AMD Preps BIOS Update to Fix FMA3 Freezes for Ryzen

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Mar 23, 2017.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,812
    Likes Received:
    5,899
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    AMD will be issueing a new BIOS for Ryzen motherboards, the company discovered why FMA3 code is causing system hangs on PCs using a new Ryzen desktop processor. AMD didn’t provide a detaile...

    AMD Preps BIOS Update to Fix FMA3 Freezes for Ryzen
     
  2. Silva

    Silva Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    350
    GPU:
    Asus RX560 4G
    Bugs are expected from a new platform and it's their job to fix them if they want to gain trust from consumers.
     
  3. Amx85

    Amx85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI R7-260X2GD5/OC
    So fast response, i hope other bugfixes comes soon
     
  4. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,634
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Agreed. I was wondering when an issue like this was going to pop up. For something as complex as modern x86 CPUs, problems are inevitable from a fresh new architecture.
     

  5. PrMinisterGR

    PrMinisterGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
    Another piece of software that benefits Ryzen just by switching the target architecture to Haswell.

    Another after LLVM itself.
     
  6. waltc3

    waltc3 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    307
    GPU:
    AMD 50th Ann 5700XT
    Yep, with new architectures it's as expected as the weather...;)
     
  7. raminrostami

    raminrostami New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd
    One-sided intel Devoted news....above news 100% is fake ,wrong

    i email this newd to ryzen manager,,,they answer after above 200.000 cpu ryzen selling , we dont have even 1 hardware problem, we check all ryzen cpu user logs and erorrs


    what is fact?
    do you remembet CPU-Z software when ryzen lunch, cant see ryzen??? because ryzen is new technology, so frist week it gives erorr , but after cpuz admin ,update software and define ryzen in cpuz,,, it works exclent, true???

    above news comes from below forum
    problem=problem is like cpu-z erorr.... 1 person use benchmark software and after he run software on windows10,,,, software start to test cpu,motherboard,chipset and... all new, so that old software hang(not all system)
    no cpu hardware erorr , just old suftware need simple update(define ryzen) , ryzen not gilty (some old software cant see all 16 threat , like games, games use max 4threate,2core, for this i7-7700 can win(only old game) i7-6950x 10 core and ryzen 1700 )

    if you remember 2002-2004 , when amd invent 2 core , many games cant see 2th core,,, do you remember???so some stupid in that time think intel 1 core more powerfull than amd 2core!!!!! but after 6-8 mounth after software update , amd 2 core real power,speed apear and intel goes down

    ......forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=167605.......

    dont belive intel seller negative gossip , they are angry from powerfull ryzen
     
  8. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,721
    Likes Received:
    956
    GPU:
    -
    I wish people had that mindset when it comes to games, especially vast open-world games or dynamic games

    Out of curiosity, what does this mean exactly?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017
  9. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,634
    Likes Received:
    1,465
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Eh... it depends on the game. For some games, glitches are inevitable and people need to just chill out. Take Witcher 3 for example, which had a handful of glitches but they didn't ruin gameplay, they didn't make the game a laughingstock, and most (if not all) were eventually fixed. Sometimes, these kinds of glitches give a game character.

    Meanwhile, there are games like Sim City 2013, which punished players due to crappy servers. Or Assassins Creed Unity, which was riddled with game-ruining glitches. Or that Batman game (I forget which one) that was so unplayable for weeks that it was taken off Steam. Or GTA4, which was left with no performance optimizations and had memory leaks. These are things that are just plain unacceptable on release date. It gets you to question if they ever tested the game for more than 10 minutes on a PC weaker than whatever $2500 could buy you at the time of their release.

    Not to sound old-timey, but I miss the days where you bought a game and you got what you paid for. You bought a game that was well-tested and stable at release date, because patches just weren't viable. Of course, games were much simpler back when they were still shipped on CDs (not DVDs) and floppies, but, it was also much harder to get a wide-audience of test results before publishing too. It reminds me of the concept of authors who write their entire books on typewriter, because you are much more likely to do things right the first time around when you can't easily undo your mistakes.

    </rant>
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2017

Share This Page