat for myself and am thinking of crossfiring it in around 6 months time/next year sometime.
    How mature are the drivers for it? Is it still a little glitchy such as the 5770 crossfire? Or more stable?

2. djmik21

djmik21 Member

GPU:
    Palit/Gtx 560Ti/1gb
    Hello, i'm a newbie here but from all the reviews we see here and there of the hd6870 crossfire i think the drivers are already mature enough for the setup to scale very good. So i think there won't be any problems in 6-months.
    On the other hand i would like to ask you, the hd 5770s aren't sufficient in every game there is for now.
    With my mere HD3850 256mb and some tweaking i played COD: Black Ops at extra detail just no AA.
    I think you should w8 for the new cards to come out because both n-vidia and amd promised much with these new cards they released lately, like me. I bite my tongue and say i'll make it until the new cards come out so that i can play CRYSIS 2 in all it's glory. :)

3. xangelofhavocx

xangelofhavocx Member

GPU:
    XFX 5850 1GB
    I can tell you that xfire 5770's is more than enough to run EVERY game at its highest settings at 1920x1080. Metro wasn't butter, but it was playable for me.

4. MyBrains

MyBrains Master Guru

GPU:
    Sapphire 7950 OC 950MHz
    There is no official drivers released for the 68xx cards yet,they are due within the next 7 days or so (Catalyst 10.12). I'm using 10.10e and they seem ok for now. The price of the 68xx's should go down slightly in the new year,i was told this by a guy on the phone from Overclockers UK.
    I only have 1 6870 and its a great card but reviews on the net seems to look like AMD fixed the previous crossfire problems in the 68xx series.

5. rurik

rurik New Member

GPU:
    Sapphire HD6970 stock