AMD Radeon Software Crimson 16.3

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by d2kx, Mar 9, 2016.

  1. Only Intruder

    Only Intruder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    I've got no power efficiency option :/ gg AMD
     
  2. mtdew332

    mtdew332 Member Guru

    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390x
    I have a Sapphire 390x and I can confirm the Power Efficiency toggle is present and working as it should.
    And no, it doesn't disappear / re-appear randomly, its seems to be working exactly as it should. :thumbup:

    Albeit, Ive never had throttling issues to begin with, I suspect thats because i NEVER touch the AMD Overdrive tab......MSI AB only for me.
     
  3. realmadrid

    realmadrid Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1050 TI MSI OC
    [​IMG]
    me i have option but i dont it is work or not
     
  4. Skinner

    Skinner Master Guru

    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    2x 2080Ti Sli
    Good to hear that still works. It's a gamebreaker for me if I'm not able to edit CF profiles.

    And,.. I still have dropping core clocks for the second GPU (according to msi AB) in some, mostly dx9, games sometimes as low as 400/500 mhz and severe perf. dropping..:bang:
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016

  5. spectatorx

    spectatorx Master Guru

    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    Radeon RX580 8GB
  6. Only Intruder

    Only Intruder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    Just done a clean install (DDU wipe and install) and still no power efficiency option for my 285 :(
     
  7. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    It's only suppose to be there for 300/Fury series. Do you have a downclocking issue?
     
  8. TheDukeSD

    TheDukeSD Member Guru

    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    MSI GT 1030 2GH OC
    you can try it. in worst case you will have to uninstall it after you set your things in it or alternative not let it run when win is starting and start it only when you need it.

    it is possible that it doesn't like my av or something (won't be the first time I have an av that is making other things crash (bitdefender was making the secret world random crash (and this game was the only one affected by bitdender everything else was working just fine), that's one of the reason i stopped using it)).

    it's the only thing that crash so i kinda suspect it or the av (nothing else resident in the memory).

    All 3 crashes were like this one:

    only Faulting process id, Faulting application start time and Report Id had other values something that I find normal to be honest.
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016
  9. Only Intruder

    Only Intruder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    Kinda silly though given that the 285 is GCN 1.2, well it's silly that AMD are limiting it officially to the 300/fury series (but that's not stopping some 200 series users to have the option).

    I get downclocking occurring in a lot of things like dx9 games MadVR or games with low gpu utilisation (I don't like using clock blocker though it's not reliable enough with overclocks).

    I'm going to have a look at flashing my 285 to a 380 anyway.
     
  10. oGow89

    oGow89 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,213
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward Phoenix 1070 GS
    Not gonna work. The driver looks at the chip revision and shows features accordingly. People have tried it before when the 15.15 driver came out with the r9 300 series.
     

  11. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    40kb/s download rate from AMD server

    What kind of operation are you running there?
    • Power saving/save teh rainforrest?
    • Humanitarian?
    • PRO BONO?



    Power Optimization:
    Improved power optimizations for video, gaming and FRTC enabled gaming environments (AMD Radeon™ R7 360, AMD Radeon™ R9 380, AMD Radeon™ R9 390 series and AMD Radeon™ Fury series).

    R7 360 is GCN 1.1 same as R9 290/X
     
  12. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    I get almost 5 MB/s so that's a question for your ISP.
     
  13. Adiurd

    Adiurd Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RX 580 8gb
    7970+i7 2600k
    [​IMG]

    Best driver in dx11 ST test.
     
  14. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    I know I know... its never AMDs fault. It's always something else, someone else to blame.

    Time to blame my poor ISP which gets me 100Mb/s all day every day :wanker:
     
  15. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    739
    Likes Received:
    134
    GPU:
    RTX 2070
    Any review/test on TR o GoW with 16.3 to see if those "gains" are real?
     

  16. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Not a word about R9 290/X Gears of War performance improvements.... :(
     
  17. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    Well you are the only one complaining from what I've seen, so make your own conclusions :)
     
  18. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    But I already have.
    Me laughing at their d/l speed. You accusing my ISP.
    We've been over this.Remeber?
     
  19. SimBy

    SimBy Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290
    Try again.
     
  20. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,664
    Likes Received:
    504
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Try again what?

    Now post that 5MB/s driver download speed from AMD.com within next few minutes or sfup.
     

Share This Page