AMD Radeon Crimson 17.7.2 WHQL Download & Discussion

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by asder00, Jul 26, 2017.

  1. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    235
    GPU:
    .
    Yes, with the "Ultra high super power resultion DLC" that doesn't happen, unfortunately with a R9 380X and 4GB GDDR5 the game stutters a lot 'cause that insane ~50GB compressed and up-scaled texture pack..
     
  2. manigma

    manigma New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480
    Enhanced sync caused stutters in Forza Horizon 3 and tearing in Tomb Raider. Not worth it. I have a 60hz LG 50" led over HDMI. Dont know why AMD is so much bragging about it. Normal sync is great.

    Now I await for new version of AB compatible with this crimson. Using wattman crap till then..

    RX480/Win10
     
  3. Romulus_ut3

    Romulus_ut3 Master Guru

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    AMD RX 570 4GB
    Amen brother! Just for proving that you people don't even bother to follow a conversation properly.

    I am upset, yes. Because now the UVD bug from GCN 1.0 has started to appear on latter cards. Pretty sure the UVD issue is not a bug and a feature at this stage.
     
  4. chix_AHOY

    chix_AHOY Member

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RX 580 4gb Pulse
    17.7.2(july 27) is working fine on my end
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017

  5. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,987
    Likes Received:
    500
    GPU:
    Nitro 390/GTX1070M
    What happened is that AMD renamed some of the hooks for the settings, and not all of them, which is why some settings still work. As was mentioned before, not having both the old hooks and new ones coexist breaks backward compatibility. Once the SDK is updated, devs can update their code to detect which driver you are using, and use the appropriate hook names.
     
  6. N0bodyOfTheGoat

    N0bodyOfTheGoat Member Guru

    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Nitro R9 390 8GB
    Tried Chill for fire time in ages, it made Rocket League very chilly and run at ~50% frame rate I normally get.
     
  7. passenger

    passenger Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    40
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX580 8GB
    On RX 580 works wonders in RoTR, but tearing every youtube video in Chrome :)
     
  8. s0x

    s0x Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
    I don't know if I'll like these ones that much.. Having voltage spikes to 1.175 when set to 1137 in WaAaTTMan, and power limit 0%.

    Anyone else with similar issues?
     
  9. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    499
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    I set it to 1131 and it runs at ~1.050 V.
    With spikes to 1.120. But 99% of time its at 1.050 V. You shouldnt care about spikes if gpu runs them 1% or less time.
     
  10. s0x

    s0x Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
    Hey @Noisiv, yeah it was spikes on 3dmark firestrike run and in desktop..

    Just ran Dirt 4, it was pegged at ~1.16/1.175 volts, with 1137 set in wattman. I can run 1380 with undervolt to 1.110 volts so it kind of matters :/

    With the game open went into wattman and set 1125, it changed to 1.10~1.25 volts and sticked. Closed radeon settings, went ingame.

    Changed again to 1137, ran gpuz test, seems fine.
    Changed to 1110, ran dirt 4, seems to be holding.

    I don't know man, but something feels wonky with this driver.
    Later I'll reboot my machine again and check this issues.

    -- edit --
    Scratch some of that.. Wen't into desktop, fired-up Google Chrome, there bam 1.175 volts.

    Something with the P-state switching must be wrong. Now with GPU-Z load test it's at 1.156v. Launched Dirt4, there, 1.169 volts.

    Wattman routine and back to my "sweet" 1.10volts..

    -- edit 2 --

    It must be some sorth of UVD/HW Accel bug.
    Rebooted PC, open up HWInfo, GPU-Z, all seems fine.

    Open Google Chrome (has HW Accel enabled) volt sticks to 1.175. Disable HW Accel, close GC, open it again, voltages seem fine.
    Open Firefox (has HW Accel enabled), there.. 1.175 volts.

    I don't like this tbh, since if I watch content it will unnecessarily push too much volts while watching videos or browsing.

    -- edit 3 --

    Reverted to 16.6.2, no such issue occurs.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2017

  11. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    499
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    In regard to desktop and web browsing, YouTube, I am more concerned with Clock spikes, and not just spikes, particularly mem, but I got used to it.
    re:3d games, I am using per game profiles. Although Global profile tends to pick them up and run with despite me not even touching the Global profile.
     
  12. s0x

    s0x Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI RX 480 Gaming X 8G
    Clock wise this system/card is pretty stable, even when GPU usage is lower while in games, clock sticks to max (both gpu and mem).

    Meanwhile I reverted back to 17.6.2 (DDU'ed both before 17.7.2 and now this ones).
    No more issue with voltage going "out of spec" from the value configured.

    Personally I don't enjoy voltages going too much upwards from the values configured, be it gpu volts, cpu volts, or ram volts. Of course spikes occur, but not like the ones I was eventually experiencing with the 17.7.2.
     
  13. BAZOKA1942

    BAZOKA1942 Member Guru

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    sapphire r9 390
    hi can you please export registry key after enabling Enhanced sync
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0002\

    or

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Class\{4d36e968-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}\0000\UMD

    number changes depends 0000 to maybe 0006
    anyone can help tnx in advance :nerd:
     
  14. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Don't know if its the drivers or the latest Overwatch update. However with this driver i can't run it on Ultra anymore. I got a lot of framedrops.
     
  15. manigma

    manigma New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RX480
    I played RoTR last year and now replaying TR 2013 @1440p. Enhanced Sync causes so much tearing during cutscenes (videos) and fast camera movement scenes.

    I dont know about RoTR, what did it do? For me Enhanced Sync is a big NO as it ruined Forza Horizon 3 with frequent lags and stutters. Normal V Sync is great.
     

  16. olymind1

    olymind1 Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Asus R7 265 2 GB
    SWTOR :vader:
     
  17. ClockClocker

    ClockClocker Master Guru

    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    970 gtx
    Can you set Video-Gamma somehwere?
     
  18. garyb

    garyb Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080TI 11GB
    Youtube videos with freesync enabled random tearing in both opera and chrome when text is highlighted on top of video.

    edit:

    If you open say twitch and youtube at the same time and highlight the text the flickering starts has to be driver related.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2017
  19. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    Can you please specify which cards (except GCN Gen 1) are newly affected by UVD bug?
     
  20. prazola

    prazola Member Guru

    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    R9390XSOC / R9290DCU2OC
    Up! Come on guys, i see a lot of polaris cards in your rigs.
     

Share This Page