Annoying 6800GT error

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Bandite, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. Bandite

    Bandite Guest

    I get a strange error with my new Inno3D GeForce 6800GT card. All 3d-games get graphical errors inte form of lines and glitches etc, take a look at a screenshot from Flatout frontend menu:

    http://filez.dyns.cx/misc/error.jpg

    I have tried most new driver versions with the same result.
    I ran 3DMark05 and it runs just fins only I get the same errors with stripes etc there too. The computer doesn't lock up or skips out to Windows. Is this a hardware or software error?

    Relevant specs:

    AMD Athlon XP 3000+ (not oc)
    1024MB PC2700
    Antec 330W PSU
    OS: Windows 2000 SP4

    Any ideas? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2004
  2. Glidefan

    Glidefan Don Booze Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,520
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | 8600M GS
    What drivers are you using? Also, have you tried any other set?
     
  3. Bandite

    Bandite Guest

    I have tried 71.20, 67.22, 67.03, 66.93. I just installed 61.76 which seems to work allright, so it's not hardware problem as it seems. Still these drivers are old and might cause me trobles later on with other games... I'm gonna get myself one of those WD Raptor 10k hdd's and install Windows XP and see if it gets any better.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2004
  4. NVguy

    NVguy Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG NVIDIA GeForce 6800 128MB
    probably its the operating system.
     

  5. Lordbollo

    Lordbollo Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti Lightning
    I had the same probs with my leadtek 6800 gt then i dled a patch/hotfix for the benchmark prog aquamark and for some reason those errors have gone. all it does is replace one file but it worked for me and it is only 34 k in size maybe give that a try.
     
  6. dominant1

    dominant1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Evga Gtx1070 Superclocked
    power supply is weak.. upgrade it.
     
  7. Lordbollo

    Lordbollo Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti Lightning
    Well my psu is the Antec true power 550 watt with a lead plugged in to the gfx card buy it's self. So power wasn't the prob for me dude.
     
  8. NVguy

    NVguy Active Member

    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG NVIDIA GeForce 6800 128MB
    maybe a problem with the processor?:question:
     
  9. Bluedog

    Bluedog Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI N680GTX TF 2GD5/OC
    give the 65.73 a try.
     
  10. dominant1

    dominant1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Evga Gtx1070 Superclocked
    was talking to bandite about his 330 watt psu that he lists.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2004

  11. dominant1

    dominant1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Evga Gtx1070 Superclocked
    lordbollo from Australia, did they catch the great white shark that ate the 18year old kid? i heard they were hunting it.
     
  12. Lordbollo

    Lordbollo Member Guru

    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti Lightning
    No they haven't caught either of them yet. Last i heard on our news was that they were discussing weather or not to hunt them.
     
  13. Comradesniper

    Comradesniper Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Chaintech 6800GT 256mb
    do you get artifacts as well?

    does this go away after a second or so in most games?

    if so, that is the precise same problem as my old Inno3D 6800GT... which turned out to be dead.
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2004
  14. Bandite

    Bandite Guest

    I first considered that the PSU was to weak, that 330W was to small, but since it works now with the old 61.76 drivers it can't be the PSU. And systems isn't unstable, so it's not the cpu.

    I will try those 65.73 drivers.

    Comradesniper: I had artifacts when I used the newer nVidia drivers, everything is okey with the 61.76 driver,
     
  15. Darren_Hodgson

    Darren_Hodgson Master Guru

    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    256MB PNY Verto GeForce 6800GT graphics
    I run an overclocked GeForce 6800 at 425/1,160MHz and every game works fine at that speed except for MOH: Pacific Assault, which shows similar lines stretching to infinity from 3D objects. Lowering the clock speed from 425/1,200MHz solved the problem for me even though every other game worked flawlessly at 1,200Mhz.
     

  16. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    are you overclocking your gpu? it just looks like a too OCed gpu core.
     
  17. Bandite

    Bandite Guest

    No the GPU is not overklocked, as far as I know. I took it out of the box, put in the 'puter, installed v67.03 of the drivers and tested a few different games, all with the same errors.
     
  18. Comradesniper

    Comradesniper Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Chaintech 6800GT 256mb
    you might have to face the fact that the card is faulty. is there any way you can test it on a mates system or somthing?
     
  19. Bandite

    Bandite Guest

    Yes I'll test the card in my brother's machine tomorrow.
     
  20. Bandite

    Bandite Guest

    v65.73 also works ok...
     

Share This Page