AMD Sienna Cichlid spotted in Linux Kernel patches, Big Navi?

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 2, 2020.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    48,561
    Likes Received:
    18,881
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Krteq

    Krteq Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    766
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 WC
    "Big Navi"?

    Checked a commit and it clearly states 128-bit bus and GDDR6.
    Code:
    +    if (adev->asic_type == CHIP_SIENNA_CICHLID && amdgpu_emu_mode == 1) {
    +        adev->gmc.vram_type = AMDGPU_VRAM_TYPE_GDDR6;
             adev->gmc.vram_width = 1 * 128; /* numchan * chansize */
    +    } else {
    +        r = amdgpu_atomfirmware_get_vram_info(adev,
    +                &vram_width, &vram_type, &vram_vendor);
    +        adev->gmc.vram_width = vram_width;
    +
    +        adev->gmc.vram_type = vram_type;
    +        adev->gmc.vram_vendor = vram_vendor;
    +    }
    Commit: drm/amdgpu: add gmc ip block for sienna_cichlid

    Hilbert, please don't use WCCFTech as a source.

    Anyway, Cichlids are freshwater fishes living in a lakes... here we have a clear allusion to Intel's xxxx Lake
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  3. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,564
    Likes Received:
    2,962
    GPU:
    XFX 7900XTX M'310
    Navi23 perhaps or how the naming goes, think there's 21 to 23 possibly others maybe also plans on integrated or mobile chips replacing Vega.
    Names and such have been dug up for a while now, no idea what the launch lineup will be of course but it looks like AMD's covering high to low range along with further work with Apple and the workstation WX type cards if I remember their names correctly.

    Rest of it seems to get a bit confusing or mixing in more rumors anything from GDDR6 to HBM and 128 up to 384-bit bus with some even going for 512-bit although that looks a bit unlikely personally but who knows.
    If it's going to be expensive AMD could try to go at it like the 290 was supposed to be but if they can barely edge out over the existing 2000 lineup from NVIDIA in terms of performance that's going to be a problem when Ampere is on the market or if Ampere is on the market first.


    EDIT: Nice to see more driver code and commits through the Linux code submissions though, means it's getting there for a possible late Autumn reveal and whenever it's supposed to launch.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2020
  4. Martin2603PL

    Martin2603PL Master Guru

    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    112
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 Ti
    AMD "Ariel" is more interesting piece in terms of XSX vs PS5 (Ariel is older GPU compared to XBX)
     

  5. Komachi

    Komachi Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Radeon Pro Duo Fiji
    "adev->gmc.vram_width = 1 * 128; /* numchan * chansize */" was not added in this patch.
    This code has been around for a while.
    If I'm not mistaken, the code of "adev->gmc.vram_width = 1 * 128; /* numchan * chansize */" in this emulate mode is what is used by all GFX10 ASICs (Navi 1X/Navi 2X).
    So, all we only know from these patches is that "AMD Sienna Cichlid" will use GDDR6.
    https://cgit.freedesktop.org/~agd5f...d&id=bb1de01b29185f9cef8c6c347eed7c0fd9e64188
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2020
    Krteq likes this.
  6. Krteq

    Krteq Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    766
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 3080 WC
    Jeezzz, my bad.. I ignored this part :oops:
    This is from gmc10 code in mainline kernel
    Code:
    /**
     * gmc_v10_0_mc_init - initialize the memory controller driver params
     *
     * @adev: amdgpu_device pointer
     *
     * Look up the amount of vram, vram width, and decide how to place
     * vram and gart within the GPU's physical address space.
     * Returns 0 for success.
     */
    static int gmc_v10_0_mc_init(struct amdgpu_device *adev)
    {
        int chansize, numchan;
    
        if (!amdgpu_emu_mode)
            adev->gmc.vram_width = amdgpu_atomfirmware_get_vram_width(adev);
        else {
            /* hard code vram_width for emulation */
            chansize = 128;
            numchan = 1;
            adev->gmc.vram_width = numchan * chansize;
        }
    So you are right, that applies to emulation mode
     

Share This Page