AMD Releases Catalyst 12.1 Preview - Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Radier, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. xtremegamer

    xtremegamer Guest

    do u get any stuttering in cutscenes(chasing scenes) and indoors......
     
  2. Aminux

    Aminux New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PowerColor 5770 1GB
    Nope,the game plays just fine.
    Really!
     
  3. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    671
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    If your GPU is not being used fully and it drops below 60fps that either means your CPU is a bottleneck, there is something wrong with drivers, or both.

    A disturbing number of things these days are still single threaded. The time slices get divided among all the threads so when people see their CPU with each core at 25% they think it's not bottlenecked when in fact it's at the limit of a single core. I wouldn't be surprised at all if the AC games are single threaded.

    Anyway, your CPU is at 3.3GHz, OC it to 4GHz.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  4. headrat_uk

    headrat_uk New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX/6950/2048
    Actually CFX is fine, it's when I enable GFX and Eyefinity (5760x1200) things get ugly.

    HEADRAT
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011

  5. C-Tri-X

    C-Tri-X New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 5850 Xtreme
    Gotta agree with Aminux...

    It plays fine...

    For me 12.1 works like a charm...
    Improved FPS...
    And maybe improve graphic quality a little too...
    Coz my games looks like nicer than before...
     
  6. Neo Cyrus

    Neo Cyrus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,855
    Likes Received:
    671
    GPU:
    Asus TUF 3080 OC
    Ah I forgot your CPU is locked xtremegamer, you can't OC. You're stuck with 3/3.3GHz. You should have paid the $10 extra to make it a 2500K so you could OC the hell out of it. Those things hit 5GHz.
     
  7. spyre

    spyre Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 6990 and 6970 TF
    What exactly are you expecting at such a huge resolution? Crossfire & Trifire still scale even at those resolutions.

    1GPU 13fps
    2GPU 23fps
    3GPU 33fps

    Tested at 6048 x 1200 max ingame details on my 6990 and 6970 cards.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  8. headrat_uk

    headrat_uk New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX/6950/2048
    If I run 5760x1200 with Eyefinity and CFX enabled I get acceptable performance 70+ fps, if I enable CFX this drops to more like 40 fps and the game feels horrible.

    Something is obviously not quite right, I accept it's a high resolution but I wouldn't expect performance to drop unless it wasn't working correctly!

    HEADRAT
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2011
  9. xfrgtr

    xfrgtr Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    1080 gtx
    Same here,stuttering and frames drop
     
  10. screwtech02

    screwtech02 Master Guru

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 Super
    I agree, with 1 5830 I can get 60+fps, but with 2 or more cards, cannot get over 30-35??? Honestly, I'd ecpect a bit more since 3 cards are rendering, maybe I'm expecting too much??? This is with all settings on med also, 5670x1200 bezel corrected... I7-920 @ 4.2, with 24gb of ram.....
     

  11. spyre

    spyre Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 6990 and 6970 TF
  12. screwtech02

    screwtech02 Master Guru

    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070 Super
    Sorry spyre, was talking about BF3 with my posts.....
     
  13. xtremegamer

    xtremegamer Guest

    Hi...

    My Cpu Usage is 60-68% and Gpu Hits Max 80%, Overall game is smooth mostly it stutters in chasing scenes , cutscenes and some Indoors......
     
  14. AxelL

    AxelL Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX1080
    I had purple missing textures sometimes with this driver in skyrim like this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8RJ34Iqt4k I uninstalled just the driver and put back the latest marthand driver through the device manager. CCC is the same.. seems to work ok for now.
    I am not entirely sure if it's not from the latest skyrim patch though..
     
  15. UZ7

    UZ7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,523
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    GB Vision 3080 10GB
    Someone mentioned using the 4GB LAA patch to get rid of it but not sure if that is whats causing your problem. Personally I haven't seen that purple texture before but then again I probably haven't been to the exact same cave to check but texturewise everything seems fine on my end.
     

  16. spyre

    spyre Master Guru

    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 6990 and 6970 TF
    BF3 scales with Crossfire & Trifire in Eyefinity since I get 29fps at 6048 x 1200 with one GPU and, 40 to 60fps with 2GPUs and between 70 to 90fps with 3 GPUs, tested at medium settings on single player on the uprising level which is where I am at the moment in that game. DX11 used.

    Don't forget your cards are only 1GB which is rubbish for Eyefinity at high resolutions since you run out of video RAM. When most or all of that video RAM gets used then the system takes a nosedive since it has to page things to and from System RAM.

    BF3 on Ultra is pretty much impossible to run with only 2GB of video RAM per GPU when using 6048 x 1200 as it uses pretty much all the existing video RAM and you get 20fps for that reason with Trifire.
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  17. ocbones

    ocbones New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    well looks like 12.1 just makes one of my 4870x2 work now under full load in skyrim. is AMD not going to work on drivers to make it work on quadfire? any 5xxx or 6xxx quadfire users playing skyrim can you guys let me know what loads your getting on each core?
    thanks.
     
  18. geeunit

    geeunit Master Guru

    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    intel 4500mhd
    i was running 11.1 with cap3 (i think) and everything was working fine with bf3
    now i upgrade to 12.1 preview and my game crashes all the time...
    figured i would let everyone know
     
  19. net.cat

    net.cat Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI
    what's the best cap? 11.12 cap 1 ?
     
  20. stefik

    stefik Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 6950@6970 2GB
    Works great for me, but I don't see any difference in perfomance betwen these and 11.11c
     

Share This Page