AMD Sapphire 7970 Atomic 1335mhz ?

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Lane, Dec 30, 2011.

  1. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    AMD Sapphire 7970 Atomic 1335mhz + possible 2304SP 7980?

    Chippell again, but they find that., its a list from Sapphire who look really official. Ofc take it with caution, nothing confirm yet this.

    But look on the top of the list, there's a 2304SP model....

    http://www.chiphell.com/thread-336984-1-1.html

    for the high end model, Atomic RX

    - 2048SP
    - GPU 1335mhz
    - 3gb of memory.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011
  2. Saad

    Saad Master Guru

    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Amd Radeon 6970 crossfire
    could be true..considering how the 7970 hilbert reviewed managed to work at 1250mhz without any over voltage..
     
  3. Taint3dBulge

    Taint3dBulge Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080Ti 2063/6180
    This is why i always wait 3-4 months to get any "new" architectured part. If this is true and it being a 7970/7980/7975 or whatever it will be called it will be prolly ~10% faster then a stock 7970 with 2048sp?!? Oh this should be good to see the fight for the top with nvidia.. Goooo ATi!
     
  4. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    its absolutely not sure, it can have been a sample test, or even a typo..
    now if we look the other SI cards, 7950 - 28CU, 7970 - 32CU > this one 36CU (64vertex ALU 1D / CU )

    but well, the 1335mhz Atomic will allready bring a lot of power, 400mhz more...
     
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2011

  5. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,613
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    damn. i would love to see the benchmarks on 2 of these crossfired. oc'd to hell and back of course. :p
     
  6. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    Why 1335 Mhz and not 1337? Surely they could've squeezed out that 2 extra Mhz for the lulz.
     
  7. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    'Atomic WC'...why do I keep imagining nuclear-powered latrines?
     
  8. hallryu

    hallryu Don Altobello

    Messages:
    11,378
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - QNIX/U2711
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
    Toxic ZX and Da Original with 2304 shaders i.e. 36 CU...hmm

    Yup, that would explain large transistor count and somewhat underwhelming performance.
     
  10. Virtue

    Virtue Master Guru

    Messages:
    828
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 670 WF3
    yup +410mhz OC over stock
     

  11. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,828
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    R9 290 ACIV 1150/1500MHz
    small price for early adopters :D
     
  12. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    If you read the interview of Eric Demers on Rage3D, he states different CU, ROP, etc have been tested. So we can assume the 36CU one was maybe part of thoses tests, but if it have been not choose, could well be a question of TDP and clock speed.. passing a point you need make a choice and this choice is cost/TDP/performance-clockspeed.... a 1175mhz can pass 11K in 3Dmark11 with a decent CPU OC ( 3930K ), and ofc with "optimisation we are using when bench ( not review ), no AA, no AF, no mipmap etc.. Imagine the result at 1335mhz for the Sapphire one.

    Anyway, internal source confirm, there's no 36CU in the core, only 32CU..
    The large size is due to all the extra cache, the new ALU 1D and all the compute parts ( Scalar etc ). memorybus etc

    With just the max overdrive OC on actual cards, the 7970 go beat 6990 and 590 easy.

    About performance gain, again read the Eric Demers Interview, there's some funny information on upcoming gain in all parts for the next 3 months, they need a bit of time, as the code generate by the card is completely different of the old one. They are still a lot to discover on optimisation for this cards..

    1150mhz 11K 3Dmark11
    http://hwbot.org/submission/2236252_hokiealumnus_3dmark11___performance_radeon_hd_7970_11126_marks

    One thing is sure the card is really scaling extremely well with clock speed.

    1125mhz 10K 3Dmark11

    http://hwbot.org/submission/2234240_delex_3dmark11___performance_radeon_hd_7970_10762_marks

    more serious, 15K 1700mhz
    http://hwbot.org/newsflash/1578_upd...17001980_mhz_15k_3dm11_55k_vantage_single_gpu
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011
  13. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970 G1 @ 1.54GHz
  14. SuM5181

    SuM5181 Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD6970 2GB GDDR5
    few months before radeon hd 7970 released, all news said that AMD top of the card will be have a liquid cooling system or somewhat new redesigned vapor chamber and the news also said the performance will be as twice faster speed compare with radeon hd 6990 dual gpu..............................and now where the card AMD!
     
  15. S†v0r

    S†v0r Banned

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    570GTX 1.3Gb @900/2200mhz

    *UT3 announcer voice*

    Wicked sick :D
     

  16. Chouji

    Chouji Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,634
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    19 inch flat screen
    When i read 1335mhz, i was thinking the exact same thing, 1337 would have gotten a little more attention.
    And then 10 years from now, they can release a new card that's clocked at 9001 mhz, and it'll still be awesome.
     
  17. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    "Just" LN2 :D

    Dont worry, any 7970 from AIB, as Asus, MSI, Sapphire, HIS who will come with 1150+mhz, will eat the 590 and 6990 for the breakfast.. lets alone the 1335mhz version..( maybe not across all the game but well..) Dont forget too, new architecture, new heuristic, only 1 driver ( the press one ).

    Just look the OC review of Guru3D..
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2011
  18. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    hmm, on the bright side, the flex 6g gives away the entire specs for the 7990. looks like it will be running at full speed, like the 6990.
     

Share This Page