AMD's HD 7000 Series - Delayed - Now 2012

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Rich_Guy, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    i think so too, i mean look at BD October rumor delay and now its dated 21. September (or 19.September at first).
     
  2. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    It certainly doesn't mean less profit for AMD at all.

    While it certainly could if the decision is out of their hands, if it is AMD's decision then it means they are trying to maximise profits of existing hardware before releasing anything new, and why not, wouldn't be surprised if all those unlockable 6950's seriously hurt AMD's profit margins.

    Also, how is this a shocking delay to people on here, i'm assuming most on here are after the high end cards like the 7950/70/90 and those weren't supposed to arrive until 2012 anyway.
     
  3. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,012
    Likes Received:
    1,201
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Seems in recent years that delays have become part of the industry.... Almost seems like it's part of the marketing. Create hype....delay the product to create further hype....delay the product again to increase hype....finally launch the product and hope it meets expectations based on the hype.
     
  4. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,109
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    I hope investments in AMD go down.

    Serves them right for playing those poor fools with June/July 2011 launch date,
    when everyone who knows the stuff said Spring 2012
     

  5. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,709
    Likes Received:
    680
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
  6. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    The 7900's will be a little dearer than the 6900's, AMD has already said that. It won't be in the order of £600 for a HD7970 though, that would just make it uneconomical. It would more likely be in the order of no more than 10 percent of the final store price of the HD6900 series equivalent. Anything beyond this is just the video card manufacturers and stores making extra profit (aka ripping people off).
     
  7. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,709
    Likes Received:
    680
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Yeah, but did they say it before TSMC whacked their prices up by 15%. :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2011
  8. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    Ah ok! well in that case probably more than 15 percent. Since 28nm chips actually require less silicon, either TSMC are going to try and rake in a crapload of money with the new tech, or the yields are pretty bad and they need to make up the costs...
     
  9. king-dubs

    king-dubs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    TITAN X (Pascal) + X34
    I don't own a 6850/6870 so I can't help you there.

    But looking at the recommended specs, they say 6870 for Medium-High settings. So going off of that, perhaps around Medium settings you could manage.
     
  10. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    but, but it will be almost 2x faster as 6970 so you pay premium for that too:nerd:
     

  11. pmurgs

    pmurgs Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Two 5850's + 5570
    Not true. Many of us will be upgrading for BF3. I want something better than my 5850. Now I need to go look to see if I can find a 580 at the price that doesn't totally empty my wallet. The 6970 isn't enough of an upgrade for me.
     
  12. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,833
    Likes Received:
    5,714
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    First what's wrong with 5850? I bet it will run BF3 just fine, second 6970 is mostly around some speed as GTX580 so dosn't matter what choice you make.
     
  13. larsbaby

    larsbaby Member Guru

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX670 EX OC SLi WC
    I should be OK until the new cards arrive with my two 5870. Its only the lack of memory that's an issue on them since I changed monitors to a 30inch running at 2560x1600. Only Crysis 2 the pc has made any complaints everything else it pushes high fps.. I hope AMD aren't going to get greedy like Nvidia have in the past.
    BF3 does look stunning so fingers crossed I can run it maxed.
     
  14. n0b0dy

    n0b0dy Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 6950 2GB
    Yeah 6xxx series are not doing well, no ****. The entire hardware industry is a bit like in a crysis now. Anyone remember how they couldnt make enough fermi chips to meet market demands?

    I blame consoles, ppl nowadays give up on the timeconsuming process a PC involves and stick to n00b consoles, and they are cheaper too.

    In any case considering the AMD 7xxx series, Im looking forward to them and might even start saving money now for a 7990 :)
     
  15. blitze

    blitze Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Power Color 4870 1GB PCS+
    Ah screw it - I just went and dropped some money on a MSI 6970 card. Can't be bothered waiting and it will be a nice upgrade to my trusty but aging 4870.

    Also with the specs and cooling on the MSI card I will get the bonus of running a computer that doesn't sound like a vacuum cleaner. Sometimes, ya just goto go and get what's out there and the pricing on the 6970's ain't bad at the moment if you shop around. Slots in with my keep it under $500 limit nicely. Next year - motherboard and processor upgrade. :)
     

  16. n0b0dy

    n0b0dy Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 6950 2GB
    That C2d u have is gonna bottleneck the 6970 video big time. I would get a new CPU too if I were u. Check out Q6600s on ebay, I think they are same socket so you wouldnt need a new mobo. And Q6600s are very good ocers too.
     
  17. shimyns

    shimyns Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,657
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE r9 290x Tri-X OC
    Old news. They've already announce quite some time back that release would be in Q1-2 2012.
     
  18. blitze

    blitze Member Guru

    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Power Color 4870 1GB PCS+
    True but the old E8400 has been a worthy cpu and I might dump it soon and get a complete MB/CPU/RAM upgrade.

    Still, I should be able to get some decent results with DX11 games and tessellation which is done on the GPU.

    I'll see how I go but at least my system won't sound like a leaf blower with the new 6970.

    Still the q6600 sounds like a good place holder cpu until Intel's and AMD's next gen chipsets arrive. I usually give them 6 months to settle down with pricing and bugs before jumping new architecture. Thanks for the heads up.
     
  19. thatguy91

    thatguy91 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,643
    Likes Received:
    99
    GPU:
    XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
    If you can get a Q9400 for a decent price compared to the Q6600 go for that instead. Even though the Q9400 may not be able to reach as fast in Mhz for stupidly high overclocks, its is a better chip. The Q6600 is 266Mhz standard bus, the Q9400 is 333MHz standard bus. Even at the same bus speed etc, the Q9400 has slightly higher performance.

    Also the Q400 supports SSE 4.1, the Q6600 doesn't, so apps that make use of SSE 4.1 will be slower on the Q6600.

    That said, it really is only worth it if you can get them for a cheap price, otherwise an upgrade would be a better option.
     
  20. Ji1986

    Ji1986 Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX670 OC SLI
    I agree I have a Q6600 with a 5850 and the CPU is at its limits and its oc'd to 3.4ghz.

    even look for a cheap Q9500 they have a fair bit more processing power compared to the Q6600.
     

Share This Page