AMD Radeon Software Crimson 16.4.1

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by d2kx, Apr 5, 2016.

  1. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
    It isn't core fluctuation, rather a power issue that i also started to have with the first crimson. Just try it and force even the stock clocks on msi afterburner, and you will definitely pass the 12000 points on the graphics score. Don't even touch the powerlimit, voltage offset or anything. Just put the same core and memory clocks as the factory oc and apply it. You won't lose anything. It is the same issue i had and already pointed it out on an earlier thread of a crimson driver. As for why he is going passt the 13000 on the factory clock, maybe his tessellation is somehow connected.
     
  2. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    So, I ran two tests today, and it's still 13200. Before the second test I changed AMD optimized tesselation to Use application settings for both Global and 3DMark, but it's the same. The only thing I can think of is firestrike applied x16 AFTER I set it back to AMD optimized and not WHEN I set it to x16, and now it became permanent. It seems I cannot even restore it, unless I'm reinstalling the driver. That is some weird bug if you ask me, also this is the Steam version.

    Edit: But feel free to mess around with tesselation, maybe you can trigger the same glitch as well. :nerd:
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  3. vase

    vase Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    16.4.1, same settings as my above result.
    i guess its just variance but i can rerun if i have the patience some time.

    the interesting thing which i just got reminded of, because i didnt have 3dmark in use & installed since several months... is... how it cripples crossfire performance with its combined score. it seems to be an issue for quite some time according to some forum posts at futuremark forums.


    [​IMG]


    windows 10 64, same clocks, 16.4.1

    [​IMG]


    edit... yo my image hoster ... he switched some base url stuffs... now all imgs are unlinked...
    so i just leave this here :nerd:
    11836
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016
  4. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    its not a problem i have.

    my clocks/power draw is constant when loaded.

    There is no need to force constant clocks, as they are already contant when loaded.
     

  5. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
    I know they report constant but like i said there is some sort of a bug and i had the same since the first crimson driver. I mentioned it before and Prminister suggested some ways to findout what could be the roots of it. But as soon i load up msi afterburner and force the clocks i get higher points. You can try it or don't, just a suggestion.
     
  6. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    Don't hold your breath waiting for him to test it.

    He said not long time ago that he is not going to do anything that proves himself wrong.

    As he said we are "greedy customers".

    The last time i saw him wanting to testing something that proves AMD "official line" is wrong was when modded drivers allowed 4K VSR (3840x2160) in 290(X) (GCN 1.1) GPUs.

    He asked in a thread how to have that "impossible" res with his 290 too....

    ...after he spent weeks telling us (and insulting some) it was impossible because the GPU lacked the needed "hardware scaler"!

    Since then he is STRONG in his believes even after AMD PRs effectively dissapeared from this forum.
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  7. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    here a good question. In the past my current 280x always locked into uvd speed (850mhz) no matter what speed i choose UNLESS i forced voltage with afterburner in 3dmark whatever. With this new driver, or is it new 3dmark the boost speed finally works perfect without needing afterburner to move it past uvd powerplay speed. Not only that but it worked fine with riva tuner osd as well (before 3dmark would not like any osd). Who cares i guess, im not complaining it finally works well together again lol...
     
  8. Blackfyre

    Blackfyre Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,051
    Likes Received:
    46
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    I believe I read that was fixed by 3DMark in their change-log before it updated on steam. So I don't think it's a driver fix, but like you said, at least it's finally fixed haha.

    EDIT:

     
  9. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,082
    Likes Received:
    163
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Mod the vbios with VBE and make the boost frequency the same as the 3D clocks. Raise the power limit 20% too and you're golden. I never had to bother with something like that. Also always forcing 3D clocks through RadeonPro helps.
     
  10. vase

    vase Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    oh well, I did a little clean up (fresh install tbh) and installed latest 3dmark valid driver... BOOOOOOOOOM rank one of validated 2x cfx 270x
    http://www.3dmark.com/fs/8141042

    0 (1) similar results :)

    http://www.3dmark.com/search?_ga=1....AMD Radeon R9 270X&gpuName=AMD Radeon R9 270X
    (upper two validated 2 GPU results is me, one time stock clock, one time 1150 Mhz core)

    i will soon make some 60FPS stable gameplay/benchmark videos of gta v and fallout 4 with this rig.
    both 1440p. high-ultra settings (fallout 4 NVidia stuff off)
    maybe also a 90 FPS stable BF4 1440p video (all ultra, MSAA off)
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016

  11. the9quad

    the9quad Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti MSI Gaming-X
    You'll have to post me your settings for GTAV, because I cant get a rock solid 60 fps at 1440p all settings maxed/
     
  12. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    XFX Radeon RX580
    well like i said the issue ONLY effected 3dmark which is new fixed from the people who messed it up to begin with. but yea the thought crossed my mind to adjust the bios but it was only 3dmark that was messed up and there was no way i was going to change all that for one mostly useless app:). **** it its fixed again now
     
  13. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    i tried it, with radeon pro.

    no difference (margin of error)
     
  14. vase

    vase Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    No background programs except Sapphire Trixx!
    Just for recording I use Bandicam with FPS lock 60 as you can see in the video. This loses me about 5-10 FPS at some places. You can notice in video. Still supersmooth...
    I just uploaded it, so wait until 1080p60 gets available (i play on a 1080p monitor with vsr downscaling)

    LINK: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fXD1ltPkd_g

    Here is a screenshot for image quality, not the best example tho, maybe I make some more later:
    [​IMG]



    BIOS
    HT enabled
    PCI latency 32 bus clocks (some say it doesnt affect pcie cards, but i get mouse lag if i set it 64 or higher)

    "CCC":
    [​IMG]

    GTA V settings.xml (extract):
    Code:
    <graphics>
        <Tessellation value="3" />
        <LodScale value="1.000000" />
        <PedLodBias value="0.200000" />
        <VehicleLodBias value="0.000000" />
        <ShadowQuality value="3" />
        <ReflectionQuality value="3" />
        <ReflectionMSAA value="0" />
        <SSAO value="0" />
        <AnisotropicFiltering value="16" />
        <MSAA value="0" />
        <MSAAFragments value="0" />
        <MSAAQuality value="0" />
        <TextureQuality value="2" />
        <ParticleQuality value="2" />
        <WaterQuality value="2" />
        <GrassQuality value="2" />
        <ShaderQuality value="2" />
        <Shadow_SoftShadows value="4" />
        <UltraShadows_Enabled value="false" />
        <Shadow_ParticleShadows value="false" />
        <Shadow_Distance value="1.000000" />
        <Shadow_LongShadows value="false" />
        <Shadow_SplitZStart value="0.930000" />
        <Shadow_SplitZEnd value="0.890000" />
        <Shadow_aircraftExpWeight value="0.990000" />
        <Shadow_DisableScreenSizeCheck value="false" />
        <Reflection_MipBlur value="true" />
        <FXAA_Enabled value="true" />
        <TXAA_Enabled value="false" />
        <Lighting_FogVolumes value="false" />
        <Shader_SSA value="true" />
        <DX_Version value="2" />
        <CityDensity value="1.000000" />
        <PedVarietyMultiplier value="1.000000" />
        <VehicleVarietyMultiplier value="1.000000" />
        <PostFX value="0" />
        <DoF value="false" />
        <HdStreamingInFlight value="true" />
        <MaxLodScale value="0.000000" />
        <MotionBlurStrength value="0.000000" />
      </graphics>
      <system>
        <numBytesPerReplayBlock value="9000000" />
        <numReplayBlocks value="36" />
        <maxSizeOfStreamingReplay value="1024" />
        <maxFileStoreSize value="65536" />
      </system>
      <audio>
        <Audio3d value="false" />
      </audio>
      <video>
        <AdapterIndex value="0" />
        <OutputIndex value="0" />
        <ScreenWidth value="2560" />
        <ScreenHeight value="1440" />
        <RefreshRate value="120" />
        <Windowed value="0" />
        <VSync value="2" />
        <Stereo value="0" />
        <Convergence value="0.100000" />
        <Separation value="0.000000" />
        <PauseOnFocusLoss value="1" />
        <AspectRatio value="0" />
      </video>
    SweetFX_settings.ini (especially used for SMAA, as MSAA is disabled):
    Code:
    /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      Choose effects                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 1 //[0 or 1] SMAA Anti-aliasing : Smoothens jagged lines.
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN   1 //[0 or 1] LumaSharpen : Also sharpens the antialiased edges which makes them less smooth - I'm working on fixing that.
    #define USE_BLOOM         0 //[0 or 1] Bloom : Makes bright lights bleed their light into their surroundings (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_HDR           0 //[0 or 1] HDR : Not actual HDR - It just tries to mimic an HDR look (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR   0 //[0 or 1] TECHNICOLOR : Attempts to mimic the look of an old movie using the Technicolor three-strip color process (Techicolor Process 4)
    #define USE_DPX           1 //[0 or 1] Cineon DPX : Should make the image look like it's been converted to DXP Cineon - basically it's another movie-like look similar to technicolor.
    #define USE_LIFTGAMMAGAIN 1 //[0 or 1] Lift Gamma Gain : Adjust brightness and color of shadows, midtones and highlights (avoids clipping)
    #define USE_TONEMAP       1 //[0 or 1] Tonemap : Adjust gamma, exposure, saturation, bleach and defog. (may cause clipping)
    #define USE_VIBRANCE      1 //[0 or 1] Vibrance : Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    #define USE_CURVES        1 //[0 or 1] Curves : Contrast adjustments using S-curves.
    #define USE_SEPIA         0 //[0 or 1] Sepia : Sepia tones the image.
    #define USE_VIGNETTE      0 //[0 or 1] Vignette : Darkens the edges of the image to make it look more like it was shot with a camera lens. May cause banding artifacts.
    #define USE_DITHER        0 //[0 or 1] Dither : Applies dithering to simulate more colors than your monitor can display. This lessens banding artifacts (mostly caused by Vignette)
    #define USE_SPLITSCREEN  0 //[0 or 1] Splitscreen : Enables the before-and-after splitscreen comparison mode.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  SMAA Anti-aliasing settings                /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    #define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.08           // (0.08-0.20) Edge detection threshold
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 32      // [0-98] Determines the radius SMAA will search for aliased edges
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 16  // [0-16] Determines the radius SMAA will search for diagonal aliased edges
    #define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 25        // [0-100] Determines the percent of antialiasing to apply to corners.
    
    // -- Advanced SMAA settings --
    #define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 0        // [0 or 1] 1 Enables color edge detection (slower but slightly more acurate) - 0 uses luma edge detection (faster)
    #define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0  // [0 or 1] Using DX9 HARDWARE? (software version doesn't matter) if so this needs to be 1 - If not, leave it at 0.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       LumaSharpen settings                  /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    // -- Sharpening --
    #define sharp_strength 2.0   // [0.10 to 3.00] Strength of the sharpening
    #define sharp_clamp    0.055  // [0.000 to 1.000] Limits maximum amount of sharpening a pixel recieves - Default is 0.035
    
    // -- Advanced sharpening settings --
    #define pattern 2        // [1|2|3|4] Choose a sample pattern. 1 = Fast, 2 = Normal, 3 = Wider, 4 = Pyramid shaped.
    #define offset_bias 1.0  // [0.0 to 6.0] Offset bias adjusts the radius of the sampling pattern.
                             // I designed the pattern for offset_bias 1.0, but feel free to experiment.
                               
    // -- Debug sharpening settings --
    #define show_sharpen 0   // [0 or 1] Visualize the strength of the sharpen (multiplied by 4 to see it better)
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Bloom settings                        /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define BloomThreshold 21.50
    #define BloomPower 1.5
    #define BloomWidth 0.0220
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        HDR settings                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define HDRPower 1.2  //[0.0 to 8.0] Strangely lowering this makes the image brighter
    #define radius2  0.82  //[0.0 to 8.0] Raising this seems to make the effect stronger and also brighter
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      TECHNICOLOR settings                   /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define TechniAmount 0.11        //[0.0 to 1.0]
    #define TechniPower  2.8         //[0.0 to 8.0]
    #define redNegativeAmount   0.88 //[0.0 to 1.0]
    #define greenNegativeAmount 0.88 //[0.0 to 1.0]
    #define blueNegativeAmount  0.88 //[0.0 to 1.0]
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      Cineon DPX settings                    /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Red   10.0  //[1.0 to 15.0]
    #define Green 8.0  //[1.0 to 15.0]
    #define Blue  8.0  //[1.0 to 15.0]
    
    #define ColorGamma    2.5  //[0.1 to 2.5] Adjusts the colorfulness of the effect in a manner similar to Vibrance. 1.0 is neutral.
    #define DPXSaturation 3.0  //[0.0 to 8.0] Adjust saturation of the effect. 1.0 is neutral.
    
    #define RedC   0.40  //[0.6 to 0.2]
    #define GreenC 0.36  //[0.6 to 0.2]
    #define BlueC  0.34  //[0.6 to 0.2]
    
    #define Blend 0.2    //[0.0 to 0.1] How strong the effect should be.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      Lift Gamma Gain settings               /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define RGB_Lift  float3(1.010, 1.000, 1.010)  //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust shadows for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gamma float3(1.025, 0.985, 1.015)  //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust midtones for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gain  float3(1.030, 1.030, 1.015)  //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust highlights for Red, Green and Blue
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Tonemap settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Gamma 1.12        //[0.00 to 2.00] Adjust midtones
    
    #define Exposure 0.00    //[-1.00 to 1.00] Adjust exposure
    
    #define Saturation 0.00  //[-1.00 to 1.00] Adjust saturation
    
    #define Bleach 0.00      //[0.00 to 1.00] Brightens the shadows and fades the colors
    
    #define Defog 0.000  //[0.00 to 1.00] How much of the color tint to remove
    #define FogColor float3(0.00, 0.00, 2.55) //[0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00] What color to remove - default is blue
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Vibrance settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Vibrance 0.05 //[-1.0 to 1.0] Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Curves settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Curves_contrast 0.35  //[-1.0 to 1.0] The amount of contrast you want
    
    // -- Advanced curve settings --
    #define Curves_formula 7      //[1|2|3|4|5|6|7] The constrast s-curve you want to use. 
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                         Sepia settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define ColorTone float3(1.40, 1.10, 0.90) //[0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00, 0.00 to 1.00] What color to tint the image
    #define GreyPower  0.11                    //[0.0 to 1.0] How much desaturate the image before tinting it
    #define SepiaPower 0.58                    //[0.0 to 1.0] How much to tint the image
    
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Vignette settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define VignetteRadius 1.00   //[-1.00 to 3.00] lower values = stronger radial effect from center
    #define VignetteAmount -1.00  //[-2.00 to 1.00] Strength of black. -2.00 = Max Black, 1.00 = Max White.
    #define VignetteSlope 8       //[1 to 16] How far away from the center the change should start to really grow strong (odd numbers cause a larger fps drop than even numbers)
    #define VignetteCenter float2(0.500, 0.500)  //[0.00 to 1.00] Center of effect.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Dither settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.
    
    //Note that the checkerboard pattern used by Dither, makes an image harder to compress.
    //This can make your screenshots and video recordings take up more space.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                     Splitscreen settings                    /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define splitscreen_mode 3  //[1|2|3|4|5]  1 = Vertical 50/50 split, 2 = Vertical 25/50/25 split, 3 = Vertical 50/50 angled split, 4 = Horizontal 50/50 split, 5 = Horizontal 25/50/25 split
    
    
    i just see that youtube really messes with video quality so i will try to record again in 1440p so youtube cant cripple the video too hard.

    here is the 1440p video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbG-ia3qScs

    also i have to say that i use windows 7 for dx11 gaming still because apart from some advantages in w10, windows 7 window manager has still the lower d3d usage and it seems somehow that the vram management of windows 10 is not very friendly to older cards OR crossfire, i dont know yet...

    also a very short test of fallout 4 which i just made because it seems when recording 1440p videos in gta 5 its more performance draining than in fallout 4. i will wait for some day when i have time to make a good recording setup with my gopro camcorder for best performance proof.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6emO6jXGTcA

    PS: i paid 300 EUR for those babies TOGETHER :nerd:

    EDIT2: 60fps just came up in first vid
    1440p in second and third vid.
    unfortunately gta v gets slowed down hard by bandicam recording in 1440p but i will try to fix it and as well record with external camera as soon as i take the time for it
     
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2016
  15. spectatorx

    spectatorx Master Guru

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    Radeon RX580 8GB
    Afterburner and other programs like bandicam were slowing game while recording too much, currently i stick to osb and its display capture option. Recording in 30fps take almost no fps, recording in 60fps unfortunately on my pc takes away few fps but in acceptable number for gameplay purposes. What is good in this kind of recording it doesn't matter what api game uses as it captures whole screen, not just game's window.
    On monday i will check also raptr's plays.tv and its recording feature.
     

  16. foxX

    foxX Member Guru

    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI Vega 56 AB OC
    I can tell you not even to bother; OBS is by far the best with regards to performance and quality.
     
  17. the9quad

    the9quad Master Guru

    Messages:
    855
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    1080ti MSI Gaming-X


    And I will tell you, in my experience that is not really true. OBS has more features, but Plays.tv will actually be less resource intensive (by a lot) when using the settings for same quality. Also Plays.tv quality is really actually good. Not Dxtory using lagarith lossless encoding good, but really good. As far as performance goes, ever since AMD got rid of openencode, none of the other programs have been able to quite nail the performance that you can get with plays.tv. Not sure what Raptr/Plays.tv is doing differently, but it is noticeable.

    here is 720p at 60 fps footage from last night, to give you an idea of the quality. even at 720p it looks really good.

    http://plays.tv/video/5708cba62175f4fba4/smg-11-still-good-

    I've tested OBS, X-Split (Gamecaster and Broadcaster), Bandicam, Action!, Playclaw, DXtory, and D3Dgear within the past month, and I retest them when they get updated. Tested Dxtory yesterday after the update for instance.

    In addition, if you are just recording footage, and not interested in lossless quality, it takes quite a bit of testing to get programs like OBS and X-SPlit set up to get optimum quality, good performance, and decent file size. Using plays.tv is much quicker to get the same results.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2016
  18. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,119
    Likes Received:
    651
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    On the same boat, tried so many recording program's
    and now im stuck with playsTV only, (NO RAPTR)
    the quality is pretty good, and the impact on the pc is minimal.
     
  19. spectatorx

    spectatorx Master Guru

    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    118
    GPU:
    Radeon RX580 8GB
    Unlike geforce experience, raptr, a.k.a. amd gaming evolved is fairly useful program and it rewards you for playing. It is nice that it has integrated so many useful features like recording videos, twitch and other like things.

    Some people keep geforce experience only for nvidia shield or to control led on gpu cooler, both things could be integrated within the driver, without additional program like geforce experience. For example they could add to nvidia control panel option to toggle led on gpu cooler. Or maybe it already is possible via registry editing?
     
  20. ObscureangelPT

    ObscureangelPT Master Guru

    Messages:
    545
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1650 Supe
    My major problem with plays.TV is that never recognize the latest games, i do benchmarks for youtube, and can't never use it.

    Yes i can hack the .js file, and it works sometimes, but it just painful.
    Plus, the recorder is great, don't eat frames at all, but the end result of the video are just bad regarding consistency comparing to shadowplay :(

    About OBS, hell no..
    I try from time to time to record with it, the end result of the video is just laggy as wel..
    Last time i upload a video with OBS, people thinked that i was running the game full of stuttering and at 20FPS -.-
     

Share This Page