amd's fx 60---any one have one???

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by dranom, Sep 11, 2006.

  1. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    ok il probably get the opteron 165. how about the other opterons??? how do it stand up???
     
  2. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    LORD! what do you consider high end air??? like the big typhoon, etc??? so you cen get 2.7-2.8 easy on the 165?
     
  3. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
    Yes. Mine goes up to 3.0ghz stable with my ram (of course yours should do fine with that BH5 Ram you have there, and at that, it idles at around 50-55 because of the voltage bump needed to 1.44) being tccd DDR600. I'd say get the Big Typhoon if you want 2.8, but get the Noctua U-12 (or tuniq tower... if you can find it) with a Sunon, Panaflow, or other incredible 120mm fan.

    To sum it up: I have very little doubt that it can't hit 2.6 on stock 1.35v and stock fan. It all depends on your cooling and stepping from there. Go get it. I really saw the step up from my FX-55 :) Also, budget allowing, I'd REALLY REALLY REALLY advise getting a DFI Ultra-D NF4 motherboard for that Ram. It will allow your overclock to go Soooooo much higher. I'm 99% positive that the CMX ram is BH-5, one of the legendary ram types. Being able to tolerate 3.2v 24/7 :)

    -Satan
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2006
  4. Navecko

    Navecko Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    none
    Yeah don't buy the a8n32-sli. It sucks in so many ways.
     

  5. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
    My advice is sell your FX-55 for ~100, buy the DFI Ultra-D NF4 with that money, and use your saved money on an Opteron 165+ a Scythe Infinity/Noctua U-12 and a Sunon 120mm Fan.

    -Satan
     
  6. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2006
  7. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
    I use the TTBigTyphoon, your ram is almost absolutely the IC BH-5. This means, it can tolerate crazy stuff like 3.4v 2-2-2-5 2T DDR500 :)

    NO DON"T GET THAT OPTERON
    You want CCBBE or CCB1E. Anything else is CRAP (except for one, but I forget the stepping)! CCBWE is really really bad. Get one from Newegg for 250$. They usually have CCB1E's. And make sure to get the DFI Motherboard. Trust me, you don't know what you're missing with that ram...
     
  8. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    ok cool how do you know if its a BH-5????! im trying to look for the tuniq!(lost cause) LOL that things crazy! have you seen the review??? the temps are soooo low!!!!

    the DFI ultra-d doesnt support sli though. i have two cards. xfx 7600gt xxx
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2006
  9. Sinacle

    Sinacle Master Guru

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 1800xt 700/1600
    Actually it does. It requires a bit of easy modding. I'm not too good at these things and I've succeeded so it can't be too hard. Or alternatively, you could buy the sli version for 20 bucks more.
     
  10. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2006

  11. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    how did you do it???? making sli?
     
  12. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    im probably better off with the dfi sli board. dont wanna messed it up wasting the money in the process. :D

    i think mines different? heres the specs: how its written on the memory itself

    CMX512-3200C2
    XMS 3200 512MB 400MHZ


    XMS 32002 v1.5 this is one of the sets
    0525066-0
    CL2


    XMS32002 v5.2 this is other
    0603106-2
    CL2

    the number #9 of the list v1.5 but i have the other set v.5.2 doesnt show. which of the dfi lanparty sli is a good board???

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductList.asp?DEPA=0&type=&Description=dfi+lanparty+sli&Submit=ENE&N=0&Ntk=all&Go.x=0&Go.y=0
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2006
  13. zed201

    zed201 Master Guru

    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    670 FTW 2048 eVGA
    I have a FX-60 but Iam water cooled run it OC 5% all the time not much temp incress(2730)
    (2890) 10 % oc the temp dont go over 57c when gaming for a couple HR
    but tell you the truth cost to much for what it is the Core 2 is a better deal
    the Quad core for both AMD & intel should br out by next year or by year end
    if i was you if you MOBO will take a 939 dual core go with the 4800 there cheeper if the MOBO wont I would wait till next year when the new CPU are out and the MOBO bugs are worked out
     
  14. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
    Just don't get Core2Duo.

    Here, get the lower priced SLI-DR (don't get the Expert or the Open Box one). Get that, the Opteron 165, and a ThermalTake Big Typhoon.

    -Satan

    EDIT: Hmm... the 5.2 appears to be Promos -5 Rev A. I'd say try to sell the promos, and you can overclock the crap out of your processor with that bh-5 UTT (the v1.5 one). 2x512mb of ram, REALLY isn't that bad. I downgraded to it and haven't seen much FPS difference in any games. I'd say it would really only matter (sometimes) in BF2 and F.E.A.R., although, my pc (and my friend's) with 2x512mb ram can play those games fine.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2006
  15. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    hey lordofdoom i found an opteron CCBBE 0615 EPMW on ebay. this stepping is the same with SPECTACLE and he can fet 3ghz. its new too. so you think il just jet the sli-dr on newegg?

    they are saying its very picky on RAM have you encountered any of this problems??
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2006

  16. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
    Give moi a linky to the ebay auction please. Get the 134$ (I think) SLI-DR on NE. Read my previous post too, I think I posted it while you were in the middle of posting urs.
     
  17. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
  18. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    heres the linky

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=007&item=170029720228&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWA%3AIT&rd=1

    have you encountered any problems when it comes to ram on your dfi?

    is this the dfi that your talking about?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813136157

    whats the difference from the one up top and this one?

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813136151
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2006
  19. Satan

    Satan Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,684
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some
  20. dranom

    dranom Master Guru

    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    evga 9800 gx2
    no prob!where you from btw? US too?? i posted the link from ebay and some from newegg
     

Share This Page