1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Antivirus renewal or replacement??

Discussion in 'General Software and Applications' started by sykozis, Oct 19, 2018.

?

Antivirus renewal or replacement??

Poll closed Oct 26, 2018.
  1. Renew McAfee

33.3%
  2. BitDefender Family Pack

33.3%
  3. BitDefender Free, WebAdvisor and Anti-Ransomware Tool

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Kaspersky

33.3%
  1. sykozis

sykozis Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    So, I noticed today that I have 40 days left to make a decision. I've been using McAfee Internet Security for the last 3 years. When I went to renew, they want $70 USD to "upgrade" my subscription from McAfee Internet Security Unlimited Device to McAfee Total Security 10 Device. Apparently, McAfee has discontinued all but their "Total Security" and "LiveSafe" products. So, my options are....

Renew McAfee at $70USD and take the loss of going from Unlimited Device to 10 Device (and a forced "upgrade" that I don't want)
    Switch to BitDefender Family Pack for $50.....before my McAfee Subscription runs out....
    Switch to Kaspersky.... (I'm leery of this one, due to both price and history....)

I've been reading reviews for the past hour and it seems BitDefender has quite a few complaints since I last used it. Most of the complaints seem to claim that BitDefender has become a massive resource hog, which has never been the case in the past.

I've had no issues with McAfee in the last 3 years, but this product change really irritates me.

The last option would be to switch to BitDefender Free, WebAdvisor and Anti-Ransomware Tool.....

No, Windows Defender is not an option....

So, that being said, let's keep things clean (non-political, no insults, etc) and helpful. Yes, there's a poll... Actual input from BitDefender users would be appreciated though.

2. fantaskarsef

fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o