AMD Radeon Crimson Edition 15.12 December 17

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by twtaylor, Dec 17, 2015.

  1. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
  2. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Solution proposed on Microsoft Community

    Would really appreciate if someone more well-versed in programming than me could translate the following solution into a step-wise guideline:

    Resolution

    Use the .thread (Set Register Context) command together with Parameter 1. Then use kb (Display Stack Backtrace) to find the location where the thread is stuck.
    If the kernel debugger is already connected and running when Windows detects a time-out condition. Then DbgBreakPoint will be called instead of KeBugCheckEx. A detailed message will be printed to the debugger. See Sending Output to the Debuggefor more information.
    This message will include what would have been the bug check parameters. Because no actual bug check was issued, the .bugcheck (Display Bug Check Data) command will not be useful. The four parameters can also be retrieved from Watchdog's global variables by using dd watchdog!g_WdBugCheckData L5" on a 32-bit system, or dq watchdog!g_WdBugCheckData L5" on a 64-bit system.
    Debugging this error in an interactive manner such as this will enable you to find an offending thread, set breakpoints in it, and then use g (Go) to return to the spinning code to debug it further.
    On multiprocessor machines (OS build 3790 or earlier), you can hit a time out if the spinning thread is interrupted by a hardware interrupt and an ISR or DPC routine is running at the time of the bug check. This is because the time out's work item can be delivered and handled on the second CPU and the same time. If this occurs, you must look deeper at the offending thread's stack to determine the spinning code which caused the time out to occur. Use the dds (Display Words and Symbols) command to do this.
     
  3. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
    I hate to say in Insomnia, but to me it is looking more and more like a hardware issue, since you did well with removing the driver I was saying. In addition, I thought that initially as well - but - I do not give up.

    Very rarely do I ever suggest clean installing Windows (either format existing hdd/sdd or pop a different one in the machine and format that) but this might be that case. If the graphics fails there, then you know what that means.

    For good measure, I would make sure bios is updated to latest (dunno if I said already yet, I forget) and then set Optimized Defaults.

    If you wish to attempt to fix this current Windows 10, these drivers should be updated or removed from the system:

    ST_Accel ST_Accel.sys Fri Jul 13 19:30:18 2012 (5000AF8A)
    stdcfltn stdcfltn.sys Fri Jul 13 19:30:14 2012
    L1C63x64 L1C63x64.sys Sun Mar 31 23:15:17 2013 (5158FBC5)
    DellRbtn DellRbtn.sys Fri Aug 03 17:32:54 2012 (501C4386) <<< Airplane mode button driver
    CLVirtualDrive CLVirtualDrive.sys Mon Dec 26 08:26:47 2011

    One final thing you can try in existing Windows is to go to C:\Windows\Inf and manually check all the oem files. Delete any that are to video drivers Intel or AMD. Then go to C:\Windows\System32\DriverStore\FileRepository, and take ownership of any video driver folders. AMD usually begins with "c". Then delete them. Reboot to safe, try DDU then on you go with attempts.

    This cannot hurt to do too: sfc /scannow, entered into an elevated command prompt.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  4. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Thank you for trying

    Really appreciate your support. How do I go about updating/deleting the drivers you have mentioned?
     

  5. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Device Manager Status

    If it could be of any use, here is what the device manager says about the status of the GPU:

    This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)

    The driver trying to start is not the same as the driver for the POSTed display adapter.
     
  6. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Also the Best way to go about a fresh Windows Install

    Should I simply use recovery USB to go for a fresh installation? Will it remove all of the currently installed apps and data on the system drive?
     
  7. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
    You're welcome. Dell's site for your model should have updated drivers. I haven't done this kind of thing too much in recent days, so I am not on top of all driver dates etc...so I don't know for sure.

    The CL driver is to Cyberlink software, so just uninstall then check that the driver is gone from C:\Windows\System32\driver and if it is not, remove it the same method you did for the EMSC driver.

    Based on what you are saying, there is a small chance that the oem + Repository method might be successful, from my last post.
     
  8. needlesnout

    needlesnout Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD 77xx
    Eh, hard to tell what's what from one line bug tracker summaries. At least some of those listed bugs are likely affecting other programs that aren't called out, but may be covered in the detailed internal notes.
     
  9. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Clean Install the best option?

    What you are suggesting seems like pretty tedious work. Is a clean install likely to be the most straight forward, fail-safe way to rectify this in case there is no hardware issue?
     
  10. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    COMPAL EC control

    One more thing: I once disabled COMPAL EC control for setting up manual fan/temperature controls. Could it be causing the problem? how can I turn it back on?
     

  11. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    326
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    I know people are discussing other issues with these drivers, however last night I decided to try once again to set my tv to 120 hz. No previous driver would allow this. Including the one just before this release. I can now set my tv to 120 hz with these drivers.

    Yes I have a true 120 hz panel. It will allow 1920 x 1080 which is the TVs native resolution, it does have that gimmcky fake 240 settings as well.

    [​IMG][/IMG]

    [​IMG][/IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2015
  12. Only Intruder

    Only Intruder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    I've found these latest drivers to bring back stable video recording once again just like it was in 15.10 (alt tabbing for example doesn't break the automatic recording).
     
  13. haru3173

    haru3173 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 5870
    How does this stack up against omega? I'm hearing a lot of issues with crimson and I was wondering if its better to update
     
  14. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    129
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3

    What TV are you using? I just got an LG recently and would be curious to try this out.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2015
  15. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Thread_Stuck_In_Device_Driver

    Still no breakthrough. Any attempt to install AMD drivers leads to BSOD with THREAD_STUCK_IN_DEVICE_DRIVER. Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!
     

  16. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
  17. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
    Post a link to that thread

    Please post a link to the thread you said was similar. HWinfo Monitor is rightly detecting my card as 7970M, so is device manager as Microsoft Basic Display Adapter. I am hoping this isn't a hardware issue. I faced no symptoms of hardware failure, no over heating, no burning smell etc.
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2015
  18. Insomnia

    Insomnia Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 7970M
  19. LIGuitar77

    LIGuitar77 Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    ASUS 7790 2GB OC
    That was me speaking to other forum member in Turkey, referring to you.

    Malware tends to propagate more significantly in a geographical manner, which lends credence to my malware theory. So it would probably be in best interest to have Window install media on hand ready to use for when Killdisk is done running and zeroing out the storage drive.

    If you want to continue troubleshooting current Windows 10, you should scan with Malwarebytes, but first set it to search for rootkits.

    Also, these drivers are still present and should be removed for best chances (EMSC is back.)

    EMSC EMSC.SYS Thu Jul 05 21:56:47 2012
    CLVirtualDrive CLVirtualDrive.sys Mon Dec 26 08:26:47 2011
    ST_Accel ST_Accel.sys Fri Jul 13 19:30:18 2012 (5000AF8A)
    stdcfltn stdcfltn.sys Fri Jul 13 19:30:14 2012

    But really, I have likely seen over 100,000 crash dumps, and never once any 0xea stops. And now all of a sudden, there are 2 in geographically close locations. Gut instinct says malware, but it is only just that. Instinct and nothing more.
     
  20. GeRmAnOs

    GeRmAnOs Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    GB R9 390OC 8Gb 1050/1550
    I got problem with install manager,everything installs but install manager dont and i dont get cotext menu icon to enter crimson settings.Settings runs fine when i open with start menu shortcut but i got this-->> abload.de/image.php?img=beztytuu0jp6b.png

    Cant post links yet ,sorry.

    I dont install HDMI drivers cos i dont need them ,this could be the problem??


    Product: AMD Install Manager -- Error 1723.There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A DLL required for this install to complete could not be run. Contact your support personnel or package vendor. Action SetInstallDir, entry: SetInstallDir, library: C:\Windows\Installer\MSIC48F.tmp
     
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2015

Share This Page