AMD VCE (Media Framework) support for OBS Studio

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by fish, Jul 31, 2016.

  1. Virs

    Virs Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 390
    It looks like some settings lead to this error, from what I've seen/tried. Use different settings until it disappears. Or you can share you list of settings and I can try to tell you which one leads to this message. I ran into the same issue so I can try to help.

    I don't know why that happens either, but I've seen the same thing. When I try recording Doom, my FPS is unaffected. But WoW, simply having OBS open, leads to a significant (from 80 t0 73) FPS loss. This isn't related to this specific plugin tho, just an issue in general with OBS that I can't explain.

    Things are still being improved and tweaked. I personally have issues recording a smooth 60fps, regardless of settings used. Default OBS is smooth, this plugin somehow isn't. But this plugin feels more stable than default OBS.
     
  2. srdjan1995

    srdjan1995 Member Guru

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Vapor-X R9 270X
    Yeah, I also belive it's not due to this plugin, but due to OBS itself. I hope it will get sorted soon.
     
  3. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    I have posted a new preview build, available to Patreon patrons now. It'll be published to the public later when deemed ready to do so (not all builds made it to the public before either).

    It is a really early preview build with many of the debug settings still active. Only the Simple Encoder interface has been updated so far.
     
  4. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    1.3.0pre1 is now available to non-patrons on GitHub.

    Get it here: https://github.com/Xaymar/OBS-AMD-Media-Framework/releases/tag/1.3.0pre1

    Additionally, 1.3.0pre2 is now available to patrons here: https://www.patreon.com/posts/amd-advanced-for-6584660 . Thanks to everyone who supports this project either by using it or by becoming a patron.
     

  5. ObscureangelPT

    ObscureangelPT Master Guru

    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1650 Supe
    Hey Xaymar, what really had changed in this new update on AMD?
    It's only better documentation or is there noticable improvements in the codec's performance/quality?

    Cheers and many thanks for your work!
     
  6. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    There is a really huge quality improvement on lower bitrates. That is all that i could find.
     
  7. Sc4rL3T

    Sc4rL3T Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2016
  8. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    1.3.0pre3 is now publicly out, get it here: https://github.com/Xaymar/OBS-AMD-Media-Framework/releases/tag/1.3.0pre3

    @Sc4rL3T: Please follow the Issue Reporting Guidelines shown here: https://github.com/Xaymar/OBS-AMD-Media-Framework/tree/1.3.0pre3#troubleshooting
     
  9. xacid0

    xacid0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti AMP! Omega
    Cool, i'll try it tonight. Vaguely tested pre1 last night and the result is better than 1.2 for my 290x.
     
  10. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    Version 1.3.0pre5 is out:
     

  11. ObscureangelPT

    ObscureangelPT Master Guru

    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1650 Supe
    Well thats really good.
    I was expecting for performance improvements, but quality was indeed necessary too.
    Thanks for the reply :)
     
  12. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    pre5 is the best one yet.
     
  13. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,211
    Likes Received:
    732
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    I have problems again.
     
  14. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    1.3.0pre7 is out, should fix some issues that 1.3.0pre5 and 1.3.0pre6 introduced.

    Download: https://github.com/Xaymar/OBS-AMD-Advanced-Media-Framework/releases/tag/1.3.0pre7
     
  15. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    pre7 is another great one after pre5!
     

  16. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,211
    Likes Received:
    732
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    Yeap, agreed! Pre7 & 16.8.3 working for me

    after the trouble i had with previous versions... :nerd:
     
  17. fish

    fish Active Member

    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 5700 XT
    Same for me too, great captures on my 290x /16.8.3
     
  18. Xaymar

    Xaymar Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 285 2GB GDDR5
    1.3.0pre8 is out, fixing even more issues. Get it here.

     
  19. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,211
    Likes Received:
    732
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    Thanks!
     
  20. srdjan1995

    srdjan1995 Member Guru

    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    Vapor-X R9 270X
    Thanks Xaymar! :))
     

Share This Page