AMD posts video and shares Details on Their 64MB 3D V-Cache Tech for Zen 3+

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Jun 11, 2021.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    41,121
    Likes Received:
    9,374
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Maddness and Caesar like this.
  2. mikeysg

    mikeysg Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,749
    Likes Received:
    355
    GPU:
    Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
    When the time comes, you will be reviewing these 3D V-cache CPU's, right, Hilbert?
     
  3. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    2,297
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Haha that's like asking if the sky is blue. If he gets a sample, I'm sure he'll review it. Hilbert has even bought products to review at times he didn't get review samples. Last time I remember this was the Skylake-X i5.
     
  4. Caesar

    Caesar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    507
    GPU:
    GTX 1070Ti Titanium
    well....when a review will show here...then i'll understand those V-Cache.....:)
     

  5. Borys

    Borys Member Guru

    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    MSI 1660 Gaming X
    This is the new that blue side wont discover.... AMD will dominate the entire market... games and enterprise.. poor Intel
     
  6. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    434
    GPU:
    6800XT 16GB
    Not poor Intel IMHO. They deserve. They were pure greedy bastards starting in 2005/2006.
     
    Undying, insp1re2600 and doorspaulo like this.
  7. GSDragoon

    GSDragoon Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    156
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon RX 6800
    They lost me at the props.
     
  8. schmidtbag

    schmidtbag Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    2,297
    GPU:
    HIS R9 290
    Sorry to disappoint you but perhaps you should look into Foveros.
     
  9. asturur

    asturur Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    335
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    But how many Foveros can you count installed/benchmarked?
     
  10. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    102
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    So if this is Zen 3+ then i take it, it is going to be based on AM4 DDR4 socket rather than the DDR5 AM5 socket?

    In that case my X570 might still have some life in it still.
     

  11. Silva

    Silva Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    666
    GPU:
    Asus RX560 4G
    I think Dr Su said end of this year so I think it's a refresh, only for 5950X and 5900X though.
    Considering availability, these for sure will be more expensive.
     
    Dazz likes this.
  12. moab600

    moab600 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,299
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    Galax 3080 SC
    Looks amazing tbh but i think it's here to survive the first alder lake attack till AM5 comes out with Zen 4.

    I also wonder if we ever gonna see 5600 non x or 5400x to combat 11400K.
     
    HandR likes this.
  13. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,229
    Likes Received:
    4,413
    GPU:
    2080Ti @h2o
    When is this supposed to hit the shelves? Zen3+? If Zen4 is coming in 2022?
     
  14. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,815
    Likes Received:
    4,831
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Zen3+ Q4 2021 and Zen4 Q4 2022 from what i've seen. Alder lake should also release at the end of this year.
     
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  15. H83

    H83 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    859
    GPU:
    MSI Duke GTX1080Ti
    Silly question, what´s the better aproach in theory, Intels first Iris implementatio with the extra cache, that worked as a L4 cache in some situations, or AMD´s 3d V cache???
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2021

  16. GeniusPr0

    GeniusPr0 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,306
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    RX 6800 XT Black Ed
    No idea but level 3 (all cache) cache has higher latency as it increases in size? Also as you say, it is application dependent.

    The level 4 cache made a nice difference in GTA5 and was 128MB. We would expect level 3 cache to always be faster than level 4, but 128MB....

    Not a silly question at all.
     
  17. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,696
    Likes Received:
    663
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    Well we will have to see when is out as @GeniusPr0 said the theoretical pros and cons are there , in the end they might be similar one of em to be hands down better or case by case scenario ! We have to wait for the 3d cache to be tested.
     
  18. JamesSneed

    JamesSneed Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,169
    Likes Received:
    505
    GPU:
    GTX 1070
    As the cache size increases you usually do see some latency increases but I wouldn't count on it as a given. AMD already had the IO die setup to handle the larger cache size and the TSV's are already built into the Zen 3 die. I suspect its all level 3 and the latency doesn't go up or only by a very small amount.
     
    GeniusPr0 likes this.
  19. Freebird26

    Freebird26 New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVga 260 GTX 216 SSC
    An update to the Anandtech article on this 3D Vcache stated no L3 cache latency increase and the extra 64MB can be powered down when not being used.
    https://www.anandtech.com/show/1672...acked-vcache-technology-2-tbsec-for-15-gaming
     
    JamesSneed likes this.

Share This Page