AMD x2 3800+ owners!

Discussion in 'Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications' started by r3g, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. fruela

    fruela New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 7900
    I want to overclock my CPU, but I don't burnt it. Which software I need to know the temperature of my CPU?
     
  2. chrismeyer

    chrismeyer Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 7950 GT 512meg
    speed fan is great program to monitor temps with
     
  3. Lenny_Nero

    Lenny_Nero Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4650x2 x1650XT 9500GT
    Says who ?
    I was only reading today that they are still running production from the s939 plant, that is why they are getting so cheap.

    As for burning the CPU with overclocking if you dont move from the standard Vcore and you have good cooling and you dont use the crap software that does the OC from inside a running OS then it will be hard work to damage the CPU. But if you do then its a good idea to keep an eye on the temps, here is a link to a run down of quite a few temp progs, its done for the DFI RDX200 boards first, but they will work on most other stuff.
    http://www.csd.dficlub.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1907

    As for upping the Vcore I dont think I have gone above 1.39 yet.
    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=178140
     
  4. DrFreeze

    DrFreeze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,858
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GT740 2GB
    bah, i havent clocked past 2.1, damn these 4x512 dimms :p

    i would try to OC with only 2 dimms in, but it would be a bit pointless, seeing how i wouldnt run day to day with only half my ram in

    and the sad thing is, i already know my next rig is probably gonna get filled up with 4x1gb DDR2 the way things are going
     

  5. Warboy

    Warboy Master Guru

    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 2080 Ti
    [​IMG]

    I got my HT at 903 right now because It was at around 1194 with 5x Link, So i dropped it down to 4x link.

    Also, When i drip into 2.8Ghz, It becomes too unstable so i left it at 2.7Ghz. But I am up for anybody wanna help me OC it higher.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2007
  6. Exal

    Exal Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 7600GT
  7. Lenny_Nero

    Lenny_Nero Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4650x2 x1650XT 9500GT
    Whats the problems with your memory ?
    Have you had a go with the memory dividers to keep it running at the stock settings ?

    Just set it up for 2T and work from there.
     
  8. hawkeyefan

    hawkeyefan Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT @ 787/1944/2244
    Mine's a Toledo, not a Manchester fwiw

    rig in sig
    24/7 folding WorldCommunityGrid @ 3000mhz 1.550v

    this is as far as I've pushed it yet and fully stable:
    3020mhz @ 1.568v
    [​IMG]

    SP1M @ 3130mhz, best I can do with dual SP1m. Can get single SP1M up to 3170mhz at least so one core is crapping out around 3130.
    [​IMG]

    3DMark06 @1.575v 3080mhz in XP. Haven't tried higher.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2007
  9. ntfx

    ntfx Guest

    How come? Don't you find the A8N-SLI much good?

    My main grievance is where the northbridge is located, Pain in the arse in relation to graphic card cooling and such.

    I don't think i could get a graphic card with non reference cooling as it wouldnt physically fit due to it. I have a zalman cooler on the northbridge and that sticks out like a housebrick.

    Board overclocks decently though but the voltages fluctuate like a mother****er.

    2.4ghz OC of my 3800, Stock Cooling & 1.35 Voltage its at 22*c idle and around 50 max load. Aint bad really. Can't go wrong.
     
  10. weston

    weston Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 275
     

  11. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I've noticed that with Asus AMD boards. Mine doesn't other, but mine doesn't because it was designed for an HP computer.

    hawkeye-What program are you using to Oc? It's not Rivatuner, is it?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  12. hawkeyefan

    hawkeyefan Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT @ 787/1944/2244
    :eek: :puke2:

    rofl

    seriously, I don't mind the Ketchup and Mustard Clowns when we are not playing against you. You crazy engineers and pig farmers are all right :heh: (j/k)

    Seriously though, I had to pop the IHS to get mine stable at 2970+ on air. It hit the wall BIGTIME right there and no amount of volts helped. fwiw, mine folds for BOINC projects 24/7 so I'll probably drop soon to 2820mhz@ 1.35v until it is hot enough to turn the A/C on.

    BIOS for everything but the VGA. I always OC the VGA with RivaTuner...except that I must use ATITool in Vista. I hate PowerStrip and Coolbits doesn't allow high enough clocks and no way around it like there is with RivaTuner's "Power User" options. RivaTuner FTW!!
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  13. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    I've got clockgen because my bios don't have any overclocking options, so I want to try another program to OC my cpu and such to see if I can get it completely stable under this crap ram.

    EDIT-This is all I can hit now with the pc2700
    [​IMG]
    Versus the 2.5 stable when I had the pc3200, I want to know how far I can push this.
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2007
  14. hawkeyefan

    hawkeyefan Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GT @ 787/1944/2244
    ouch = E6 venice

    I have an E3 0517APAW that does 2810 @ 1.65v and 2700@ 1.50v. Those E6 can be brutal though. Have seen a lot of them that top out under 2.5ghz.

    fwiw, OCing the RAM and CPU through software is a really bad idea. IMHO. If you BIOS doesn't support overclocking, you might think about picking up a DFI NF4.
     
  15. Phalkon30

    Phalkon30 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 6800 GT @ 420x1175 /water
    http://www.amdgeeks.net/~phalkon30

    2.7ghz (270mhz x 10). I could probably push higher, but haven't wanted to try. I'm very happy with performance as it is.

    If you search around ont he amdgeeks.net site, you can compare processors based on the tray, model, week, etc. I find it interesting (although hard to navigate at times) to see which weeks were good overclockers.
     

  16. ntfx

    ntfx Guest

    Thats odd, I've not used an asus board that didn't have Voltage controls?
     
  17. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    This one only monitors it, and can't change it.=[
     
  18. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,457
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080
    Anyone know how far do the E4 Venice series can OC
     
  19. Phalkon30

    Phalkon30 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 6800 GT @ 420x1175 /water
  20. weston

    weston Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 275
     

Share This Page