1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[ANN]CINEBENCH R15 EXTREME! - Unofficial MOD for the community to Stress HEDT platforms.

Discussion in 'Benchmark Mayhem' started by HWgeek, Feb 2, 2019.

  1. HWgeek

    HWgeek Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6200 Turbo Fotce @500/600 8x1p
    Dear Friends,
    I am happy to share with you my small Mod for the Popular R15 benchmark!
    As you all know, since AMD ThreadRipper 2990WX came out the CINEBENCH R15 looked too easy for this monster CPU, the Scene Renders too Fast :).
    Now we also got the new Intel Xeon W-3175X 28-core and many Overclockers playing with the CR R15 and the current version cannot stress enough those CPU's and the scores fluctuation too much.
    So I played with the files of the benchmark and I force it to render X4 Times the resolution!
    Plus, I edited the textures to make this "R15 EXTREME MOD".
    Now the Render times is over 80 seconds vs around 25 seconds on stock Ryzen 7 2700X (new score around 430 vs 1700)!

    P.S: More accurate Notebook CPU's benchmark scores:
    with this Mod you can better evaluate Notebook CPU's performance since even with single run you can throttle the CPU clocks unlike the Original CB R15 that finishes too quickly.

    Download the modded version:
    https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/cinebench-r15-extreme-edition-download.html

    You can also install the mod yourself:

    ___________How to Apply the MOD? __________
    Just Replace the original "plugins" folder inside "CINEBENCH R15.038_RC184115" with my modded "plugins" folder.
    Download: (Updated the Logo Image)
    https://ufile.io/54jfb
    _____________________________________________________________
    Now We are Ready for the Next ThreadRipper and Ryzen Generation!
    _____________________________________________________________

    Enjoy and please share your scores with the community :).

    ~~~~Good News !~~~~~
    CINEBENCH R15 EXTREME! was added to Hwbot.org as Beta, so you can start sending your scores :).
    https://hwbot.org/benchmark/cinebench_r15_extreme/
    Thanks to following members:
    Enjoy!
    HwGeek.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2019
    SoulRipper, chispy, mohiuddin and 2 others like this.
  2. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,659
    Likes Received:
    1,596
    GPU:
    -NDA +AW@240Hz
    2700X - 464 points while regular stuff runs in background (includes video playback, steam, Firefox, ...).
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
    mohiuddin and HWgeek like this.
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,715
    Likes Received:
    749
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Ok, one old interesting flaship cpu test, 980x/990x

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2019
  4. fellix

    fellix Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    KFA² GTX 1080 Ti
    [​IMG]
    The result is exactly a quarter of the score I get from the official version of the benchmark. This mod is indeed more suitable for the top-end HEDT builds, as pointed by the author.
     
    HWgeek likes this.

  5. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,130
    Likes Received:
    500
    GPU:
    -
    Question: If it's only exactly 4 times the resolution, and, if like the above suggests that they will be exactly 1/4th the score due to it (within margin), how does this help test HEDT programs? The issue stated is that with such high end CPUs, it's done too fast, but the score will reflect that, if it's only 1/4th the score that it'll show now and take 4 times longer due to the 4 times resolution, it won't change the fluctuation in score, simply the fluctuation in score will be 1/4th what it was, correct?

    Example: If the 2990WX's score fluctuates between 5050 and 5150 (which is what i've seen, non-overclock), then this "extreme" will make the 2990WX fluctuate between 1262 and 1287, which is the same fluctuation, even if it simply is "smaller" number between the two.

    So is that the purpose of this? to shorten the number difference between them but not the percentage difference?
     
  6. HWgeek

    HWgeek Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6200 Turbo Fotce @500/600 8x1p
    Another reason: For 2990WX and similar CPU's it's very easy to run CB R15 while OCed hard since the stress is only for few Seconds, but now if the Render times is over 3 times then the max OC could be lower since the system will crush in the middle of the test, so obtaining same relative scores with the stock R15 will be harder.
    Also soon we could get 48C~64C Threadripper, and for them CB R15 will be too easy, don't know why CINEBENCH not being updated to stress those high end CPU's.
    For example: Quad Xeon Platinum 8180 :jumps around 9600~11500 points


    Moreover, as I mentioned Mobile CPU's bench, new 4C/6C can finish the render withing the Turbo duration and without saturating the Cooling system, so for accurate score many Reviewers are doing multiple CB R15 runs to show the score fluctuation after the cooling is over saturated and the CPU start to thermal throttle, With this Extreme Mod you will get more real performance numbers since if the cooling is bad it will start to thermal throttle before finishing the render, For example I compared my Xiaomi Notebook Pro with i5 8250U (Max Turbo 3.4Ghz) vs Lenovo Yoga 730 with i5 8265U (Max Turbo 3.9Ghz) and with unlocked TDP I can get 182 points in CB Extreme while the Lenovo cannot get over 150 (cos Thermal throttle).
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  7. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,130
    Likes Received:
    500
    GPU:
    -
    Makes sense, and yeah it would be nice if they were to create a more intense, but based on the same scoring scheme R15 that's official.

    Or make it so you could do as you have done and increase the resolution to whatever you want (increasing the time) and have cinebench automatically adjust for the score (for instance, make increasing the resolution not change the overall score, run it at default with a 2990WX and get 5090? get a score of 5090 as well with 4 times the resolution, unless ofcourse the increase in resolution did cause an issue with the overclock, etc and you'd be easily able to tell the difference in scores and stress tests on a system that's possibly not stable)
     
  8. HWgeek

    HWgeek Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6200 Turbo Fotce @500/600 8x1p
    I think I can make it render same X4 the resolution while giving the official R15 scores that we are familiar with, but they will not be 100% the same in cases were the Turbo duration is over or Thermal throttle will kick in since the render takes longer, with same clocks for the full render duration they should match.
    Edit: Preview-still need to test different CPU's:
    EDIT2: I think for now lets not play with it, the new score represents the relative increase in the workload :).

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2019
  9. slovak_killer

    slovak_killer New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2080Ti Lightning Z
  10. HWgeek

    HWgeek Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6200 Turbo Fotce @500/600 8x1p
    Good News, CINEBENCH R15 EXTREME! was added to hwbot as beta, so you can start sending your scores :).
    Thanks to following members:
    https://hwbot.org/benchmark/cinebench_r15_extreme/
     
    chispy, jura11 and slovak_killer like this.

  11. slovak_killer

    slovak_killer New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2080Ti Lightning Z
    nice to hear that :) thanks kicsi and Lawrence.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2019
  12. HWgeek

    HWgeek Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6200 Turbo Fotce @500/600 8x1p
    Did another run with PBO enabled, Ram @ 3066Mhz and Hair dryer on cold setting since the stock cooler goes upto 84c :).
    I run it on safe mode to disable many programs/processes that are running on background and got few extra points.
    [​IMG]

    P.S- I did another round of lapping the base of the stock coller, now its smoth,flat,no gaps between the heatpipes.
    [​IMG]

    This is the original base finish of the stock Wraith Prism cooler:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
    jura11 likes this.
  13. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,769
    Likes Received:
    394
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    Geez! Such a long time and noone thought of doing this(if it was done or thought of before I apologize), until HWgeek did!

    It's of those things you say: Why didn't I think of that?

    Awesome job HWgeek! Kudos and congrats for HWBot bench entry!


    Cinebench R15 Extreme *bad dpi scaling. :p

    [​IMG]

    Cinebench R15

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
    HWgeek likes this.
  14. krysc4d

    krysc4d New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980ti
    Such a shame that is Win only :/
     
  15. TLD LARS

    TLD LARS Active Member

    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    412cb on AMD Ryzen 1700 3600MHZ all core.
    Nice long benchmark, no need to run it multible times anymore.
    How easy is it to mod, is it possible to let it run normally 10 times and then display the runs in the rankings window?
     
    HWgeek likes this.

  16. FM57

    FM57 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 2070
    hmmm, time to spare money for the next Mobo

    [​IMG]
     
    HWgeek likes this.
  17. djmcave

    djmcave New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    AMD 7950
    I think the idea is letting the benchmark run for longer and catch some thermal throttle.
     
  18. Mr. Fox

    Mr. Fox Member

    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 SLI (Notebook)
    Nice mod. Good job. I only ran it at 4.8GHz this time just to see how it worked. Next time I do a direct connection to my chiller I will run it at 5.2GHz.

    I could see this mod being an issue for people with 1080p screens. The window cannot be resized properly for lower resolutions, so they won't be able to submit valid scores on HWBOT if it ever becomes eligible to receive points because the CPU-Z windows cannot be covering the render scene area. If you do that the submission will be disqualified. HWBOT would need to change the rules to accommodate that.

    See the discussion below the rules at this link: https://hwbot.org/news/9635_application_48_rules/

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    HWgeek likes this.
  19. HWgeek

    HWgeek Master Guru

    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6200 Turbo Fotce @500/600 8x1p
    I am still searching if we can scale it down, If someone has an idea I will be happy to learn.
    For now- maybe 1080P users can use RADEON/NV screen resolution upscale in drivers to make it ~2K/4K and take full screen print-screen?
     
    Mr. Fox likes this.
  20. danhaf

    danhaf New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    1080 ti SLI
    So i just tested it with default settings (got 1400ish) and at 4Ghz

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2019
    jura11 and HWgeek like this.

Share This Page