AMD Radeon Software Crimson Hotix November 30

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by rflair, Dec 1, 2015.

  1. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    I respect that. That's fine. My apologies for the "emotional" response. Perhaps I was wrong to call you arrogant, ignorant maybe, but not arrogant.

    Since you're on Catalyst 15.11.1 (and hopefully still have the game installed). Go increase the graphical settings; put the game on high (then change textures to ULTRA), and turn off nVidia Hairworks and Hairworks anti-aliasing. Then go to post processing and make sure everything is enabled except (blur and motion blur which I have off because I do not like them, you can keep them enabled if you wish).

    Run around the cities and if you don't notice any micro-stuttering then I do not understand how that's not happening. Considering we both have the same GPU, and I have better RAM @ Higher Clocks, and a higher CPU clock with a better CPU.

    If you do notice micro-stuttering, and surely with the same settings you should. Install Crimson and test the same places and see the difference in performance.

    As for complaining about AMD, I am all up for that. They deserve the complaints about crossfire profiles, they deserve the criticism when they didn't release a single WHQL Driver for a long time before Windows 10 came out. And they deserve the criticism for when they're at fault for not optimizing their drivers in time for big games. They also deserve the criticism when it comes to API Overhead (I'm all up for criticism and I've joined in on it too)...

    But we should praise them when they do something good too (and including shader cache is good). I would like to believe, and I do believe they're moving in a better direction now. I criticized them a lot when they decided they were going to give VSR for the 280x but not the HD7970 (and they deserved every bit of criticism they got back then), and I'm glad they changed their mind and didn't do it at the end. And if the day comes that they decide the 7970 will not get a driver update but the 280X will, then I will criticize them again.
     
  2. heroxoot

    heroxoot Master Guru

    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2
    It's annoying me to no end. I want FPS caps in specific games only. Vsync in one single game. I don't want to go back to radeon pro.
     
  3. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    If I could, I'd buy gx-x an nvidia GPU just to see how he'd react in nvidia's driver section, preferrably a Kepler one. :bigsmile:
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015
  4. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    I couldn't agree more.

    I'm tired to see ppl lost his temper and politeness in discussions in here when they can simply stick to the facts or make fun on PR stunts trying to fool us in place of attack and flame each other.

    i was only trying to be stricly objective in this post been as asepthic as possible.

    Don't make me start, i'm not the one who mask things or avoid to name the things.

    :nerd:

    I.e:

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5200644&postcount=986

    You can add to the new category "silently disabled things labeled as improvement" like silently disabled CFX and silently dissapeared features.

    I think Crimson is simply a PR stunt with a fancy GUI who improves some games FPS at the expense of f*** a lot of important things including PERFORMANCE trying to be the lowest watt hungry GPU in the whole universe.

    I would like to see the red PERFORMING drivers ...this drivers are too "green".

    Where is the performance when you play and clocks goes down to only use a few watts?

    I don't give a sh** about power bills!

    Where is the button to turn off this "green crazyness" or the "PERFORMANCE" button?

    These are dedicated GPUs for gaming not low wattage desktop bulbs!

    If i want to lower my power bill i will use Intel CPU and his integrated GPU, intel knows better how to throttle CPUs and GPUs!
     

  5. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    MSI 1070 Gaming X
    I didn't even know about this "green" feature (power saving under-clocking feature). Just to note, I use MSI Afterburner and have my clocks always set to run at my overclock + at a constant voltage + with a custom fan profile for more "silence" but extra heat.

    My clocks have never decreased. I keep a close eye on them, while gaming or doing anything my clocks do not fluctuate. With or without Crimson.
     
  6. gx-x

    gx-x Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    1070 G1
    I made peace with my PC and W3 when I first started the game. I could run medium high combo and avoid nVidia settings (some of which you suggested that I use on AMD card) and get 45-60fps (I keep v-sync ON I don't care if you threaten me with nuclear retaliation) it ran like that, ran fine. In cities, once I move enough, I would get stutter (loading time, streaming, w/e) but that was normal, like once every few seconds while I was moving. nVidia users got the same damn stutter.
    I repeat: I ddin't force max settings since it was unrealistic for me to expect that W3 would run well. I used like 70% of settings on high or max and 30% bellow that while some heavy hitters were toned down. I am sorry, I don't know what do you want me to say. What you propose doesn't run well on my cpu/gpu, or yours for that matter, so why bother? Sure, you gained a few stutter free frames but it still runs like crap in heavy areas so...if you go back to settings I were on, you wouldn't need or notice improvements from drivers (crimson ransom :D )

    :)

    PS. You did not anwser my question from my previous post: how did you feel knowing nVidia had shader cache since like always, and AMD just got to it now?! I was personaly very very shocked. It was like AMD didn't have HW&lightning implemented yet and got bought out by nVdia and was named 3dfx...

    No problem. I take no offense from anyone that comes from an island nation that was targeted to be a land for the world's unwanted personas and criminals. You do not need to excuse yourself for not knowing any better, it is in your blood. No offense of course ;)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015
  7. putino

    putino Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD Radeon 8970M / 4gb
    I have a strange issue. After updating to the latest Windows build (10586.17) with the cumulative update released today, I'm now unable to start what remains of the "old" CCC from the "Additional Settings" link in the "Monitor" tab of Radeon Settings.

    This is what I get everytime:

    [​IMG]

    "Radeon Additional Settings" has stopped working. It doesn't even open the window, to be correct.

    Windows 10 build:

    [​IMG]

    Does anyone have the same issue? Any clue?
     
  8. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    616
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
    @Putino, check Event Viewer for clues.

    Try in elevated command prompt:

    sfc /scannow

    but note, that will undo any Windows Explorer customizations or other changes that were made to Windows' files.
     
  9. spectatorx

    spectatorx Master Guru

    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    104
    GPU:
    Radeon RX580 8GB
    When windows gets huge, like build uprade, it means it overwrites a lot of files and some driver files can be overwritten. Every time bigger upgrade is performed and you are getting problems with drivers you should reinstall your driver, after driver reinstallation everything should be ok again.
     
  10. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Because of restrictive kernel from Windows 10 the drivers from Amd & Nvidia have trouble.
    Windows 10 is still in beta phase,M$ still they dont know what to do with their tracking system and users are back to still solid Windows 8.1.
     

  11. putino

    putino Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD Radeon 8970M / 4gb
    I've tried both to reinstall the drivers and to scan the system with "sfc /scannow" but I still get this error :(

    Everything else seems to be working fine, but I'm not able anymore to access what remains of CCC.

    This is the error I get:

    Code:
    Origine
    Radeon Additional Settings: Command Line Interface
    
    Riepilogo
    Ha smesso di funzionare
    
    Data
    ***8206;03/***8206;12/***8206;2015 13:09
    
    Stato
    Segnalazione inviata
    
    Descrizione
    Percorso dell'applicazione che ha generato l'errore:	C:\Program Files (x86)\AMD\CNext\CCCSlim\CLI.exe
    
    Firma del problema
    Nome evento problema:	CLR20r3
    Firma problema 01:	CLI.exe
    Firma problema 02:	4.5.0.0
    Firma problema 03:	56375a5d
    Firma problema 04:	CLI.Implementation
    Firma problema 05:	4.5.0.0
    Firma problema 06:	564c18a5
    Firma problema 07:	f
    Firma problema 08:	7
    Firma problema 09:	System.IO.FileLoadException
    Versione SO:	10.0.10586.2.0.0.256.48
    ID impostazioni locali:	1040
    Informazioni aggiuntive 1:	5fbd
    Ulteriori informazioni 2:	5fbdf74a7c878964e729d473ca806a3d
    Ulteriori informazioni 3:	a8d4
    Ulteriori informazioni 4:	a8d4fd16a1ec24ff7cf61af332ed25cc
    
    Ulteriori informazioni sul problema
    ID bucket:	3e78690386b43872f72a3799b2974984 (128965449571)
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015
  12. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    I dont know if you can uninstall that windows update.That update could be the culprit.
     
  13. putino

    putino Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD Radeon 8970M / 4gb
    It's probably is, but since this is the last Windows 10 cumulative update released today, if there's an issue like this with the latest Crimson drivers, perhaps it's better for AMD to take notice and release another hotfix.

    Does anyone else has this issue? The Windows 10 Build needs to be 10586.17
     
  14. vancook

    vancook Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390 8 GB
    Yes, i test with this files, but becarfull the card is overheating when use this files.. I play fo4 72c and when put this files 82c.. if you use test your temp
     
  15. Falcy

    Falcy Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1060 @2.1/4.8
    Same latest build, no issues here.

    W10 is solid and not in beta. But stay with 8.1 or 7even if you want. :wanker:
     

  16. Turanis

    Turanis Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,477
    Likes Received:
    218
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    :D

    Ofc ,even Mr. Extraordinary is back to Win8.1. ;)
     
  17. ReaperXL2

    ReaperXL2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC2


    Dude, You are on insider build & you are asking here for answers/solutions to beta code :gape:

    Our 'Boys in the know' here on G3D have a pretty good understanding of how the CCC & various (related to CCC) driver components function, so are well versed in offering up possible solutions to issues relating to CCC packages...

    Crimson on the other hand has been re-coded from the ground up, meaning our 'Boys in the know' now know jack **** (nothing) about the internal functions & coding methods used in the new red driver... They must learn all over again... Crimson is only a few days old so let's be realistic about the possibility of homebrew fix's actually fixing rather than introducing further issues down the line...

    The disclaimer you read prior to installing insider builds informed you that there may be issues (some major, some minor), but one thing is definite, there 'WILL' be issues :3eyes:...

    Every new build of win10 brings fix's, but will also introduce new issues related to the now changed base code... This also includes changes to the way windows handles it's various mini sub-systems... Example : DX11/12 code manipulation/Overhead optimization, communication between OS & sub-system hardware & how the software layer marrying them together actually achieves it's goal/how efficient it is at doing so...

    Many, many things will have been re-coded in your latest insider build & as a result, one of the new issues for Crimson is the conflict that has been created between itself & the new win10 base OS/hardware/software layer...

    I am on consumer release win10 home x64 build 1511 (last build before your latest preview) & I have no issues with crimson UI or feature function whatsoever... This demonstrates exactly what I am talking about :thumbup:

    They will fix it, be sure of that (whoever is responsible), just be patient ok... (you must have patience, your an AMD user FFS !!! :kermit:)...
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2015
  18. endbase

    endbase Master Guru

    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
    He is not on an insider build BTW it's the th2 release with latest update !
     
  19. Falcy

    Falcy Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1060 @2.1/4.8
    No, he is not. And i have no issues with the latest, official build.

    Ya, it clearly demonstrates that you thought you had right, but sadly so wrong. :puke2:

    http://www.winbeta.org/news/microsoft-pushes-cumulative-update-for-windows-10-version-1511
     
  20. putino

    putino Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x AMD Radeon 8970M / 4gb
    No, it's not an insider build, it's the latest "stable" build of Windows 10 after today's cumulative update. Check it on Google please :)

    However, I've been finally able to fix it, after using DDD and cleaning everything in safe mode plus reinstalling the latest driver (Crimson 15.11.1 Hotfix). Now it works fine again.

    Screenshot:

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page