Any way to recover data from an HDD with a broken off SATA power pin?

Discussion in 'SSD and HDD storage' started by Mechwarrior419, Jan 14, 2019.

1. Mechwarrior419

Mechwarrior419 Active Member

GPU:
    Gigabyte 3080
    Hi everyone,

Question is pretty self explanatory. While working on my rig the other day I somehow managed to to snap off one of the power pins on the back of my 2TB HDD.

I'm not concerned about using the drive again but there are some files to me that are extremely important. And yes, I know I should have backed these up but like an idiot I did not.

So, is there any way to pull data from this drive. The pins where the actual sata cable plugs in are perfectly fine, however all of the pins that connect to the PSU are bent and one pin has been completely snapped off.

I have no solder experience or equipment. So that is out of the question. So guru's, is there anything I can do aside from sending the drive away to a professional data recovery center to safely extract the data I need?

2. yasamoka

yasamoka Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090
    Attach a picture so we can see if something can be done about it without soldering.

3. Chastity

Chastity Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Nitro 5700XT/6800M
    The pins can be gently bent back into place. It's the broken one that concerns me. We need a pic or 2 in order to determine which pin broke, and how important that one is. If it's a GND pin, the port should have more than one, and you may be able to get away with using it once w/o it, as the other GND should suffice. If it's supplying power, then you need it.

4. yasamoka

yasamoka Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3090