AMD Radeon Software Crimson 16.4.1

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by d2kx, Apr 5, 2016.

  1. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    2k is a bit much, i have a vapor-x which should be very close..
     
  2. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,559
    Likes Received:
    3,742
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Strange. Even his PCS+ is overclocked 2k difference in graphics indicates something isnt right. Check on that.
     
  3. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,465
    Likes Received:
    495
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    I still wonder why I have so much better scores than you.
    I tested again with the newest version of Firestrike. As I said about my previous posted result, it was with memory tweaks and 16.3.2, but the one run I did without saving without the memory tweaks and 16.4.1 was very close to it. Well, it officially is. These are my results with the Vengeance memory at stock settings 1600 and 16.4.1. They are on the margin of error on the previous ones.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The condition of my card after all these years and all of the juicing by the drivers:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    419
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500

  5. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,465
    Likes Received:
    495
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
  6. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    That 13224 graphics score sounds about right for the r9 290 pcs+ at 1125/1500. Was getting the same score as well. The Mac, your score i used to get if i didn't use msi afterburner to force constant power/core clock. Try it, and put it at 1125/1500 and you should see the same number.
     
  7. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    This is with factory oc.
     
  8. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    [​IMG]
    Well my score is from a while ago. Factory overclock used to get me 12300 points.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  9. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
  10. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    Did you do some bios tweaking?

    I can't do any testing with an r9 290 anymore, i no longer own one.
     

  11. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    For GPU no, and I don't even dare to oc it since you burned yours. :)

    Update: so, I installed 16.3.2 and with this driver I get ~12300

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11557241

    It seems 16.4.1 is nice for my gpu. :banana:
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  12. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    Alright but would you just try it for once. I promise you won't burn your card.

    Put the offset on 50mv with 50 powerlimit, and core at 1125 and memory at 1500, and run firestrike once and afterwards just put the numbers to normal. I want to see how much difference it makes then.
     
  13. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    Nope, it's a glitch ROFL. So, I installed 16.4.1 again, and got even lower result than 16.3.2, after that I tried to figure out what was the different previously. Things to know: everytime I install a driver I turn on VSR, GPU scaling and set global tesselation to x16. Ofc firestrike told me about the tesselation change, so I turned it back to default. It seems after I set it back to def and run a new test, firestrike boosts my graphics score. :bigsmile:

    Now, I'm back at 13200 again.
     
  14. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    i dont have core fluctuation problems, it stays constant when it loads.

    im at 1030/1400, that factory OC.
     
  15. vase

    vase Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    270X CFX @ 1150/1500
    4790K @ 4700
    W10 64
    16.3.2

    11836


    HELLO 290X single card :grin:





    it does.
    i get ~20FPS without hyperthreading in physics only test
    and ~40FPS with hyperthreading
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016

  16. Tmfwow

    Tmfwow Member

    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX r9 290 DD
  17. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64
    [​IMG]
    Driver seems to work well enough
     
  18. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX 5700xt
    It isn't core fluctuation, rather a power issue that i also started to have with the first crimson. Just try it and force even the stock clocks on msi afterburner, and you will definitely pass the 12000 points on the graphics score. Don't even touch the powerlimit, voltage offset or anything. Just put the same core and memory clocks as the factory oc and apply it. You won't lose anything. It is the same issue i had and already pointed it out on an earlier thread of a crimson driver. As for why he is going passt the 13000 on the factory clock, maybe his tessellation is somehow connected.
     
  19. Spartan

    Spartan Master Guru

    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R9 290 PCS+
    So, I ran two tests today, and it's still 13200. Before the second test I changed AMD optimized tesselation to Use application settings for both Global and 3DMark, but it's the same. The only thing I can think of is firestrike applied x16 AFTER I set it back to AMD optimized and not WHEN I set it to x16, and now it became permanent. It seems I cannot even restore it, unless I'm reinstalling the driver. That is some weird bug if you ask me, also this is the Steam version.

    Edit: But feel free to mess around with tesselation, maybe you can trigger the same glitch as well. :nerd:
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2016
  20. vase

    vase Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,653
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    -
    16.4.1, same settings as my above result.
    i guess its just variance but i can rerun if i have the patience some time.

    the interesting thing which i just got reminded of, because i didnt have 3dmark in use & installed since several months... is... how it cripples crossfire performance with its combined score. it seems to be an issue for quite some time according to some forum posts at futuremark forums.


    [​IMG]


    windows 10 64, same clocks, 16.4.1

    [​IMG]


    edit... yo my image hoster ... he switched some base url stuffs... now all imgs are unlinked...
    so i just leave this here :nerd:
    11836
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2016

Share This Page