AMD Radeon Crimson Edition 15.12 December 17

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by twtaylor, Dec 17, 2015.

  1. chronos64

    chronos64 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 390 8GB
    I am having the same issue. The only way i can install them is to disable my net adapter first, then it doesn't try to get web content and installs just fine.
     
  2. Passus

    Passus Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    276
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    the clocks and fan seem to now be fixed but the damn VSR turns off on shut down / reboot

    and i have to enable it everytime
     
  3. WeSbO

    WeSbO Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X stock
    I don't know why the screen corruption issue hasn't found its way into the known issues yet, been going on since the Fury release... -_-
     
  4. A2Razor

    A2Razor Master Guru

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Vega FE Liquid
    Indeed, this is the most disturbing thing to me.

    Even if AMD is genuinely unable to reproduce the corruption ... you'd think that enough people have experienced it, screenshot it (camera), etc by now including those that've RMA'd their boards (or RMA'd multiple times, like me) -- that it'd be at least officially acknowledged.

    --The acknowledgement aspect is rather important for customer loyalty because it's like a promise indirectly that an issue is actually going to be fixed. It's an acceptance of responsibility for it.
     

  5. WeSbO

    WeSbO Member Guru

    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X stock
    But it has been acknowledged by AMD reps, coz if people open a new thread about it on the AMD forum, a rep comes in and redirects them to the bigger thread saying "this is a known issue"

    I'm thinking that they know what the issue is and can't do anything about it and are just hoping it dies off and people forget about it lol
     
  6. A2Razor

    A2Razor Master Guru

    Messages:
    477
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    Vega FE Liquid
    Eh, I guess for me the forums don't quite cut it for acknowledgement. Every release I'm watching the issues list looking for a fix, yet I don't really test anymore at this point on the corruption.

    It's kindof one of those things where people PM me asking if the newest version fixes the corruption, and or suggesting that I fire up a some JRPG's & return to testing for if it's been fixed (hard to see the point). The rate of updates from AMD reps is low enough that I've pretty well lost faith that it'll be addressed. If it actually was in the patch notes, even acknowledged in them as a known issue, I might still be experimenting with it.


    EDIT: And yeah, that's the big problem, that it feels like hoping people don't notice it by not listing something major in the known issues. .. For me a voltage bump or locking clockspeeds seems to at least be a workaround, else I'd be at the point that I'd be considering selling my Fury-X. (quite literally)
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2015
  7. sammarbella

    sammarbella Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,931
    Likes Received:
    178
    GPU:
    290X Lightning CFX (H2O)
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Edo

    Edo Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus R9 280X 3GB CU
    Fallout 4 compass flickering still not fixed for 280x...this is ridiculous.
     
  9. GreenAlien

    GreenAlien Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro+ RX 480 OC
    Just got these forced on me by Windows Update.. without the crimson UI. Will these make even more problems if if keep using CCC for the time being?
     
  10. Grabber

    Grabber Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire AMD 7850
    Since Crimson and WHQL:
    Hiccups playing 4K content on YouTube.
    Stutter in VLC Player, when I downloaded the YouTube file.
    MPC-HC is smoother.

    Roll back to 15.11 problem solved.
     

  11. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    173
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Thanks for that. Here's my installation report. No errors whatsoever. Not even anything "interesting".
    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <?xml-stylesheet type="text/xsl" href="Report.xml.xsl"?>
    <monetreport xmlns:dt="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:datatypes">
      <general>
        <cmdline>-UI </cmdline>
        <time>12/17/15 23:05:13</time>
        <action>install</action>
        <download></download>
      </general>
      <dcm>
        <primary>
         <name>AMD Radeon R9 200 Series</name>
         <manufacture>Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.</manufacture>
         <chiptype></chiptype>
         <chipid>0x6798</chipid>
         <vendorid>0x1002</vendorid>
         <ssid>0x3001</ssid>
         <ssvid>0x174b</ssvid>
         <classcode>0x030000</classcode>
         <revisionid>0x00</revisionid>
        </primary>
        <device>
         <name></name>
         <manufacture>Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.</manufacture>
         <chiptype></chiptype>
         <chipid>0xaaa0</chipid>
         <vendorid>0x1002</vendorid>
         <ssid>0xaaa0</ssid>
         <ssvid>0x174b</ssvid>
         <classcode>0x040300</classcode>
         <revisionid>0x00</revisionid>
        </device>
      </dcm>
      <exist>
      </exist>
      <install>
    <package>
    	<description>AMD Install Manager</description>
    	<result>Succeed</result>
    	<version>9.0.000.1</version>
    	<size>20 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    	<description>AMD Display Driver</description>
    	<result>Succeed</result>
    	<version>15.300.1025.1001</version>
    	<size>90 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    	<description>HDMI Audio Driver</description>
    	<result>Succeed</result>
    	<version>10.0.0.02</version>
    	<size>1 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    	<description>AMD Settings</description>
    	<result>Succeed</result>
    	<version>2015.1204.1216.22046</version>
    	<size>150 </size>
    </package>
    <package>
    	<description>AMD Settings Branding</description>
    	<result>Succeed</result>
    	<version>1.00.0000</version>
    	<size>1 </size>
    </package>
      </install>
      <uninstall>
      </uninstall>
      <downloaded>
      </downloaded>
      <resource>
        <hwinfo>Hardware information</hwinfo>
        <existpkg>Existing packages</existpkg>
        <pkg2inst>Packages for install</pkg2inst>
        <pkg2uninst>Packages for uninstall</pkg2uninst>
        <otherdev>Other detected devices</otherdev>
        <errmsg>Error messages</errmsg>
        <name>Name</name>
        <manufacture>Manufacturer</manufacture>
        <chiptype>Chip type</chiptype>
        <chipid>Device ID</chipid>
        <otherhw>Other hardware</otherhw>
        <DownloadFailed>Download Failed</DownloadFailed>
        <succeed>Success</succeed>
        <fail>Fail</fail>
        <vendorid>Vendor ID</vendorid>
        <classcode>Class Code</classcode>
        <revisionid>Revision ID</revisionid>
        <ssid>Subsystem ID</ssid>
        <ssvid>Subsystem vendor ID</ssvid>
        <header1>Install Manager</header1>
        <header2>Installation Report</header2>
        <finalstatus>Final Status:</finalstatus>
        <versionofitem>Version of Item:</versionofitem>
        <size>Size:</size>
        <bytes>Mbytes</bytes>
      </resource>
    </monetreport>

    There were some other people who had this when Crimson first released. I should have noted their names, I didn't. I'm not reflashing my card for any reason at this moment. In the end, the driver installs properly with no errors. The vbios that I have for my card is from the exact Sapphire 280x which is like mine (the blue PCB one, guys with Sapphire cards will know). The only difference between the cards is literally the vbios. I've never had any kind of problem with it, not in Windows nor in Linux, and with any kind of driver (Catalyst Linux, Open Source Linux, Crimson etc). This is a software kind of thing. The installer just seems to be not responding for a reason, and be very very slow. Changing affinity and priority doesn't seem to matter. ProcessLasso has Probalance disabled for months now. As I said, in the same system the previous drivers install in under 30 seconds.

    It doesn't really hang even, it just stays there for a long time. Then it's a small dash (different between Crimson versions, this one is to 19%, the previous one was to 9% and 75%), and then it's installed. The uninstaller on the latest one is not so slow, it was very slow on the original Crimson release. I did a Windows Extended Memtest last night, everything came out clear, same the HDD and the SSD in the system. Whatever it is, it doesn't seem to be hardware related.
    Same for the GTA V map. This is ridiculous at this point. They don't even admit there is a problem in the readme.
     
  12. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    87
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Still no compass fix!
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2015
  13. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,849
    Likes Received:
    2,155
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    For a raw performance Crimson is a beast guys. Got 8048 in firestrike, Graphics 9590. I've never been this high with a single 280X before. Its getting dangerously close to stock 290 and 780.
     
  14. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    368
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Yeah, to me, the raw performance under the hood is really insane.
     
  15. djsolidsnake86

    djsolidsnake86 Master Guru

    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7850
    ac rogue crash at the start with these?
    far cry 4 have black guns glitch with these?
    fallout 4 have the compass glitch?
     

  16. vancook

    vancook Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390 8 GB
    Fallout 4 compass flickering with r9 390 ?? is fixed or no???
     
  17. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    87
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Not fixed.
     
  18. vancook

    vancook Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R9 390 8 GB
    [82645] Fallout 4 - The compass may flicker during gameplay on AMD Radeon R9 390 series products. We continue to investigate the issue with AMD Radeon R9 290 and AMD Radeon R9 295X2 series products

    somebody with r9 390, test this driver ? is fixed or no?

    why release a whql driver with the last hotfix 15.1.1 is a bad driver so many bugs. amd what the **** are you doing !
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2015
  19. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,825
    Likes Received:
    946
    GPU:
    Null
    Well i use 15.201.1151.1008 from windows 10 update in top of 15.9.1 betas.

    They are the best. I will not bother with anything except WU under w10 again, until they fix Crimson utter cr@p software. I hate AMD's unreliable innovation.
     
  20. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,095
    Likes Received:
    173
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Te be fair, that's exactly what NVIDIA is also doing, and people were complaining about AMD.
     

Share This Page