AMD Radeon Crimson 17.7.2 WHQL Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Jul 26, 2017.

  1. THEAST

    THEAST Master Guru

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    HD7950 + HD7970 CF
    Hmm, I am not sure if it is the latest Skype update or this driver, but it seems Skype calls do not trigger the UVD bug on my system anymore.
     
  2. XPzKiber

    XPzKiber New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1060 6Gb
    How to disable edid in the driver 17.7.2, I used to install the resolution of 2560x1080 on an ordinary FullHD monitor with VSR earlier on the old driver and just appear black bars at the top and bottom and the picture was normal, and now when trying to put 2560x1080 the picture is stretched, how to fix it?

    The permission I add in the register DALNonStandardModesBCD1.

    Sorry for english.
     
  3. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    Global display settings: Display - Scaling Options

    Per game profile: Game Profile - Profile Options - Display Scaling

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  4. XPzKiber

    XPzKiber New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1060 6Gb
    Maybe you misunderstood me, I put 2560x1080 on a monitor with a resolution of 1920x1080 using VSR, on the driver 17.7.1, just appeared black bars at the top and bottom and the image was normal 21:9, and now on the 17.7.2 the image is stretched and no Settings in the driver tab are disabled.

    On the old driver it was possible to disable EDID, I think this is the reason.

    Sorry for english.
     

  5. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    499
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    yep it happens easier when under load,

    and nope, it happened on previous z97 mobo too (Gigabyte Gaming 5)
     
  6. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    I understand you, just use "Preserve aspect ratio" in global display settings.
     
  7. XPzKiber

    XPzKiber New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1060 6Gb
    "Preserve aspect ratio" - does not give anything. All the same, the picture is stretched.

    Apparently it will not be possible to play more in 21:9 on an ordinary 16:9 monitor. :(
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2017
  8. XPzKiber

    XPzKiber New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Inno3D GTX 1060 6Gb
    At a resolution of 1920x720 the aspect ratio remains correct, apparently the problem with the 2560x1080 (VSR) it unfortunately rasyatyanuto.
     
  9. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,441
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    There was an issue with Hawaii GPUs a few years ago, if you tried to launch MSI AB while playing youtube video with hardware acceleration enabled, it resulted in system hard freeze. It could be bypassed by unticking "Enable low-level access to hardware" in MSI AB properties for such systems and I was under impression that it was fixed later in AMD driver.
    Can you confirm that it is still the case? The freeze was 100% reproduceable with such scenario.
     
  10. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    499
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Thats right, while playing video. Ive seen this until quite recently, that is until I had decided to untick Low Level Access. Boom - no more freezes.
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,720
    Likes Received:
    2,038
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Checked on 17.7.1 WHQL -> don't work

    Unofficial overclocking also (got stuck on 300/500 after aplying setting, got back to normal after reapplying sett. in my TriXX Mod no need for restart tho).

    My TriXX working NP as always :)
     
  12. Jackalito

    Jackalito Master Guru

    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    Radeon RX 5700 XT
    Awesome, man! Thanks so much as always! :)
     
  13. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    This issue isn't just limited to Hawaii but Tahiti cards too. The same is true for GPU-Z, if you're running a game like ACU, and you've minimized it to run GPU-Z, the system would freeze. It's not consistently reproducible but it happens 2 times out of 10.

    The per-profile aspect ratio option doesn't work, despite being present, or I have yet to seen it work.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
  14. N0bodyOfTheGoat

    N0bodyOfTheGoat Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB
    I'm back getting the failed pc starts at the Windows 10 logo when I first turn pc on, just as I was when Wattman first hit the scene, which I resolved back then by following someone's advice about turning off hibernation IIRC (which I haven't changed).

    Hit the hard reset button on case, loads up fine.
     
  15. AlleyViper

    AlleyViper Master Guru

    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    53
    GPU:
    MSI RX480 GX 8GB
    The only way disabling hibernation would help with first boot would be if the intent is to make fast boot stop working, so it doesn't resume from an half-hibernation and some driver gets stuck. You might try to disable fast boot on the power options instead, so windows always starts fresh.

    On a old PhII C2, a rare hang/freeze on the logo on a cold boot is usually due to insufficient voltage on the IMC when running 4 sticks, even if it can go through 12h of prime blend. Completely different platform, tough.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017

  16. ultraex2003

    ultraex2003 Member Guru

    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    Amd 2x290 Cfx
    thanks bro !!! OC >290 works again !!!:)
     
  17. Apparatus

    Apparatus Master Guru

    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    35
    GPU:
    Aorus 1080 ti
    I have a 7 years old 32'' Samsung LCD TV and AMD Radeon settings gives me the below options :

    Color depth 8, 10 and 12bpc.

    By default is selected the 10bpc option.

    As i can't see any differences in practice, i want to know what does the theory says. The bigger the better or something else ?
     
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,441
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    Thanks for confirming, I'll install Hawaii card see if I can detect and bypass the issue automatically.
     
  19. Valerys

    Valerys Master Guru

    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Palit RTX2080Ti
    Yes, the higher the better, it affects the number of colors displayed, ranging from ~16 million colors for 8bpc to ~68 billion for 12 bpc (I said it right, billion). Best set it at highest available; you'd still need the specific video or game to support it.
    In practice, what it actually does it reduces the banding, those color transition that seem to be perfectly lined out compared to the others.
    [​IMG]

    AFAIK Windows 7 and higher supports higher than 8-bit but it's not yet used in the desktop graphics. Only specific content can help you see a difference.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2017
  20. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,441
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    That's a result of designing driver API without backward compatibility in mind. The tools compiled to work with 17.7.2 X2 API won't work with older drivers and vice versa. Implementing both path manually is tricky as well, because some parts of X2 API were implemented in previous driver versions so it is not trivial to choose right path due to that. "Thanks", AMD.
     

Share This Page